Innovation Management @ UTM

The Li Koon Chun Finance Learning Centre (FLC) is a library space embedded within the Innovation Complex that offers specialized software and research tools for IMI students. 

The FLC is located on the Lower Level of the Innovation Complex. Take the stairs located to the left of the Registrar's Help Desk and continue tpast the elevators once you get downstairs and then turn right.  Then just look for the 'Bay Street' sign!

The FLC offers:

• 44 individual dual-screen workstations (all updated in summer 2022)
• Access to over 25 databases and software for business, economic, accounting, tax, and data analysis
• A reading area with current business periodicals
• Workshops to introduce students to two key databases, FactSet and Bloomberg, and free certification programs associated with these two tools

Remote access to most software and databases is available when the FLC is closed.  Please note that Bloomberg is only available for in-person use.

Please consult the FLC's website for information about the FLC's hours and the software and research tools available there.

Two key FLC-only databases useful to MMI students are:

• Bloomberg
• FactSet

Bloomberg is a licensed database that offers:

• Coverage and analysis of public companies/equities: news, financials, profile information, filings and more
• Analysis of 130+ industries in 10 sectors, including pharma, biotech, medical devices and manufacturing, through Bloomberg Intelligence (also includes 3rd-party licensed data)
• Charting, screening and analysis tools

Bloomberg is only available in-person, on three dedicated terminals within the FLC; it is not available online.  Please consult this Bloomberg Quick Start Guide for information about access to Bloomberg.

FactSet is a licensed database that can be used to research and analyze companies, deals and markets. It provides tools for charting, screening, and analysis that are similar to those offered by Bloomberg.

To request a free account, please email utm.lkcflc@utoronto.ca with the following information:

• Your first and last name
• Your U of T email address (e.g. joan.wong@mail.utoronto.ca)
• Your expected date of graduation
• Your program name

FactSet is available in two versions:

• FactSet Web, which works with all operating systems (PC, Mac, Android)
• FactSet Workstation, which only works with PCs but includes an Excel plug-in and templates for those who have the software loaded on their computer

Please specify which version of FactSet you are requesting in your email. If you do not, you will be issued an account for FactSet Web.