Research guides: Innovation Management @ UTM: INDUSTRY, COMPANY &amp; MARKET RESEARCH

INDUSTRY, COMPANY & MARKET RESEARCH

Key resources for company, industry and market research are listed below. If you can't find what you need, please contact your liaison librarian (cat.macgregor@utoronto.ca) for assistance.

Please also consult the FLC Resources page of this guide for information about Bloomberg and FactSet. These two databases offer robust information about companies and industries that you won't find elsewhere:

Bloomberg Intelligence offers insights and proprietary third-party data for 100s of industries, including pharma, devices and life sciences
- Type BI <GO> (or the Enter key) to access this module
FactSet offers a Drugs database that tracks news and developments for prescription drugs, biologics, and pipeline candidates
- Type @DRUGS to load this database

Statista
A specialized search engine or portal for statistics. Includes data for 170 industries and 150+ countries. Sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals and government databases. Also includes reports with consumer and technology forecasts, trend reports, brand and company rankings, and other packaged reports. Use the sources referenced for each statistic to identify other avenues for research outside the database.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
The self-proclaimed "largest provider of industry information in the U.S." Use this resource for Canadian, US and global industry research reports. Also includes coverage of specialized or niche industries (US only). Reports include hard-to-find data items like industry cost structure or industry ratios. Reports can be searched by keyword or browsed. Reports can be downloaded in PDF, Word or Excel.

SimplyAnalytics
Create thematic maps and tables using 100s of Canadian and US demographic and psychographic variables, as well as business point data from Dun & Bradstreet. No GIS experience required! Includes Statistics Canada and US Census Bureau health data.
Passport GMID
Reports and statistics by industry, company and country from the Euromonitor market research firm. Passport focuses on consumer-facing industries, with coverage of categories ranging from pet food to travel to luxury goods to consumer health. Statistics include current and forecast market share by both product and brand. Also includes ethical labels information.
MarketResearch.com Academic
The academic version of a commercial market research aggregator. Includes Kalorama Information's market research reports which focus on healthcare, pharma and biotech. Freedonia, Packaged Facts and Simba reports are also valuable for their coverage of manufacturing and service industries, consumer industries and demographics, and publishing and education markets respectively.
Gartner
Garter offers technology-focused analysis, insights and forecasts for multiple industries, including healthcare (providers and payers). Use the Advanced Search option to filter by industry. Look for Hype Cycle, Cool Vendor, Market Analysis and other reports.

Click on the 'myGartner Login' button to access.
Frost & Sullivan
Frost & Sullivan provides access to international market and technology research and analysis in 15 major sectors ranging from healthcare and ICT to telecom and transportation, with a focus on new market opportunities and disruptive technologies. Reports can now be downloaded in PDF format by all users.

eMarketer This link opens in a new window
eMarketer is a media and marketing data resource for digital marketing, social media, advertising, and e-commerce. It includes charts, reports, performance benchmark data, articles, and other content from a range of third-party and proprietary data sources. Includes reports and data for Canada, US and international.
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Research and information about companies and industries in emerging markets. Company information sources include directories, profiles (see MarketLine reports in particular), and news. Industry information includes analyses and reports - look for reports from BMI, Marketline and Budde.
Investext This link opens in a new window
A database of sell-side investment research that can be accessed as a tab on the Mergent Online platform. It includes reports on companies and industries produced by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses, and research firms. Also includes reports from specialized research providers such as MarketLine and GlobalData (company and industry).
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company data for 35,000+ Canadian, US and international public companies. Includes SEC (US) and SEDAR (CDN) filings, as well as current and historical annual reports. Supports analysis of multiple companies.

Pitchbook
Pitchbook is a venture capital, private equity and M&A database. Coverage includes start-ups, global markets, proprietary research and analysis.
Note: users will need to create an account to access.