Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Slavic and East European Resources

This guide includes annotated links to selected electronic resources, such as online library catalogues, archival guides, digital collections, dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, e-journals, and search engines.

General

European Data Portal 

Funded by the European Union, the European Data Portal harvests the metadata of public data made available across Europe.

European Union Open Data Portal

The portal provides access to publicly available data of EU institutions and bodies. Data (geographic, financial, statistics, legal, health, etc.) can be reused free of charge and without any copyright restrictions.

World Factbook

The World Factbook prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency provides up-to-date statistical information on every country. This resource is very useful for a quick reference.

Albania

Albanian Institute of Science

The resource provides access to Albanian Institute of Science projects in the sphere of health, economic, demographic, agricultural open data.

Institute of Statistics [Instituti i Statistikes (INSTAT)]

The following documents are available electronically: Quarterly Gross Domestic Product, Living Standard Measurement Surveys, and Labour Force Surveys. Information on Social Indicators and Economic Indicators is available. Description of the publications is provided.The website is available in English and Albanian.

Belarus

Ministry of Statistics and Analysis [Ministerstvo statistiki i analiza (Minstat)]

National Summary Data Page (SDDS) is presented. Information on Census 1999 is available. Many Statistical Data Books are available. Other tables and graphics are presented. Description of the publications is provided. The website is available in English and Russian.

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Agency for Statistics of Bosnia and Herzegovina [Agencija za statistiku Bosne i Hercegovine]

General statistical data on the country is provided. Consumer Price Index, demographic statistics, foreign trade, forestry, agriculture, and construction are available for the years 2000, 2004-2010. Information on census 1991 is available. The website is available in English, Bosnian, Croatian and Serbian.

National Summary Data Page (NSDP)

The NSDP is a data portal which makes macroeconomic data accessible. It is hosted by the Central Bank of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Bulgaria

National Statistical Institute [Natsionalen statisticheski institut (NSI)]

Statistical information on agriculture, trade, industry, transport, population, labor market, and environment is presented. Catalogues of statistical publications for 2008-2010 are available. Information on Census 2001 is included. Description of the print and electronic publications is provided. The website is available in English and Bulgarian.

Open Data Portal

Bulgarian open data resource. Data is provided by a range of public agencies, including the Ministry of Regional Development and Public Works, the Bulgarian National Metrology Institute, the Bulgarian Post, Economic Ministry and others.

Croatia

Croatia. Central Bureau of Statistics [Drzavni zavod za statistiku (CROSTAT)]

Comprehensive data on agriculture, industry, construction, environment, population, education, employment, wages etc. is available. Statistical Year Books since 2003 are available. Monthly statistical reports are available online. Coverage of Census 2001, 2009 and Agricultural census 2003 is available. First Releases and Statistical Reports are available starting from 2001. Publishing Programs (information about publications by the Central Bureau of Statistics) are available online since 2004. The website is available in English and Croatian.

Czech Republic

Czech National Open Data Portal

The portal provides access to public sector data.

Czech Statistical Office [Cesky statisticky urad (CSU)]

Statistical Year Books from 2004 to the present are available. Comprehensive publications on issues like living standards, labor and wages are available starting from 2004. Results of elections are available (from 1996). Information on GDP, Macroeconomic Indicators, Inflation rates is presented. The website is available in English and Czech.

Estonia

Estonia. Statistics Estonia [Eesti Statistika]

The website presents current statistics on population, gross wages and salaries, unemployment rate, consumer price index, etc. Statistical databases like Regional Development Database are presented. Many e-publications 2001 are available. General data on the censuses available from 1881 and publications of the results of the 1959, 1970, 1979, 1989 censuses are available. Data of the Population and House Census 2000 is available.The comprehensive coverage of the Agricultural Census 2001 is presented The website is available in English and Estonian.

Finland

Finland. Statistics Finland [Tilastokeskus]

The site is well organized and great deal of statistical information could be easily found. Information is organized alphabetically and also can be searched by producer or topic. The statistical databases like StatFin service, Eurostat main tables, and International tables available free of charge. Time series database Astika and Bulletin of Statistics are available for fee. The website is available in English, Finnish and Swedish.

Hungary

Central Statistical Office [Központi Statisztikai Hivatal (KSH)]

Publications and data on the Population Census 2001 and on microcensus 2005 are available. Gazetteer of the Republic of Hungary is available. First Releases are presented. Various statistical publications are available. The website is available in English and Hungarian.

Latvia

Central Statistical Bureau [Centrala statistikas parvalde]

Variety of statistical databases organized by subject (economy, culture, social processes, science, technology etc) is available. A Catalogue of Statistical Publications is presented. The website offers many statistical reports (under Main Indicators). The website is available in English and Latvian.

Lithuania

Statistics Lithuania [Lietuvos Statistikos Departamentas]

Data on the Population Censuses and Agricultural Censuses is presented. Many statistical databases organized by subject (geographic data, economy, finance, transport, environment etc) are available. Variety of statistical publications is presented. The website is available in English and Lithuanian.

Macedonia

State Statistical Office [Drzhaven zavod za statistika]

Catalogs of statistical publications are available. Statistical tables and graphs on the many issues are available. The publications on the Census 2002 and Agricultural Census 2007 are available. The website is available in English and Macedonian.

Moldova

National Bureau of Statistics [Biroul National de Statistica]

Variety of statistical publications is available. Statistical data organized by subject is presented. Information on the census 2014 is available. The website is available in English, Moldovan and Russian.

Montenegro

Statistical Office of the Republic of Montenegro - [Zavod za statistiku Crne Gore (MONSTAT)]

Monthly releases and annual data are available. Data on the Census 2011 is presented. The website is available in English and Montenegrin.

Poland

Central Statistical Office [Glowny Urzad Statystyczny (GUS)]

Catalogs of statistical publications are available. Data on regional statistics is presented. Statistical Year books are available. The website is available in English and Polish.

Geoportal

Geoportal provides access to services based on spatial data, including cadastral data and metadata.

Republic of Kosovo

Republic of Kosovo. Kosovo Agency of Statistics

Variety of publications is available and are organized by categories like Population Statistics, Agriculture Statistics, Economic Statistics, and Social Statistics. The website is available in English, Albanian and Serbian.

Russia

Demoskop Weekly

Demoskop Weekly provides free access to demographic information on the Russian Federation and independent states that were parts of the Russian Empire and the USSR. Provides access to historical census data. There is the breakdown by gender, age, education, social and marital status, religion, and native language. The website has an archive from 2001 to the present and is regularly updated. In Russian.

Federal State Statistics Service [Federal'naia sluzhba gosudarstvennoi statistiki]

Major economic and financial data of the Bank of Russia is available in English. Database catalog is available in English. Catalogue of statistical publications is available on the Russian version of the site. The website is available in English and Russian.

Open Data Portal

The Russian open data portal provides access to open data information resources; provides current information on newly added datasets and contributors, and works towards “forming and implementing a single technology policy on open government.

Serbia

Statistical Office of the Republic of Serbia [Republicki zavod za statistiku - Republike Srbije]

Statistical Year Books are available online since 2004. Statistical databases are available. Other statistical publications are presented. The full coverage of the Population Census 2002 is available. The website is available in Serbian and English.

Slovakia

Statistical Office of the Slovak Republic [Statisticky urad Slovenskej republiky]

Statistical databases like Slovstat, Eurostat, and variety of regional databases are available. Calendar of First Data Releases is presented. Catalog of statistical publications are available. The website is available in English and Slovak.

Slovenia

Open Data Slovenia

The Ministry of Public Administration has established the national open data portal of Slovenia which provides access to public sector open data.

Statistical Office of the Republic of Slovenia [Statisticni urad Republike Slovenije]

The full coverage of the Population Census 2002 is available. Statistical information organized by subject is presented. Statistical Yearbooks are available since 1953. Slovenian in Figures is available online since 2003. First Releases and Rapid Reports are available. Many brochures are available in PDF. The website is available in English and Slovenian.

Ukraine

Opendatabot

This resource provides access to the registration data of Ukrainian business companies and court register data. Provides analysis of current economic trends based on open data.

Open Data Portal

National open data portal provides access to over 30,000 datasets. In Ukrainian.

State Statistics Service of Ukraine

The latest statistical information is available in English, Ukrainian and Russian.