Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Student Journal Publishing

Student Journal Forum 2022

The annual Student Journal Forum 2022 was held virtually on February 23-24, 2022.

Now in its 7th year, this Canada-wide online event is open to everyone but is targeted at post-secondary students in Canada who are involved with or considering starting a student journal.

Slides and recordings from select presentations are linked from the Program below. Slides from past Forums are also available.

Full Program

Schedule

Time

(Time Zone Converter)

Session Type & Theme Session title & presenting journal

9:45am PST

10:45am MST

11:45am CST

12:45pm EST 

Forum opening/Welcome  

10-10:30am PST

11-11:30am MST

12-12:30pm CST

1-1:30pm EST

Lightning Talks: Journal Growth

"Strategies for Strengthening Author-Editor Dialogue Within a Collaborative Editorial Process" - Flux: International Relations Review

"Maintaining a Student-Run Journal Past Graduation" - Nota Bene: Canadian Undergraduate Journal of Musicology

10:30-11:30am PST

11:30-12:30pm MST

12:30-1:30pm CST

1:30-2:30pm EST

Panel: Art
 

"A Bridge between Two Worlds: Running a Mixed Media Journal" - tba; Journal of Art, Media, and Visual Culture [session slides]

"Art and Writing on the Prairies" - in medias res

"How to Maintain an Inter-Departmental Ethos" Intonations

11:30- 12pm PST

12:30-1pm MST

1:30-2pm CST

2:30-3pm EST

Break  

12-12:40pm PST

1-1:40pm MST

2-2:40pm CST

3-3:40pm EST

Presentation: Equity in Publishing

"Mindful Management: Crisis-Informed Approaches to Journal Management" - re:Locations: Journal of the Asia-Pacific World

[session slides]

12:40-1:20pm PST

1:40-2:20pm MST

2:40-3:20pm CST

3:40-4:20pm EST

Presentation: Journal Management "Collaboration, Innovation, and Growth: Managing a Cross-Institutional Journal" - Health Science Inquiry

1:20-1:30pm PST

2:20-2:30pm MST

3:20-3:30pm CST

4:20-4:30pm EST

Break  

1:30-2pm PST

2:30-3pm MST

3:30-4pm CST

4:30-5pm EST

Networking for journal editors

Whether you’re a brand new journal editor with lots of questions
about your role, a seasoned editor with the knowledge to share,
or just thinking about joining a journal team and you have questions.

This session is some open time for you to come and meet other editorial teams
and share stories, ask questions, and (hopefully) get answers!

2-2:15pm PST

3-3:15pm MST

4-4:15pm CST

5-5:15pm EST

Break  

2:15-2:50pm PST

3:15-3:50pm MST

4:15-4:50pm CST

5:15-5:50pm EST

Lightning Talks: New Journals

"Publishing in a Pandemic: Navigating editorial hurdles during COVID-19" - UofT Journal of Public Health 

"Leveraging Campus Resources to Strengthen Student Submissions" - Journal of Undergraduate Health Research

"Establishing a Health Sciences Undergraduate Journal" - SFU Health Sciences Undergraduate Journal

2:50-3:30pm PST

3:50-4:30pm MST

4:50-5:30pm CST

5:50-6:30pm EST

Presentation: Decolonizing academic journals and their processes

"Community-building processes: Becoming TIJIH" - Turtle Island Journal of Indigenous Health

3:30pm PST

4:30pm MST

5:30pm CST

6:30pm EST

Day 1 Closing Remarks

Gift Card Draws (for Presenters)

 

Time

(Time Zone Converter)

Session Type & Theme Session title & presenting journal

9:45am PST

10:45am MST

11:45am CST

12:45pm EST 

Welcome Day 2  

10-10:40am PST

11-11:40am MST

12-12:40pm CST

1-1:40pm EST

 

Presentation: Journal management "Accomplishments and challenges of a student-led journal in Education: From finding reviewers to joining the DOAJ" - Simon Fraser University Educational Review

10:40-11:30pm PST

11:40-12:30pm MST

12:40-1:30pm CST

1:40-2:30pm EST

Lightning Talks: Journal Growth

"Modernizing Undergraduate Academia to a New Level of Professionalism in Healthcare: Operationalizing Virtual Mediums" - The Meducator 

"Journal Recovery after COVID-19" - Western Undergraduate Research Journal of Health and Natural Sciences

"Pathfinder: Exploring New Roads" - Pathfinder [session slides]

"An overview of University of Toronto Medical Journal’s Editorial Process and New Initiatives" - University of Toronto Medical Journal 

11:30-12pm PST

12:30-1pm MST

1:30-2pm CST

2:30-3pm EST

Break  

12-12:40pm PST

1-1:40pm MST

2-2:40pm CST

3-3:40pm EST

Presentation: Journal management "Training Undergraduate Journal Editors: COVID-19 Edition" - Spectrum

12:40-1:20pm PST

1:40-2:20pm MST

2:40-3:20pm CST

3:40-4:20pm EST

Presentation / Roundtable: Equity in publishing "Addressing epistemic injustice and violence as a form of social justice" - Gadfly 

1:20-1:30pm PST

2:20-2:30pm MST

3:20-3:30pm CST

4:20-4:30pm EST

Break  

1:30-2:20pm PST

2:30-3:20pm MST

3:30-4:20pm CST

4:30-5:20pm EST

Presentation: Journal growth

"Ensuring Journal Sustainability" - Caribbean Quilt

[session slides]

[session recording]

2:20-3pm PST

3:20-4pm CST

4:20-5pm CST

5:20-6pm EST

Lightning Talks: New Journals 

"A Year in the Life of McGill GLSA Research Series: From the Graduate Law Conference to the First Journal Edition" - McGill GLSA Research Series

"Supporting Interdisciplinarity in Undergraduate Publication" - Crossings

3pm PST

4pm CST

5pm CST

6pm EST

Day 2 Closing Remarks

Gift Card Draws (for Presenters)

 

 

Sign up for Forum updates

Join the listserv for student journal editors in Canada to receive news and updates about the Student Journal Forum 2022 and other pre-Forum events for editors. You can also initiate a discussion and make connections with fellow editors via the listserv.

Subscribe to the listserv or contact Mariya Maistrovskaya, Co-Chair of the SJF forum at mariya.maistrovskaya@utoronto.ca to be added.

SJF 2022 organizers

The SJF has previously been hosted annually in person by U of T Libraries. This year, the SJF is taking place remotely and is jointly organized by Carleton University, McMaster University Library, Simon Fraser University Library, University of Alberta Library, University of British Columbia Library, University of Calgary Libraries and Cultural Resources, University of Regina, University of Saskatchewan, University of Toronto Libraries, and Western University.

 

Carleton University MacOrdum Library logo.McMaster University Library logo.       SFU Library logo.     University of Alberta logo.        The University of British Columbia logo.     University of Calgary logo.University of Saskatchewan logo.University of Regina logo.

University of Toronto Libraries logo. Western University Libraries logo. 

SJF 2022 sponsor

Student Journal Forum 2022 is sponsored by the Public Knowledge Project (PKP). PKP is a not-for-profit organization behind the world's widest used open source journal publishing software - Open Journal Systems (OJS). Many student journals use OJS provided by their institutions.

 

Public Knowledge Project logo.

Contact us

Questions about the event? Contact Mariya Maistrovskaya (University of Toronto) or Sarah Severson (University of Alberta), Co-Chairs of the SJF 2022 organizing committee.