Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
Foreign Office Files for South East Asia, 1963-1980
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
Women in The National Archives
a collection of correspondence from the British Foreign Office Records of General Correspondence for Russia, in record class F.O. 65.
Items include 'foreign' correspondence originating abroad from British embassies and consulates; and 'domestic' correspondence from Britain, which included notes from foreign representatives in London and from other British government departments, institutions, and individuals
contains correspondence records from the British Foreign Office in China
Part 1 focuses on Britain's increasing commercial, legal, and territorial rights in China and features correspondence from the Factories of Canton and missionaries who entered China in the early 19th century
Part 2 focuses on the increasing competition of Western powers for influence and valuable infrastructure in China, such as railways, telegraph lines, and mines
includes reports from British representatives during this period, covering the Sino-Japanese War, the Boxer Rebellion (1900), the signing of the Protocol of Peking, and the series of uprisings against the Chinese Qing regime
focuses on trade networks, daily life for those living and working in the British Empire, and the interaction between Western traders and Asian societies, through correspondence, diaries, and company records
Includes correspondence, telegrams, intelligence reports, agents’ diaries, maps, newspaper excerpts, copies of treaties and agreements, photographs, and more
a primary source collection from the British Foreign Office Records of General Political Correspondence documenting the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918
Most records relating to historical foreign, domestic and colonial affairs can be found in the State Papers
Calendar of State Paper is "a precis usually in English, full enough for most purposes to replace the original documents"
For Calendar of State Papers relating to Scotland, Ireland and State Papers preserved in other countries, search the library catalogue by individual title or use the Sectional List #24 for the call numbers annotated
Includes the text of treaties, diplomatic correspondence, foreign constitutions and laws pertaining mainly to international relations but with some information on British internal affairs, such as budget
"This Calendar includes the Navy Board Papers up to June 15, 1673 and the Levant Company Papers up to 1670. From 1671 this Calendar also includes the Papers relating to Ireland"
"This Calendar includes abstracts of the Patent Rolls of Henry VIII and many other documents not classified as State Papers, in both the Record Office and the British Museum, and in foreign countries"
Pt. 1. Russia and Eastern Europe, 1846-1900 (4 reels) -- pt. 2. Germany and Central Europe, 1841-1990 (33 reels) -- pt. 3. Italy, 1847-1900 (18 reels) -- pt. 4. Portugal and Spain, 1841-1900 (10 reels) -- pt. 5. France & Belgium, 1848-1900 (12 reels) pt. 6. Greece, 1847-1863 (3 reels)
Contains factual information of the colonial described. Search "colonial reports" in the library catalogue for various reports of different time periods
Contains 16th to 18th centuries papers relating to the earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French.
Of interest to researchers of early Canadian and American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, Atlantic trade and North American indigenous peoples.
Module 2: Factory Records for South Asia and South-East Asia
Module 3: Factory Records for China, Japan and the Middle East.
Module 4: features correspondence between the East India Company and various government departments, which offers insight into the early voyages of the Company and its shifting interests
material covers "the rise and fall of colonial empires from the explorations of Columbus and Captain Cook, the missionary movement and the exhibitions of the 19th century, to decolonisation in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American imperialism"
Module II focuses on the modern era, beginning in 1840 and includes organization papers, government correspondence and pamphlets encouraging immigration to Australia, New Zealand and Canada
oral histories and other personal accounts with a focus on the colonization of New Zealand and the United States
"Unpublished documents drawn either from the official archives of the India Office in the custody of the India Office Records or from the private collections of the Viceregal papers in the India Office Library"
