Research Guides: German Studies: German Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon online
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of German Literature Online
Brockhaus Enzyklopädie : in 30 Bänden
- This link opens in a new window
Deemed one of the most important German encyclopedias, with coverage of over one hundred worldwide fields of knowledge. Former editions also available.

Grammar Resources

Hammer's German grammar and usage
- This link opens in a new window
Durrell, Martin, A. E. . Hammer, and A. E. (Alfred Edward). Hammer. Hammer’s German Grammar and Usage. Seventh edition. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2021.

Print Copy at the Robarts Library.

Biographical Resources

Verfasser Datenbank
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive biographical database of German-language authors.

Deutsches Biographisches Archiv 1960-1999

Provides a comprehensive survey of the history of Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Covers more than 300 biographical reference materials that have been published up to 1999. Contains over 250,000 entries for 180,000 people.

Dictionary of German biography

English translation of the Deutsche Biographische Enzyklopädie. One of the most important biographical-historical reference resources.

Lexikon der Pseudonyme

Biographical dictionary of more than 1000 anonyms and pseudonyms. For historical pseudonyms, consult Deutsches Pseudonymen-Lexikon, for historical anonyms Deutsches Anonymen-Lexikon.

Neue Deutsche Biographie

One of the most important biographical encyclopedias in Germany. Provides information about key people, from the early Medieval period to modern times.

Wer ist Wer?

The German version of Who's Who.

Book Reviews

Bibliographie der Rezensionen

Bibliography of book reviews for German and international books published between 1900 and 1943 in German periodicals and serials.

International Bibliography of Book Reviews (IBR)

The IBR contains over 1.2 million entries of book reviews from the years 1985ff. The database is international and interdisciplinary; reviews have been published in approx. 6,820 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences. IBR is updated on a monthly basis, the annual addition to the database is approx. 50,000 entries. All articles contain German and English subject classifications. Print version covering the years 1971-2001 also available.

recensio.net

A Europe-wide, multi-language platform for reviews of historical literature. The reviews and publications on the platform focus on work published in Europe and featuring European topics. The platform’s navigational languages are English, German and French, while the reviews may be written in any European language.