Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl . AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access,
free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
FADIS is the University of Toronto's learning management and courseware system developed for image based teaching. The goal of FADIS is to offer a freely available common repository and delivery system for education and research available to contributing institutions.
Students can access complete course information where faculty make it available. Image lectures can be viewed online and downloaded as PDFs containing thumbnail images, image data and any lecture notes added by their instructor. In addition, students can view handouts and download any files posted to their course, view syllabi and access any external resources which are automatically generated as hyperlinks. Course syllabi are also available as PDF format.
High quality digital images or transparencies are available of all the works in the painting, European arms and armour, miniatures, gold box, enamel and glass collections. Varying numbers are available in the sculpture, furniture, Sevres porcelain and decorative art and majolica collections. Wallace Live, the Wallace Collection online, is a database that will eventually contain illustrated information on every work of art in the Wallace Collection.
"New Bridgeman collections include the Scott Polar Research Institute, Denver Public Library and The Royal Collection Archive. We are also pleased to announce our renewed relationship with Christie's Images."
See their website for details: "...All images supplied by the Bridgeman Art Library are copyrighted photographs. The Bridgeman Art Library either owns the copyright in the photograph or acts as the authorised agent of the copyright holder. A licence must be obtained from the Library before any reproduction is made or this will constitute an infringement of copyright. It is important to note that images can contain multiple copyrights."