Research Guides: Images and Visual Resource Collections: Americana

Americana Collections

American Civil War Photographs
Part of George Eastman House, Digital Collections.
video...close...
Copyright

The images on this site are from cataloguing records in our collection database. George Eastman House believes that providing access to these low resolution images through this web site is within the scope of the educational mission of the museum. If a copyright holder objects to this web use, please contact George Eastman House (e-mail link?). The images in question will be removed at the request of the copyright holder. Information pertaining to intellectual rights is subject to change. George Eastman House cannot guarantee the currency or accuracy of this information.
An American Time Capsule: Three Centuries of Broadsides
Chinese in California 1850-1925
Bancroft Library, Berkeley University. "Selections range in format, with books, pamphlets, prints, photographs, manuscripts, sheet music, etc. illustrating aspects of the story."
Historical Clip Art
Free Public-domain Historical Clipart
History of American West 1860-1920
U.S. Government. "Over 30,000 photographs, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department at Denver Public Library, illuminate many aspects of the history of the American West. Most of the photographs were taken between 1860 and 1920. They illustrate Colorado towns and landscape, document the place of mining in the history of Colorado and the West, and show the lives of Native Americans from more than forty tribes living west of the Mississippi River."
Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains
Online image database to broaden access to new constituencies by providing students, researchers, and the general public with direct access to important primary source material on the Plains Indian cultures currently only available by travel to Montana. Images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses ( Bozeman, Billings, and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana.
video...close...
How to cite works from this database: A shared digital library of Native American images. Peterson, Elaine. "A shared digital library of Native American images" First Monday [Online], Volume 6 Number 4 (2 April 2001)
Japanese Americans
Digitized official photographs, letters and diaries, transcribed oral histories, art from Japanese Americans interned during WWII in America.
Library of Congress, AMERICAN MEMORY
The mission of the Library of Congress is to make its resources available and useful to the Congress and the American people. This collection currently includes a wide range of topics.
video...close...
Terms of Use:
Whenever possible, the Library of Congress provides factual information about copyright owners and related matters in the catalog records, finding aids and other texts that accompany collections. As a publicly supported institution, the Library generally does not own rights in its collections. Therefore, it does not charge permission fees for use of such material and generally does not grant or deny permission to publish or otherwise distribute material in its collections. Permission and possible fees may be required from the copyright owner independently of the Library. It is the researcher's obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when publishing or otherwise distributing materials found in the Library's collections. Transmission or reproduction of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Researchers must make their own assessments of rights in light of their intended use.
Smithsonian: American History