Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

German Studies

A research guide to help you find relevant books and articles as well as databases and web portals in the field of German Studies.

Electronic Resources

An Internet Portal of the journal "Information Philosophie". Contains lots of texts (essays, discussion papers, reviews etc.) as well as information about conferences, lectures and awards. In the section "information" you get detailed information about Philosophy departments at German universities.

The International Bibliography of Periodical Literature is an international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature, mainly from the Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences. A print version covers the years 1965-2001. The database currently lists more than 3.3 million journal articles from 11,500 journals covering the years 1983 ff. Every year some 120,000 entries are added. IBZ is updated monthly. It now includes abstracts. The database works with an assigned subject classification in English and German based on the German Personennormdatei (PND: name authority file) and Schlagwortnormdatei (SWD: controlled vocabulary). Thus, an easy and fast access to articles is ensured, irrespective of the language in which the original article was written.

A freely-accessible online encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by Stanford University. Each entry is written and maintained by an expert in the field, including professors from over 65 academic institutions worldwide.


Printed Ressources

Biographical encyclopedia of German-language philosophers.

German-English dictionary of philosophical terms.

A comprehensive two-volume dictionary of philosophy. Presents, systematically and historically, philosophical terms, as well as different academies and philosophical traditions.

Combines information about philosophical writers and their works. Focuses primarily on western philosophies, but also includes some information about other philosophies that had a tremendous impact on western philosophy. Provides bibliographical references.

Multi-volume encyclopedia that provides extensive information about the development and usage of philosophical terms. Covers historical as well as presently-used terms. Also provides information about sciences that affected or emanated from philosophy.

Bibliographical periodical on new philosophical publications. Each periodical consists of four parts: reports on new German-language publications, reports on other-language publications, extensive literature reports on selected topics, and a bibliography of recently published books.