Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Slavic and East European Resources

This guide includes annotated links to selected electronic resources, such as online library catalogues, archival guides, digital collections, dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, e-journals, and search engines.

General

Austrian Newspapers and Magazines Online

Austrian Newspapers and Magazines Online is an open access digital archive of the main historically important newspapers published in Austria between 1700 and 1939. The newspapers represented in ANNO are a valuable source of information on history of Slavic and Hungarian provinces of the Habsburg monarchy.

Cold War International History Project

CWIHP was established at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C., in 1991. The Project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to accelerate the process of integrating new sources, materials and perspectives from the former "Communist bloc" with the historiography of the Cold War. The web-site of the Project hosts virtual archive of documents on more than 20 subjects related to history of Cold War. Two publications of the Project, "Cold War International History Project Bulletin" and "Cold War International History Project Working Paper Series", are also available online in PDF format.

Connecting Canadians - Canada’s Multicultural Newspapers

Funded by Department of Canadian Heritage and Canadian Culture Online, this digital collection includes Croatian, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Polish, Serbian, Ukrainian, Serbo-Croatian, Latvian, and Lithuanian immigrant newspapers.

Digital National Security Archives

The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 40 collections consisting of over 94,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 650,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.

Digital Publications of the Slavic Research Center of Hokkaido University

The Slavic Research Center of Hokkaido University provides free access to electronic versions of its publications: conference proceedings, working papers, occasional papers, books etc. Publications cover a broad range of disciplines, including history, political science, sociology, etc.

EuroDocs

This collection of open access sources provides links to primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. The documents cover a broad range of historical events (political, economic, social, and cultural) in each of the 49 European countries. The order of documents is chronological and may include videos or sound files, maps, databases, and other documentation.

European History Primary Sources

This is a joint initiative of the Library and the Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. The database provides access to selected scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. Digital repositories can be browsed by country, language, period, subject and type of source.

Europeana Collections

Europeana Collections is a major digital cultural heritage platform, financed by European Union. 3000 European archives, libraries and museums contributed approximately 50 million digitized items.

Inventory of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Digital Projects

An extensive collection of links to a variety of digital projects in Slavic, East European, and Eurasian field. An initiative undertaken in conjunction with the Digital Projects Subcommittee of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies.

Making the History of 1989

A digital collection with teaching modules produced the by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University for the study of the developments and popular movements that led to the collapse of Communist regimes (Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, the Baltics, Yugoslavia, etc.) in 1989. The collection comprises over 300 primary sources, including government documents, images, videos, artifacts, and interviews with historians. The material is made freely available to students and scholars who wish to explore the causes, events, and aftermath of the massive upheavals of 1989.

National Security Archive

The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at the George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

Oral History Online

This database provides access to approximately 3,000 oral history collections in English. The collection provides keyword searching for interviews, textual records and video files. 

Parallel History Project of the Cold War

The Parallel History Project on Cooperative Security (PHP, the former Parallel History Project on NATO and the Warsaw Pact), provides new scholarly perspectives on contemporary international history by collecting, publishing, and interpreting formerly secret governmental documents.

Slavic and Baltic Collections

Slavic and Baltic Digital collection of the New York Public Library contains almost 30,000 digitized images of engravings, lithographs, and printed books from the Slavic and Baltic countries.

Slavistics Portal

The Virtual Library Slavistics is an excellent source of information on Slavistics in general, and on Slavic languages, literature, and folklore in particular. The Subject Gateway Slavistics devoted to covering online sources in the field. Metasearch allows simultanious search of more than two million titles in Slavistics. The portal also provides access to many important databases and electronic journals in Slavic studies. In German, English, and Russian.

Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda

This primary source collection is composed of the documentary films and newsreels of a number of former communist regimes in USSR, German Democratic Republic, Czechoslovakia, Vietnam, Korea, Cuba, China, and Latin America. The digitized films originate from the archive of the British Film Institute (BFI) which acquired original film reels from Stanley Forman’s ETV (Education and Television Films) in 2003.

Vifost

An interdisciplinary portal for East European Studies provides the option to perform a unified and comprehensive search of specialized information on history, language, literature, politics and culture of East, Central-East, and South-East European countries and regions.

Wilson Centre Digital Archives

Constructed and maintained by the Wilson Center’s History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes, and more. Historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide fresh, unprecedented insights into recent international history.

World War I Document Archive

This resource offers access to a volunteer-assembled collection of WWI primary documents.

 

 

Albania

Albanian Literature in English translation

The resource is a rich collection of Albanian literary works translated into English. It includes Early Authors 16th-18th centuries, Classical Authors 19th – early 20th centuries, Modern Authors from Albania late 20th – 21st centuries, Modern Authors from Kosovo, Macedonia, and Montenegro (late 20th – 21st centuries), and Modern Italo-Albanian Authors (late 20th – 21st centuries). The full text of many books and articles are available. The website is created by Robert Elsia: writer, translator, and specialist in Albanian Studies. The website also presents several collections of early 20th century photographs taken in what is now Albania and Macedonia.

Bosnia & Herzegovina

Travels in Southeastern Europe

The resource consists of four accounts of travel in southeastern Europe each of which presents a considerable portion dedicated to Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Bulgaria

Electronic Library

This is an electronic library of the full-text Bulgarian and world literature. The website is regularly updated also publishing news in literary life of Bulgaria. Works of many authors are published here, in different areas such as classical Bulgarian literature, philosophy, literary criticism. In Bulgarian.

LiterNet

This portal provides free access to books and articles by Bulgarian authors.

Literaturen sviat

This portal provides access to monographs and periodicals in Bulgarian. It also includes translations of international authors.

Slovoto

This portal provides access to works of Bulgarian literature. In Bulgarian.

Croatia

Croatian Literature

This is a rich digital collection of Croatian literature. It is searchable by author and category. The categories include poetry, culture, sociology, and religion. In Croatian.

Czech Republic

Czech and Slovak Literature Resources

Czech and Slovak Literature Resource consists of many links to full text works of Czech and Slovak writers. The resource includes works by famous Czech intellectuals and writers from earlier period as well as works of modern writers.

Czech Electronic Library

A collection of Czech poetry from the period between the 19th and early 20 centuries. This is the largest full-text database of its kind on the Czech internet. The database contains 1,700 books and provides a complete narrative of the most important poets of modern Czech literature (e.g. KH Macha, KJ Erben, K. Havlicek Borovsky, J. Neruda, J. Vrchlický, O. Brezina) as well as tools for textual analysis (statistics, alphabetical and frequency dictionaries, etc.).

Czech Literature Portal

A Web Portal of Czech Literature (PCL) provides selected information about approximately 400 current authors (novelists, poets, playwrights, essayists, and authors of books for children and young people). It is primarily intended for foreign professionals (including Bohemists, students, translators, editors, and literary centers), organizers of literary events, journalists, compatriots, and regular readers interested in Czech literature. 

Dictionary of Czech Publishing Houses

This dictionary spans the Czech publishing period between 1849 and 1949. Entries are supplemented by brief biographies of individuals with emphasis on their publishing activities.

iLiteratura

This resource captures and comments upon the current book market both in the Czech Republic and abroad. It currently contains over 8,000 texts, including reviews and updates on literary prizes, festivals, and book fairs.

Institute of Czech Literature

The website comprises rich resources in Czech literature.

Joint Czech and Slovak Digital Parliamentary Library

A joint project of the Czech and Slovak parliaments to create and provide unified access to the documents covering (a) the activities of legislative bodies of the Czech and Slovak Republics from their beginnings in 1993 to the future; (b) the activities of common legislative bodies of the Czechoslovak Republic in 1918-1992; and (c) those of the Czech and Slovak deputies in various legislative bodies (Slovak National Council, Imperial Council, Diet of the Czech Kingdom) in 1848-1914.

Kramerius Digital Library

One of the national digitization programs of the Czech Republic, launched in 2000 with the goal of safeguarding and preserving acid-paper library materials, especially newspapers, journals and brittle monographs. The library contains millions of pages of digitized material with an annual growth of about 400,000 pages.

Manuscriptorium

A Europeana sub-aggregator for the sphere of historical resources, The Manuscriptorium project makes accessible digitized manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents. The blog keeps track of recent digitization projects.

Online Archive of Émigré Periodicals

A collection of Czech exile and samizdat periodicals, displayed in PDF format.

WebArchiv

An archive of Czech web resources created in 2000 by the National Library of the Czech Republic in co-operation with the IT Center and Faculty of Informatics of the Masaryk University in Brno and with financial support from the Ministry of Culture. The project catalogs on-line publications and stores them in a deposit system, in order to ensure long-term access to them.

Who is Who in Czech Slavonic Studies

"Who is who in Czech Slavonic Studies" is an electronic biographical database of Czech specialists who are dealing in the widest sense with the fields of culture, language, literature, art, history and society of Slavonic nations and states. Part of the database is also a list of workplaces where Slavonic studies are undertaken in the Czech Republic and of those located abroad, where people listed in the database work. The database provides biographies, specializations and contact details of these specialists.

Estonia

Digitaalne Arhiiv

A digital archive of digital-born material published by Estonian public and state institutions. Created by the National Library of Estonia in the framework of the international reUSE project. The web-site is in Estonian.

Estonian newspapers online

An online database of Estonian digitized newspapers from covering the period 1821–1944. Available since 2003, it currently contains numerous pages of digitized material. The web-site and user-interface are in Estonian.

Finland

Digital Collections of Finland National Library

Vast numbers of newspapers, periodicals, small printed items and books contained in the rich collections of the National Library of Finland have now been digitized to form a fascinating material that throws light on the past and present as parts of Finn national identity.

Finnish Literature in Translation

The database Finnish Literature in Translation includes more than 7,500 works of Finnish, Swedish and Sámi fiction and non-fiction in translation. Maintained and updated by FILI (Finnish Literature Exchange), the database offers information on book-length works as well as translation anthologies. Currently the oldest translation is from 1839. The database is trilingual: Finnish, Swedish, English."

Hungary

1956 Hungarian Memorial Oral History Project

The 1956 Hungarian Memorial Oral History Project celebrates the refugees of the Hungarian Revolution of 1956 by digitizing 400 hours of oral testimonies collected by second and third generation Hungarian-Canadians. The interviewees tell their personal stories of their involvement in the 1956 Revolution, their reasons for leaving and means of escape, places they lived en route to Canada, and the course of their lives in Canada.

Hungarian Electronic Library [Magyar Elektronikus Könyvtár]

This resource provides access to and navigation of high-quality web-content in the Hungarian language. The fields included are natural sciences, mathematics, technology, economics, social sciences, culture and arts, literature, as well as reference.

HUMANUS

This bibliographical database, established in 1987, offers access to the bibliographical data of all essays and articles of periodicals, annuals, and memorial volumes that are related to Hungary. The records are updated on a regular basis. HUMANUS contains approximately 300,000 records at the moment.

Hungarian Electronic Library

This Hungarian Electronic Library (MEK) offers access to a bibliographic database of the Hungarian electronic periodicals. More than 1300 periodicals have been categorized under 15 thematic groups.

Latvia

Historical Maps

This is a collection of digital maps from the Cartographic Collection of the National Library of Latvia. The collection includes a considerable number of historical maps of Latvia. All images are described. The searchable interface is in Latvian and English.

Latvian Digital Collections

The website contains a variety of collections digitized by the National Library of Latvia. Among the rich resources found here are links to hundreds of Latvian periodicals published mostly during the first half of the twentieth century (see: http://periodika.lndb.lv/#allperiodicals).

Latvian Literature Centre

This database provides access to Latvian fiction, poetry, plays, and children's literature from 1888 until the present.

Lithuania

Lithuanian Virtual Library

This resource provides access to books, articles and other documents stored in the libraries of Lithuanian universities, colleges, research institutes and their departments, their developed databases, and the Lithuanian Electronic Academic Library (eLABa).

Vilnius University Digital Collections

This is a collection of historical manuscripts by the Vilnius University Library. The collection includes books and royal decrees from the 16th to 19th century. All images include short fragment of the manuscript and a description of it. In English.

Macedonia

Macedonian Language

Funded by the University of Toronto, the Macedonian Human Rights Movement of Canada, and SEELRC, this site was designed to accompany the textbook Macedonian/Македонски јазик: A course for beginning and intermediate students, by Christina E. Kramer, available from the University of Wisconsin Press. The website has not been updated since 2009.

Macedonian Websites

The collection of interesting Macedonian sites available on Christina E. Kramer website, who is a professor Slavic and Balkan languages and linguistics at the University of Toronto.

Poland

Digital Library of Poland, Polona

This resource contains prints, books and maps that were digitized by the National Library of Poland. This interactive site allows users to browse the collections, assemble their own collections and share them on social media.

Digital Libraries Federation [Federacja bibliotek cyfrowych]

Digital Libraries Federation is a portal created by several major academic libraries in Poland. The website gives free, unrestricted access to almost 100,000 digital publications in various formats (DjVu, HTML, PDF etc.). Some formats, like DjVu require a special, free plug in for the internet browser. The website is available in Polish and English.This resource allows for searching content by title across the Digital Libraries Federation. The link http://fbc.pionier.net.pl/pro/zrodla/#listsheader provides a list of member institutions. From any single institutional link, using advance search function, one can search full text of all the content within that digital library.

Digital Library of Jelenia Góra

Digital Library of Jelenia Góra is an initiative of the City Public Library of Jelenia Góra ("Deer Mountain") and is aimed at digitizing newspapers, books, and other types of printed materials pertaining to the history of the region and the city of Jelenia Góra.

Digital Library of Kujawsko Pomorsk

The library provides access to rare Polish literature, documents, and academic textbooks about Kujawy (Kuyavian Region), Pomorze (Pomeranian Region) and Ziemia Dobrzynska.

Digital Library of Małopolska

The Digital Library of Malopolska offers access to the most important publications regarding the cultural heritage of the city of Krakow and the region of Malopolska in Poland. The collection includes works of artists and cultural figures, scientific and educational publications, as well as virtual exhibitions.

Digital Library of Podlaska

The Podlaska Digital Library offers open access to digitized material pertaining to the history and culture of Podlaska region.

Digital Library of Silesia

The Silesian Digital Library hosts one of the richest digital collections in Poland. With more than 27,000 items, the library is well established as a repository of not only literature, but all other types of material as well. The library is a good starting point for researchers interested in the history and culture of Silesia. The website interface is available in English, Polish, German, Czech and French.

Digital Library of Wielkopolska

The Digital Library of Wielkopolska offers open access to digitized material pertaining to history and culture of the Wielkopolska region and the city of Poznan in particular.

Digital Library of Wroclaw University

The digital Library of Wrocław University comprises digitized documents which are regarded as part of the cultural heritage of Europe and local region. The original collections encompass books (including old printed books), serials, manuscripts, maps, photographs, postcards, sheet music, and graphics. The regional collection concerns the territory of Silesia and Lausitz, particularly Lower Silesia and Wrocław.

Digital Library of Zielona Góra

The Digital Library of Zielona Góra offers open access to sources, educational tools, and digitized copies of printed material related to the history and culture of Zielona Góra region.

Dlibra

The dLibra project is aimed at creating a software platform for building digital libraries. It is a non-profit project developed since 1999 by Poznan Supercomputing and Networking Center which is a part of the Polish Academy of Sciences. The web-site provides links to all its digital projects.

FIDES Digital Library

FIDES is an e-library run by the Federation of the Polish Church Libraries. Its main focus is ecclesiastical matters and theology, but it also includes other material, for example: "Atlas Minor Gerardi Mercatoris: a I. Hondio plurimis aeneis tabulis auctus atque ilustratus" (1610).

Lower Silesian Digital Library [Dolnośląska Biblioteka Cyfrowa]

This regional Polish library offers digital collections of books, text-books, monographs, and special collections dating from before 1949.

Osrodek KARTA

This website offers access to archives and databases providing photographic evidence of Poland’s social history of the twentieth century. The images from Poland and Central, and Eastern Europe prove the unsaid and falsified "east" of the past by showing the resistance against the communist regime and the subsequent crises of 1956, 1968, 1970, 1976, the democratic opposition, and "Solidarity."

Polish Internet Library [Polska Biblioteka Internetowa]

The Polish Internet Library offers more than 15,000 titles, mainly compulsory school textbooks and Polish classical literature. New publications are constantly being added to the collection. The complete PIL catalogue will include academic publications, publications for the blind, sheet music, maps, paintings, photographs and other graphic material, and scientific periodicals. The PIL is implemented by the Ministry of Scientific Research and Information Technology and is free of charge (in Polish).

Staropolska Online

Staropolska Online serves as a gateway to resources dealing with medieval and early modern literature and culture of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in the context of Europe. Apart from selected primary sources (both literary and non fiction), the site comprises an e-dictionary of Old Polish and scholarly articles dealing with the subject. The website is available in Polish and English. Some of the texts have been translated into English.

Romania

Electronic Library

This electronic library provides access to many works of Romanian writers in different areas. In Romanian.

Russia (Federation)

Anti-Soviet Electronic Library: Historical Materials and Books

The web-site hosts a wide range of materials (memoirs, samizdat, fiction) about life in the Soviet Union from an anti-Soviet point of view. The majority of materials is in PDF format.

Archives of Refugees, Relief and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II

This collection chronicles the experience of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. The collection contains over 650,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that detail the causes, effects, and responses to the refugee crises before, during, and shortly after World War II. Researchers are enabled to unravel the complex history of forced migration through first-hand records of government responses to various crises and shifts in policy, work done by NGOs and charities, and individual narratives of the daily reality of the refugee experience. Of interest to scholars in migration and diaspora studies, War history, and political science.

BIBLIOPHIKA

This is a digital library, created on the basis of the digitized assets of the State Public Historical Library of Russia (GPIB). Currently BIBLIOPHIKA contains 1235 volumes (467,912 pages) from the funds of GPIB published before 1917. It includes the laws of the Russian Empire; historical, geographical, and ethnographical sources; and books on genealogy, heraldry, history, and culture.

Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation 

This collection includes reminiscences of many players in the Cold War through transcripts of oral recollections. Specifically, interviews with senior political figures from the U.S. and USSR are included, noting President Gerald Ford, Director of the CIA, Stalin's translator, U.S. National Security Advisor, and the Soviet Minister for Foreign Affairs, among many others. Of interest to scholars in history, war history, political science, economics, global peace and conflict.

Documents of Soviet Time

The website is a gateway to digitized documents that are crucial for understanding the Soviet era. In addition, the resource provides access to databases and libraries of digitized archival documents stored in federal records that are publicly available, relevant documentary publications, and reference books. The first collection has about 300,000 copies of documents from the Politburo (1919-1932) and from Stalin’s Fund (1866-1996) stored in the Russian State Archive of Socio-Political History.

Doukhobors of Canada

A virtual exhibit of documents and images that focus on the Doukhobors and their migration to Saskatchewan, and subsequent move to British Columbia.

Doukhobor Collection of James Mavor

The Dukhobors are a religious group originating in Ukraine, where they suffered periodic discrimination by Tsarist authorities. At the end of the 19th century, during a period of intense political persecution due to their pacifism, thousands of Dukhobors emigrated to Canada. James Mavor (1854-1925) was a political economist, teacher, writer and art collector. In 1898, at the request of Petr Kropotkin, Mavor was instrumental in facilitating the Dukhobor migration. He continued throughout his life to be a staunch supporter of the Dukhobors following their settlement in Canada.

The Digital Library of the Russian National Library

The collection comprises thousands of documents, manuscripts, dissertations, periodicals, music recordings etc. The website is in Russian only. 

Electronic Library of the History Department, Lomonosov Moscow State University

An open access online library of electronic resources hosted by the History Department of Lomonosov Moscow State University. It includes electronic copies of many books, documents, digitized manuscripts (for example, three medieval manuscripts relating to the economic history of Crimea at the end of the 14th - beginning of the 15th centuries).

Electronic Library of the History Department, Saint-Petersburg State University

The web-site offers free access to some publications of the faculty of the History Department, Saint-Petersburg State University. Among the publications are two textbooks of Russian and Soviet history, collections of articles, etc.

eLIBRARY.RU

The Russian Digital Scholarly Library. There is an index to the Russian Citation Index among other resources.

Foreigners in Pre-revolutionary Russia

The extensive archive of Professor Erik Amburger includes data on nearly 100,000 foreigners in the Russian Empire up to the year 1917 (about 2,960 families). The database offers access to list-like genealogical statements that can be viewed at the Institute of East and Southeast European Studies, Regensburg, Germany.

Fundamental Digital Library: Russian Literature & Folklore

The Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore (FEB-web) is a full-text digital resource. FEB-web acquires information in text, audio, visual, and other formats on 11th to 20th century Russian literature, Russian folklore, and the history of Russian literary scholarship and folklore studies. FEB-web is, first and foremost, a repository of primary, secondary, and reference sources. It is also an effective instrument for analyzing these texts. Presenting texts in digital form via a state-of-the-art user interface makes it possible for professional scholars and other users to work with texts in a fundamentally new way.

Grigorii Nikolaevich Trubetskoi Virtual Archive

Prince (kniaz) Grigorii Nikolaevich Trubetskoi (1873-1930) was an important Russian diplomat and church activist of the first third of the 20th century. The virtual archive of his papers is hosted by the Hoover Institution, Stanford University. The archive includes materials relating to Russian foreign policy in the Balkans before WWI, Entente’s plans for re-designing Southern Europe and the Balkans, and correspondence of many prominent Russian political and intellectual figures.

Gudok

Founded in 1917 as a daily for Soviet railway workers, the newspaper’s content expanded to include commentary, often satirical, on Soviet and post-Soviet culture, politics, and society.

Gulag: Many Days, Many Lives

This digital project sponsored by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University presents the history of the Gulag system through a browseable archive of video, art, artifacts, photographs, and the life stories of former Gulag prisoners. Online exhibitions with original documentaries and recordings of prisoner voices allow for the exploration of Gulag life. A virtual tour of the reconstructed camp and museum at Perm-36 is available.

"Gumer" Digital Library

This is an important resource for electronic books and articles in Russian. The website consists of the digital books on history, laws, psychology, linguistics, cultural studies, literature, political science, and pedagogy. The highlight of the collection is Russian translations of the main Western works.

Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online

The Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online provides access to digitized materials selected from the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System (HPSSS). The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War.

Iakovlev Online

An online archive of papers, articles, and interviews of the Soviet statesman Alexander Iakovlev (1923-2005), who played major role in Soviet political life at the end of the 1980s and was widely known as the “architect” of Perestroika.

Illiustrirovannaia Rossiia

A weekly illustrated and literary magazine published from 1924 to 1939 by Russian émigrés in France and elsewhere who left Russia after the Bolshevik Revolution.

ImWerden

"ImWerden" is a privately run non-commercial online digital library. Most of the publications are related to Russian literature and history. The web-site is famous for its active updating and the high quality of digitization.

International Biographic Centre

This biographical database contains over 1,000 individual biographies of outstanding contemporary figures from Russia.

Izvestiia

The official daily newspaper of the Soviet government, published by the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR from 1917 to 1991, when it became nominally independent. Coverage includes domestic and foreign policy, culture, education, and finance.

Kino-fot

Edited by Aleksei Gan, this short-lived (six issues, 1922-1923), illustrated magazine covered the emerging cinematic and photographic industries in the Soviet Union. Notable for its use of Constructivist design.

Krokodil Digital Archive

Published continuously from August 1922 until 2008, Krokodil was at one time the most popular satirical journal, with a circulation reaching 6.5 million copies. The online platform includes full-text searchable tags to identify individuals and organizations within the artwork. Tools found in the interface may be used to magnify the images or text, or download pages for future reference.

LDN Library

LDN Library is a private non-commercial digital library of Leon and Nina Dotan (LDN). Publications are organized into five collections: Lithuanian books, German books, Russian books, Music (books related to music and musical notes), and Judaica.

Litkarta [Novaia karta russkoi literatury]

This digital repository is dedicated to literary life in various Russian cities as well to Russian literary figures living and working outside of Russia. The database is searchable by name, genre of writing and geographic region. The resource also includes a section of national and regional literary projects (periodicals, book series, festivals, competitions, etc.), audio and video files. In Russian.

Medieval Rus' Birchbark Documents

An electronic resource for the study and conservation of Medieval Rus' birchbark documents dating from the eleventh to the fifteenth century.

Medieval Rus' Chronicles

Scans and annotated full-text versions of six different Medieval Rus' chronicles.

Meeting of Frontiers

Meeting of Frontiers is a bilingual, multimedia English-Russian digital library that tells the story of the American exploration and settlement of the West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.

Memorial Collections

The web-site of the Russian “Memorial” (an organization devoted to studying and preserving the memory of Stalin’s crimes) contains many documents related to purges and terror in the Soviet Union in the 1930s.

Military History of Russia

This a Russian web-site devoted to military history in general, from ancient times till now. The web-site hosts a wide range of memoirs written by Russian and Soviet generals, officers, and rank-on-file related to the two World Wars.

Moscow News Digital Archive

Moscow News, founded in 1930 by American socialist Anna Louise Strong, and continuing publication until 2014, is the oldest English-language newspaper in the Soviet Union.  The Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approximately 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).

Moshkov's Library [Biblioteka Moshkova]

The largest and the most popular Russian library on the Internet was founded in 1994. It includes digital books of Russian literature, poetry, classics, and fiction, as well as many translations of Western European, North American, and East Asian writers into Russian. There are also selected digitized works by Ukrainian and Belarusian writers.

Novoe Russkoe Slovo

Combined with the predecessor title Russkoe slovo, this digital newspaper archive documents over one-hundred years of the Russian immigrant experience in North America (1910-2016). It was the most widely read Russian newspaper in the United States and Canada.

Old Rus' Manuscript Books

PDF versions of four different Medieval Rus' manuscript books.

Olonetskie Gubernskie Vedomosti

Olonetskiie Gubernskiie Vedomosti (News of Olonets Province) were published during 1838-1917 being official newspaper of Olonetsk province. The newspaper is a very useful source on the provincial life of the Russian Empire. It also published numerous ethnographic, cultural, philological, etc. materials of significant academic importance for studies in the Russian North in particular, and Russian traditional culture in general. A team of scholars from Petrozavodsk State University have been digitizing most of the issues (over 4,000) and continue to work on the project.

One Hundred Key Documents of Soviet History, 1917-1991

The web-site is a joint project of German and Russian historians offering their selection of key 100 hundred documents of Soviet history, 1917-1991. The documents are presented there through scanned images of originals which are held at Russian archives.

Philolog.ru

Philolog.ru is web-site hosted by the Chair of Russian Literature at Petrozavodsk University. The web-site offers open access to classics of Russian Literature (Gogol', Dostoevsky etc) and to complete works of V. Dal', including his famous dictionary.

Pravda Digital Archive

This resource provides access to full text and full image coverage of Pravda beginning in 1912 to the present. It is searchable in Russian Cyrillic or transliteration.

Presidential Library

Homepage of the Boris Yeltsin Presidential Library, one of three national libraries of the Russian Federation. Available in both Russian and English, the website includes News and Events, access to the library's catalogue, and electronic versions of items in the library's thematically-organized collections.

Prokudin-Gorskii Collection at the Library of Congress

Acquired by the Library of Congress in 1948, this recently digitized collection of a documentary photographer of the Russian Empire, Sergei Prokudin-Gorskii (1863-1944), features approximately 2,500 images of people, religious architecture, historic sites, industry and agriculture, public works construction, scenes along water and railway transportation routes, and views of villages and cities.

Prozhito

Prozhito is a web-archive of digitized personal diaries in Russian and Ukrainian languages.  Users can search for entries by author, date, location, gender, age, language, and/or subject matter.

Runivers

This resource provides access to primary sources, books and texts in Russian history and culture. The collection contains books published in Russia in the nineteenth - early twentieth century, predominantly focusing on history, including works of Russian philosophers, encyclopedias, collections of documents, maps, and photographs that were taken out of cultural circulation for nearly a century.

Russian Humanities Portal

Ruthenia.ru is a joint internet-based project of the Moscow Publishing House “OGI” and Chair of Russian Literature of University of Tartu. The web-site serves as a guide into the world of Russian studies, particularly into literature and linguistic studies. Besides a huge collection of links, the web-site also provides online access to some rare publications, but is most useful as a reference and guide to the academic web-world of Russian studies.

Sakharov Archive

Homepage of the Andrei Sakharov Archives in Moscow. Includes information about the archive's funds and collections, library, and publications. Also includes instructions for ordering copies of documents or materials from the archive. Available in Russian and English.

Seventeen Moments in Soviet History

Seventeen moments in Soviet History has been directed and created by James von Geldern (Macalester College) and Lewis Siegelbaum (Michigan State University). The object of this web site is to give users a sense of what experience of Soviet life was like, using the original words of the participants. We have selected from Soviet history seventeen moments - following the title of a beloved Soviet spy series of the 1970s - almost at random but not entirely. Materials for the website are collected from the Hoover Archives and Stanford Libraries.

Signposts Electronic Library [Biblioteka Vekhi]

“Vekhi” is an online library of Russian religious-philosophical literature and fiction. The web-site hosts works by such philosophers as N. Berdiav, L. Shestov, V. Soloviev, S. Bulgakov etc. The web-site also offers access to fiction written by F. Dostoevskii, M. Bulgakov, A. Solzhenitsyn and Ia. Pasternak. Additionally, the web-site includes an online version of the most important Russian prerevolutionary encyclopedia, Brokhaus and Efron.

Sovetskaia kultura

The digital archive includes predecessor titles Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952), along withSovetskaia kultura (1953-1991) and its successor Kultura (1991-present). These titles cover over eighty years of major events in Soviet literature, theatre, cinematography, and arts, providing a unique perspective on ever-changing attitudes towards arts and culture in Soviet and Russian society.

Soviet Samizdat Periodicals

Soviet Samizdat Periodicals is a database of information about editions of classic Soviet samizdat, 1956-1986. The database includes approximately 300 titles, representing all known types of samizdat periodical issues from the late Soviet era, including human rights bulletins, poetry anthologies, rock zines, religious and national editions. The database is fully searchable. Researchers will find detailed bibliographic and archival information. The site also includes information about samizdat and dissidence for the general public. The website is intended to provide a forum for continuing discussion about this outstanding phenomenon of recent history.

Stalinka: Digital Library of Staliniana

Stalinka is intended as an online resource for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone conducting research on Stalin/ism. Assembled by Helena Goscilo (Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures), Susan Corbesero (Department of History), and Petre Petrov (graduate student) at the University of Pittsburgh, the collection comprises visual materials and artifacts relating to Stalin: photographs, posters, paintings, banners, sculptures, chinaware, pins, etc.

Tolstoy: 90-volume Collection of Works

It is a digitized collection of works by Lev Tolstoy including his fiction, rough copies, correspondence, diaries ets.

Serbia

Digital National Library of Serbia

The Digital National Library of Serbia consists of selected digitized documents such as Cyrillic manuscripts, rare books, newspapers, maps, photographs, posters and documentary materials, catalogs and bibliographies. All collections can be searched using the search box.

Slovakia

Centre for Information on Literature

The Centre for Information on Literature, established by the Ministry of Culture of the Slovak Republic, provides material and organizational support to literature written in Slovakia, its authors and translators. The Centre observes development in the sphere of literature in Slovakia and abroad, collects and preserves documentary evidence and maintains this database containing relevant information.

Electronic Library of Slovak Literature

Electronic Library of Slovak Literature is an open-access digital library of Slovak literature classics.

Slovenia

Digital Library of Slovenia

A web portal providing access to digitized resources such as journals, books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, music and reference material. All the collections are freely accessible.

Ukraine

Digital Archive of the Ukraine Famine 1932-1933

The State Committee on Archives of Ukraine published declassified documents from its formerly closed archive on Ukrainian collectivization and famine of 1929-1933. The images and film materials are supplemented with an online catalogue with short descriptions of the files.

Digital Publications of the Institute of Ukrainian History

The web-site of the Institute of Ukrainian History, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. Publications of the Institute, both periodicals and monographs, are available on the site in PDF format. Among the periodicals are Ukrainskyi Istorychnyi Zhurnal, Sotsium, Ruthenica, etc.

Electronic Library of Ukrainian Literature

The Electronic Library of Ukrainian Literature provides free access to electronic texts of Ukrainian literature maintained by the professor of Ukrainian Literature at the University of Toronto, Maxim Tarnawsky. The Electronic Library contains both Ukrainian and English texts. It can be searched by keyword, phrase, or author. The site has useful links to other electronic collections.

First Wave of Ukrainian Immigration to Canada, 1891-1914

The exhibit features written and oral accounts of some of the first Ukrainian settlers to Canada, as well as photographs and other illustrative material.

Historians

This resource is a collection of articles, discussions, and bibliographic citations to new books and journals in Ukrainian history. The site is a networking tool that enables communication between the regional centers of Ukraine, experts from different countries, different generations of intellectuals, and different disciplines.

Izbornyk

Rare and unique manuscripts and historical maps are the major strengths of this resource, with additional resources in Ukrainian literature, language, history, and nationalism.

Libraria

The resource provides access to a variety of historical periodicals in Ukrainian, Polish, German, Romanian, Yiddish, Crimean-Tatar, and Russian, published in various regions of Ukraine.

Library of Ukrainian poetry

This is a very comprehensive website devoted to Ukrainian poetry. On this site one can find Ukrainian poetry from the 17th-19th centuries, poetry of the 20th century, and works by contemporary poets. The website is up-to-date and easy to search. Search by author and by period.

Makhno Movement

This web-site is devoted to Nestor Makhno, who was a colorful figure of the Ukrainian Revolution, 1917-1920. The web-site hosts memoirs and articles by Makhno, as well as by participants of his anarchist movement, photos of Makhno and his soldiers, and some research material on him and the movement.

Mary Fisher-Slyzh library

The Electronic Ukrainian Library named after Mary Fisher-Slyzh is a rich resource of Ukrainian literature. This library is located on the website "Ukrainians in Sevastopol’”. The site provides access to a wide range of Ukrainian books in many areas, namely literature, drama, poetry, language, and history.

Online Histories of Ukraine

The web-site is sponsored by IREX and offers free online access to HTML and PDF versions of Natalia Yakovenko’s and Yaroslav Hrytsak’s histories of Ukraine (the former covering the history of Ukraine till the end of the 18th century, and the latter covering the years 1772-1996). The site also hosts an electronic version of a three-volume reference work on Ukrainian history.

Prozhito

Prozhito is a web-archive of digitized personal diaries in Russian and Ukrainian languages.  Users can search for entries by author, date, location, gender, age, language, and/or subject matter.

Ukrainian Liberation Movement

This electronic archive provides access to digitized copies of documents on the history of the Ukrainian liberation movement in the 20th century. The collection contains documents about the Organization of Ukrainian Nationalists, the Ukrainian Insurgent Army, the Ukrainian Supreme Liberation Council, and others, as well as documents of the dissident and mass national-democratic movement in the second half of the 20th century. It also includes documents of the NKVD-MGB-KGB, Gestapo, and German security service and others. Presently, the archive consists of more than 10,000 documents. This archive is a joint project of the Center for the Liberation Movement, Lviv National University named after I. Franko, and the National Memorial Museum of Victims of Occupation Regimes "Prison at Lonsky."

The Ukrainian Weekly

One of the oldest newspapers of Ukrainian diaspora in North America. Issues from 1933 to 2014 are available in PDF Archive. In English.