Research Guides: Innovation Management @ UTM: JOURNAL &amp; NEWS ARTICLES DATABASES

JOURNAL & NEWS ARTICLE DATABASES

Use the databases listed below to find articles—both peer-reviewed and other kinds.

FIND DIFFERENT TYPES OF ARTICLES

SCIENCE & ENGINEERING JOURNAL ARTICLES

Use these databases to find journal articles from life sciences, engineering, and other scientific disciplines.

This listing is NOT comprehensive. If you can't find what you need, please contact your liaison librarian (cat.macgregor@utoronto.ca).

PubMed @ UofT
Use this version to seamlessly link to the full-text version of articles from journals available through UofT Libraries. Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Select the 'Search Reviews (CDSR)' option to search for systematic, evidence-based assessments of healthcare practices and interventions. Use the 'Advanced Search' for more complex queries and control over your search results.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
A key database for drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, and clinical and experimental human medicine. Offered on the OVID platform, select 'EMBASE Classic+EMBASE' to search within this database.

Annual Reviews
Published once a year for almost 50 subject areas, each issue of an Annual Review contains articles that summarize significant research developments on a topic. An excellent source for reviews or 'state of the art' summaries of research on specific topics.
International HTA Database
An open source database of bibliographic information about ongoing and published health technology assessments (HTAs) commissioned or undertaken by HTA organisations internationally. Provides a single point of access to information distributed across various individual agency websites. Also includes records of ongoing HTA projects, which are updated on the database when projects are completed.
Nature Reviews Disease Primers
These 'journals' provide a global overview of a disease and the current state of research within the field. Each Primer covers epidemiology; disease mechanisms; diagnosis, screening and prevention; management; and quality of life. Updated weekly.

Compendex This link opens in a new window
Covers all engineering disciplines.
IEEE Xplore / IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Journals, conference papers, technical standards, books, and educational courses in the fields of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

CROSS-DISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Sometimes, you may need to extend your research across multiple disciplines.

Use the databases listed below when your topic extends beyond science or medicine - or when you are not finding enough relevant articles in the databases listed above.

Web of Science: Core Collection
A major multidisciplinary database. Use it both to search for articles AND to identify articles that cite other authors or articles you have found. Web of Science indexes almost 6,000 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and 2,000+ journals from the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Another major multidisciplinary database. Covers 22,000+ journal sources from science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as almost 8M conference papers and 28+M patents.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of content, including patents, presentations, and reports, as well as journal articles. However, it does not offer an easy way to filter for peer reviewed articles. Watch this video to learn how to sync Google Scholar with UTL's journal holdings for seamless full-text article access.

MANAGEMENT JOURNAL ARTICLES

Use these databases to find journal articles from management or business disciplines.

This listing is NOT comprehensive. If you can't find what you need, please contact your liaison librarian (cat.macgregor@utoronto.ca).

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,000+ academic and industry journals. This database is the only source for PDF, full-text versions of Harvard Business Review articles.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Another major source of business journal literature, available on the ProQuest search platform.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
The major database for research in economics. Published by the American Economics Association (AEA), it indexes articles, working papers, book chapters, and other scholarly material published on all fields of economics.

NEWS ARTICLES

You may need news articles for assignments or job-related research. Articles published in newspapers, periodicals or other media can be used to:

research industry trends,
analyze a company, or
identify examples of best practices in a given area.

Use these databases to find news articles.

This listing is NOT comprehensive. If you can't find what you need, please contact your liaison librarian (cat.macgregor@utoronto.ca)

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Select the 'Search' tab at the top of the screen. Then select 'Search Form' on the far left to search.

Includes articles from 12,000+ news sources from around the world. Sources includes newspapers, newswires, and industry & professional journals, as well as press releases, blog posts, and other media. Offers a complete archive of The Globe and Mail, Wall Street Journal and other leading newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes newspapers, periodicals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs. A good complement to Factiva.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Useful for finding articles from Canadian smaller city or regional newspapers. If you are researching local firms or Canadian subsidiaries of foreign-owned parent companies, this might surface information not found in Factiva or Nexis Uni.

University of Toronto Libraries: Research Guide: Newspapers
Use this guide to identify and link to other Library resources for news from around the world.