Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Slavic and East European Resources

This guide includes annotated links to selected electronic resources, such as online library catalogues, archival guides, digital collections, dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, e-journals, and search engines.

General

Bulletin der Deutschen Slavistik

Open access to full-text PDF articles from 1995 and forward. In German.

Cyrillic Manuscript Heritage

Cyrillic Manuscript Heritage is an electronic journal produced by the Hilandar Research Library of the Research Centre for Medieval Slavic Studies at the Ohio State University. Full-text issues of the journal are available from April 1997 and to the present.

Folklorica: Journal of the Slavic and East European Folklore Association

Folklorica is published by the Slavic and East European Association, Faculty of Arts, University of Alberta. The journal is available online in full-text format starting from 1996 and to the present. .

Forum noveishei vostochnoevropeiskoi istorii i kul'tury

"Forum for Contemporary East European History and Culture" is an interdisciplinary Russian-language web journal published by the Institute for Central and East European Studies of The Catholic University of Eichstaett-Ingolstadt. The journal appears twice per year, since 2004, as a scholarly WWW periodical supplementing printed German-language "Forum für osteuropäische Ideen- und Zeitgeschichte."

InterMarium

InterMarium is an online journal published by the East Central European Center of Columbia University. InterMarium provides an electronic medium for noteworthy scholarship about the history and politics of Central and Eastern Europe following World War II.

 Spaces of Identity

“Spaces of Identity” is a multidisciplinary international web-journal dedicated to issues of tradition, cultural boundaries, and identity formation in Central and Eastern Europe. The aim of the journal is to include rather than to exclude various scholarly approaches and points of view, thus the journal presents research from several disciplines: history, sociology, and political science, as well as literature, linguistics, ethnology, cultural anthropology, cultural geography, cultural studies, film studies and gender studies.

Studies in Slavic Cultures

Studies in Slavic Cultures (SISC) is a scholarly, illustration-friendly journal published by members of the Slavic Department at the University of Pittsburgh, with support from the Center for Russian and East European Studies. SISC consists entirely of analytical articles by graduate students, appears annually, and is devoted to Slavic culture.

The Journal of Power Institutions in Post-Soviet Societies

Pipss.org is an online international social sciences journal devoted to the armed forces and power institutions of post-Soviet societies. The journal's focus is the comparative and multi-disciplinary study of the structures and forces that make up the security systems, administrations and institutions employing armed personnel in all the Republics of the Former Soviet Union (FSU).

Wiener Slawistischer Almanach

Full-text issues of Wiener Slawistischer Almanach are available online from 1978 and to 2010. The journal is available at Robarts Library with the latest issues in the Periodical Reading Room on the 4th floor. In German.

Belarus

Belarus - Kamunikat

Kamunikat is an extensive collection of Belarusian journals and books. Many full-text issues of the journal are available. A very rich resource for anyone interested in contemporary intellectual thought in Belarus. In Belarusian.

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Duh Bosne

Duh Bosne is a scholarly quarterly publication focusing on the politics, history, and literature of Bosnia-Herzegovina. full-text issues of the journal are available rom 2006 to the present. In Bosnian and English.

Most

Most is a journal of education, science, and culture of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Full-text issues of the journal are available from 1995 to the present. In Bosnian.

Bulgaria

Bulgaristika

Bulgaristika is a scholarly journal published by the Bulgarian Academy of Science. Full- text issues of the journal are available online starting 2006. In Bulgarian.

Bulgarski ezik i literatura

Bulgarski ezik i literatura is a bimonthly focusing on Bulgarian language and literature. Full-text issues of the journal are available online starting 1999 to the present. In Bulgarian.

Anamnesis

This portal provides access to the journal "Anamneza" (2006-2016, in Bulgarian) and some digitized historical documents and maps.

Kultura

An online periodical focusing on culture and art in Bulgaria.

Croatia

HRCAK. Portal of Scholarly Journals of Croatia

HRCAK is the central portal of Croatian scholarly journals.

Vijenac

Vijenac is a culture-arts weekly published by Matica Hrvatska. Vijenac is available online in full text from 1999 to the present. The latest issues of the publication are in the Periodical Reading Room on the 4th floor in Robarts Library. In Croatian.

Czech Republic

Electronic Journals (Ústav pro českou literaturu)

The Digital Archives of the Czech Journals is a project supported by the Academy of Science of the Czech Republic. The project was launched in 2001 and it is based on collections of the Institute of the Czech Literature. Provide free accses to the back issues of many important Czech literary journals like Literarni Noviny, Zlata Praha, and Ceska Literatura. In Czech.

Lithuania

Baltistica

Baltistica is an international journal of Baltic linguistics published by the University of Vilnius. Full-text issues of the journal are available online from 1965 and to 2012.

Vilnius University Press Scholarly Journals

Research journals devoted to humanities, social and natural sciences, published by Vilnius University Press.

Zemaitiu zeme

Full-text issues of the journal are available online from 2001 to the present. In Lithuanian.

Macedonia

Blesok

Blesok is an online journal published by the cultural institution “Bresok” and supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Macedonia. The journal is devoted to literature and other arts. Bresok is available online in full- text starting 1998 to the present. In Macedonian and English

Russia

 Digital Icons: Studies in Russian, Eurasian and Central European New Media

Biannual online publication focusing on interdisciplinary topics related to Russia, Eurasia, and East Central Europe. The journal publishes scholarly articles, artists' contributions, interviews, book reviews, comments, and discussions. In English, German, and Russian.

 Logos

Logos is a Russian journal devoted to problems of literature, social theory and philosophy, continuing as the editors say the Western (zapadnichestvo) tradition of the Russian culture.

Otechestvennye zapiski

Current Russian journal Otechestvennye zapiski aims to continue the tradition of pre-revolutionary Otechestvennye zapiski, which was one of the leading intellectual journals in Russia before 1917. The current Otechestvennye zapiski, as it predecessor, focuses on a broad range of topics which can be generally described as Russian intellectual life, ranging from academic articles to publicistic and analytical materials.

 Polis

The web-site hosts an electronic version of the Russian bimonthly journal of political science “Polis”. Though the journal is heavily focused on general political theory, it also publishes many analytical materials on Russian politics.

 Rossia. XX vek. Dokumenty

Electronic version of the almanac Rossia. XX vek. Dokumenty, which is published by the Alexander Iakovlev Foundation “Democracy”. The journal’s main aim is to concentrate on publishing primary sources from formerly closed Soviet archives, rather than on research. Most of the published materials are devoted to the Stalin era of Soviet history.

Vavilon

Vavilon is a journal devoted to works of young Russian writers and poets. Full-text issues of the journal are available online from 1992 to 2003. In Russian.

 Vestnik molodykh uchenykh: filologicheskie nauki

Vestnik is a journal which publishes research of young scholars, archival materials, translations, reviews, and bibliographies in modern philology. Full-text issues are available online from 1998 and to 2003. In Russian.

Zhurnal'nyi Zal

Zhurnal'nyi Zal is a collection of Russian journals with archives if back issues. Zhurnal'nyi zal is a non-profit Internet project, which unites major Russian "thick" literary journals published in Russia and outside Russia. It is regularly updated and available for any reader. Extremely rich source of Russian literary life Zhurnal’nyi zal consists of the famous journals like are Druzhba Narodov, Novyi Mir, Kontinent, Neva, Voprosy Literatury etc. The search interface is Russian and English.

Serbia

Juznoslovenski filolog

Juznoslovenski filolog is a journal of Slavic philology published by the National Library of Serbia. Full-text issues of the journal are available online starting 2002 to the present. In Serbian, Russian and English.

Matica srpska

Full-text issues of the journal are available online starting 2006 to the present. In Serbian.

Slovakia

Kultura slova

Kultura slova is a journal on language and terminology. Full-text issues of the journal are available online from 1967 and to the present. In Slovak.

Slovenska Rec

Slovenska Rec is a journal of the Slovak language. Full-text issues of the journal are available online from 1932 and to the present. In Slovak.

Slovenia

Slavicticna Revija

Slavicticna Revija is a scholarly journal devoted to Slovenian linguistics and literary studies. Full-text issues of the journal are available online from 1948 to the present. Index in English is available to all articles. In Slovenian.

Ukraine

 I - Nezalezhnyi kul'torolohichnyi chasopys

I is a cultural quarterly devoted to politics, philosophy, and culture of Ukraine and Europe. It also examines the relationship of Ukrainians with Russians, Poles, Austrians, and Jews and places Ukraine in a modern geopolitical sphere that can further Ukraine's identity as a modern state. Full text issues of the journals are available online starting from 1989 to the present. In Ukrainian.

Krytyka

Krytyka is a leading Kyiv-based Journal of critical reviews, essays, and discussions, edited by George G. Grabowicz, Chyzhevs'kyj Professor of Ukrainian Literature at Harvard University. It examines a broad range of topics--politics, culture, the arts, and economics.

Ukraina Moderna

Ukraina Moderna (Modern Ukraine) is an semi-annual devoted to early modern and modern history of Ukraine. This is the first peer-reviewed Ukrainian academic journal with broad focus of research, aiming to be an interdisciplinary forum for scholars in Ukrainian studies.

 Ukrainian Literature - A Journal of Translation

Ukrainian Literature is a journal which publishes English translations of the finest works of Ukrainian literature. The journal is published by the Shevchenko Scientific Society. Full text issues of the journal for 2004, 2007, and 2011 are available online. In Ukrainian.

Ukrainskyi Zhurnal

Ukrainian Journal is a monthly journal addressed to the Ukrainian-speaking intellectuals. It is being published in the Central and Eastern Europe countries pursuing the purpose to integrate and activate its readers as well as to become a place where they could exchange their views and opinions. “The Ukrainian Magazine” is engaged in the social, political, historical, cultural and artistic problems of the region.

Vsesvit

Vsesvit (which means in Ukrainian 'All the World' or 'Universe') is the only Ukrainian periodical that publishes exclusive translations of world classics and contemporary works of literature, covers different aspects of cultural, artistic, social, and political life in all parts of the world.