It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images and Visual Resource Collections
Online guide to image collections for faculty, researchers and students at the University of Toronto.
"There are about 1,500 magic lantern slides in the UHM Japan Collection, and these were the gifts of two donors: the Kokusai Bunka Shinkokai 国際文化振興会 (KBS), a predecessor of the present Japan Foundation 国際交流基金, and the family of the Reverend Takie Okumura 奥村多喜衛(1865-1951)."
Smithsonian Institute. "These hand-colored lantern slides of Burma were taken by Willard E. Graves, an American missionary who served as principal of the Methodist Episcopal School for Boys in Rangoon from 1908-1913."
The East Asia Image Collection (EAIC) is an open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, rare books and slides under the general editorship of Paul D. Barclay, Associate Professor of History at Lafayette College, in partnership with staff at Digital Scholarship Services and Special Collections & College Archives.
The Frick Digital Image Archive is an online resource that provides public access to the research collections of the library, museum images from the Frick Collection, and historical documents, photographs, and movies from the Frick Family archives. Digital file types include high resolution images, pdf documents, and video.
The images on this site are from cataloguing records in our collection database. George Eastman House believes that providing access to these low resolution images through this web site is within the scope of the educational mission of the museum. If a copyright holder objects to this web use, please contact George Eastman House (e-mail link?). The images in question will be removed at the request of the copyright holder.
Information pertaining to intellectual rights is subject to change. George Eastman House cannot guarantee the currency or accuracy of this information.
U.S. Government. "Over 30,000 photographs, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department at Denver Public Library, illuminate many aspects of the history of the American West. Most of the photographs were taken between 1860 and 1920. They illustrate Colorado towns and landscape, document the place of mining in the history of Colorado and the West, and show the lives of Native Americans from more than forty tribes living west of the Mississippi River."
The visual images in the Institute for Regional Studies’ Photo Gallery cover almost every aspect of life in North Dakota and beyond. This sampling is only a small portion of the over 100,000 photographs preserved at the Institute.
LaFayette College Libraries. Taiwan no fūkō' (Scenic Taiwan) 台湾の風光is one of many photo albums published in the 1930s that depict different areas of the Japanese Empire. This particular volume was published in Wakayama Prefecture in or after 1938, though it appeared in a less censored form in 1934.