Research Guides: Innovation Management @ UTM: REFERENCE SOURCES

REFERENCE SOURCES

What are reference sources?

Reference sources provide facts and background information on a subject, such as dates, key statistics, definitions, and/or a brief history.
They are typically broad and often do not provide in-depth information on particular topics - however, some do!
Examples of reference sources include dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Why use reference sources?

They are a great place to start if you don't know much about your topic - they can be used to help identify key concepts, authors, and keywords associated with the subject
They can lead you to more in-depth sources on your topic.

SUGGESTED REFERENCE SOURCES

The listing below represents a sample of the reference works available through the Library on the topic of innovation and entrepreneurship. Use LibrarySearch to find more titles - or ask your liaison librarian!

Oxford Bibliographies: Technology and Innovation Management by Elizabeth J. Altaman, Frank Nagle, Micahel L. Tushman
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780199846740
Publication Date: 2013 [last updated in 2020]
An annotated bibliography on technology and innovation. Links to key journals, ‘classic’ books, chapters and articles as well as more contemporary research in the field. An excellent starting point for research. Regularly updated.
The Routledge Companion to Innovation Management by Jin Chen (Editor); Poh Kam Wong (Editor); Eric Viardot (Editor); Alexander Brem (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781138244719
Publication Date: 2019
Introduces the basic framework of innovation and innovation management. It also presents innovation management from the perspectives of strategy, organization and resource, as well as institution and culture.
Innovation: a Very Short Introduction (2nd ed.) by Mark Dodgson; David Gann
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780198825043
Publication Date: 2018
A highly readable introduction to the topic of innovation.
Innovation Policy: A Practical Introduction by Nicholas S. Vonortas (Editor); Phoebe C. Rouge (Editor); Anwar Aridi (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781493922321
Publication Date: 2014
A concise introduction to important aspects of contemporary innovation policy, with particular emphasis on its impact on economic growth and development.
The Palgrave Handbook of Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Entrepreneurship by Turcan, R.V. and Fraser, N.M. (eds.)
Call Number: E- Book
ISBN: 3319916114
Publication Date: 2018
Covers a broad range of perspectives on entrepreneurship drawn from disciplines as varied as neuroscience, business, sociology, psychology, education and theology.
Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship by Elias G. Carayannis (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781461438588
Publication Date: 2013
Contains 300+ topic entries that can be browsed or searched by keyword. Each entry defines key terms and concepts, provides a brief review essay, and highlights key references for further reading.
The Routledge Companion to the Makers of Modern Entrepreneurship by David B. Audretsch (Editor); Erik E. Lehmann (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781138838109
Publication Date: 2016
Offers a comprehensive guide to entrepreneurship, providing an authoritative exploration of the key people and their ideas. This book tells the stories of the scholars who have set the standard and tone for thinking and analysing entrepreneurship. Edited by two of the world's leading entrepreneurship scholars, this comprehensive volume offers a platform for understanding and future research that is both state-of-the-art and authoritative.
Handbook of Research on Corporate Entrepreneurship by Shaker A. Zahra (Editor); Donald O. Neubaum (Editor); James C. Hayton (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781785368721
Publication Date: 2016
Attempts to synthesize what we know and clarify what we need to know about key issues such as strategic renewal, innovation and venturing activities within established companies, giving direction to future research.This Handbook combines conceptual and empirical contributions covering a wide gamut of theories and perspectives that include: opportunity discovery vs. creation, the behavioral theory of the firm, learning, human capital, agency, and dynamic capabilities.