MUS210: Music in Film

This guide supports the research components of MUS210: Music in Film.

Journal/Database Resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 2000 high quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Known as the most comprehensive, music-specific database, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature features a wealth of content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
The MPD (formerly known as the International Index to Music Periodicals) overlaps with RILM, but also includes some unique journal titles in overlapping disciplines. No thorough search for information on your topic is complete without searching this database.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. Includes scholarly and popular performing arts journals.
Cinema and Media Studies - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
A database of citations for articles that specifically cover topics in cinema and media studies. You can use this resource to do preliminary research on potential sources, and then look for full texts of the articles at U of T.
Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. You can use this resource to focus your searches, and then look for full texts of the articles at U of T.

The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed. Since 1999, significant articles published in Canadian periodicals about international music and musicians have been added to the index.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts of scholarly journals related to the study of classical and popular music.
Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window
Available through Alexander Street, explore the largest, most diverse, and comprehensive catalog of online music content in the world.
Film Platform Collection This link opens in a new window
A global selection of films includes many Oscar nominated documentaries and film festival winners.

Rolling Stone
Rolling Stone Archive provides a backfile of Rolling Stone magazine from 1967 up to present. The magazine became a vehicle for rock and popular music journalism and expanded to broader entertainment topics, such as film and television, and wider popular culture.

Film & Music Journals

The New Soundtrack
(2008-2011), Peer-Reviewed, Open access. This journal brings together leading edge academic and professional perspectives on the complex relationship between sound and moving images.
The Soundtrack
The Soundtrack is a multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that brings together research in the area of music and sound in relation to film and other moving image media.
Music, Sound, and the Moving Image
Music, Sound, and the Moving Image is the first international scholarly journal devoted to the study of the interaction between music and sound in moving image media.
Music and the moving image
Music and the Moving Image explores the relationship between music and the entire universe of moving images (film, television, music videos, computer games, performance art, and web-based media) through articles, reviews and interviews.
Film History : An International Journal
Film History focuses on the historical development of the motion picture and the social, technological, and economic context in which this has occurred. Its areas of interest range from the technical and entrepreneurial innovations of the early and pre-cinema experiments, through all aspects of the production, distribution, exhibition, and reception of commercial and non-commercial motion pictures.

Social, Political, and Cultural Databases

The UTL has some fantastic databases for finding information on the political, social, and cultural contexts of the music you're studying. These contexts often play a role in shaping the kinds of musics that are produced in a particular geographic area or within a specific genre of music. Here's a short list for you to check out, listed in alphabetical order:

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I This link opens in a new window
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender, beginning in the 16th century.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Covers Native North American culture, history, and life. It contains eBooks, essays, journal, magazine and news articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Website of both historical and current information for research on African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Published non-fiction works by African American authors from pre-contact times to the present.
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable online database containing the full text of approximately 100,000 pages of the writings of black women from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and the rest of the African Diaspora.
Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) This link opens in a new window
The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed.

The CMPI database focusses on articles and news items touching on various aspects of music in Canada. In addition, since 1999, significant articles published in Canadian periodicals about international music and musicians have been added to the index.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources related to the study of global imperialism, spanning the last 500 years. Includes British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and indigenous perspectives.
First Nations Information Connection This link opens in a new window
An initiative of the University of Alberta Libraries in collaboration with First Nations institutions. Provides access to a collection of culturally significant web resources. Most resources are also accessible to the general public.
Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new window
Monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical, and photograph collections related to Indigenous North American history.
Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, ebooks, theses, and government publications, with a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the 20th century and to the present.
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation This link opens in a new window
The NCTR is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations
Performance Design Archive This link opens in a new window
Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup.

Rolling Stone
Rolling Stone Archive provides a backfile of Rolling Stone magazine from 1967 up to present. The magazine became a vehicle for rock and popular music journalism and expanded to broader entertainment topics, such as film and television, and wider popular culture.
Sabinet African Journals.
Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. This service, which is easy to use and accessible anytime and anywhere, is a growing service — over 600 journal titles in 10 collections are available for individuals, corporates, universities, government departments, research institutions and law firms. Sabinet African Journals offers a user-friendly platform and encourages research efficacy. All international journal standards and statistics are adhered to and various business models are available.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Examines the foundations and progression of women's movements during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.

MUS210: Music in Film

Journal/Database Resources

Film & Music Journals

Social, Political, and Cultural Databases

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us