Research Guides: Chemistry: Finding Properties, Substances and Reactions

Chemistry Properties and Reactions Handbooks and Resources

Chemical Properties & Toxicities

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free, online chemical database offering access to physical and chemical properties, molecular structure, spectral data, synthetic methods, safety information, and nomenclature for almost 25 million unique chemical compounds sourced and linked to almost 400 separate data sources on the Web. (Description from ACS Publications).
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook is a comprehensive, up-to-date resources for chemistry, physics and other scientific fields. It includes information on physical constants of organic compounds, thermochemistry, properties of the elements and inorganic compounds, electrochemistry and kinetics, fluid properties, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, and more.
Material Safety Data Sheet
The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety database of Safety Data Sheets.
Combined Chemical Dictionaries
Spanning the breadth of chemistry, the Combined Chemical Dictionary provides access to chemical, physical and structural data on organic compounds, natural products, inorganic and organometallic compounds, and drugs. (description from Taylor and Francis).
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
The Dictionary of Organic Compounds is a resource for synthetic reagents, starting materials, fundamental compounds of simple structure, pesticides, and commonly used chemicals. (Description adapted from Taylor and Francis).
Dictionary of Drugs
Presenting accurate, up-to-date and concise information on currently marketed drugs, those undergoing clinical trials, and pharmacological tools, Dictionary of Drugs is a one-stop resource for the medicinal chemist. (Description from Taylor and Francis).
Dictionary of Natural Products
Dictionary of Natural Products database is the most comprehensive source of natural product information available. Additionally, each natural product is linked, via the species name, to Catalog of Life (www.catalogoflife.org), thereby providing authoritative taxonomic information. (Description adapted from Taylor and Francis).
Merck Index 13th Edition
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of key physical, pharmacological and historical information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. (Description adapted from The Royal Chemical Society).
Knovel Search
Knovel contains engineering-focused reference works and textbooks. Users can find data hidden in tables, graphs, and equations. Includes interactive tables, equation plotters, charts and graphs that can be manipulated and exported into other tools such as Excel. (Description from University of Alberta).
Knovel Critical Tables
This interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. Each table is fully interactive and searchable by keyword and numeric property value. The thermodynamic tables feature an Equation Plotter that graphically represents the temperature correlation relationships and allows for easy calculation and plotting of the properties. (Description adapted from preface).
DOSE - Dictionary of Substances and their Effects
DOSE contains data on chemicals which are known to have significant toxic or environmental effects. Information includes occupational exposure limits for 6 countries, recent toxicity and ecotoxicity data, results of new carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and environmental fate studies. (Description adapted from The Royal Chemical Society).
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
The list of potentially hazardous materials includes drugs, food additives, preservatives, ores, pesticides, dyes, detergents, lubricants, soaps, plastics, extracts from plant and animal sources, plants and animals that are toxic by contact or consumption, and industrial intermediates and waste products from production processes. (Description from introduction).
Sittig's Handbook of Toxins and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens is an accessible reference on hazardous materials that features synonyms for each chemical and relevant US and EU data. (Description adapted from ScienceDirect).

WebCSD This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) is a resource for chemistry data, software, and knowledge for materials and life sciences research and development. It contains fully curated organic and metal-organic structures utilized by researchers worldwide. (Description adapted from the CCDC).

NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory
The Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML), a major operating unit of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), sets the definitive U.S. standards for nearly every kind of measurement in modern life. PML is a world leader in the science of physical measurement, devising procedures and tools that make continual progress possible. This resource provide access to data from the NIST PML. (Description adapted from NIST).
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)
Includes many useful physical properties such as thermal heat, specific heat, properties of fibers, wood, density, compressibility, Temperature, Pressure, Volume, and Weight Relations of Gases, Weight Relations and many more properties.
NIST Reference of Constants, Units and Uncertainty
This database gives values of the basic constants and conversion factors of physics and chemistry resulting from the 2022 least-squares adjustment of the fundamental physical constants as published by the CODATA Task Group on Fundamental Constants and recommended for international use by CODATA. (Description from NIST).
Yaw's Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists
Useful properties in a table for both organic inorganic compounds such as Molecular weight, freezing point, boiling point, density and physical state. Also present are data for dipole moment, radius of gyration, Van Der Waal area and volume as well as other thermodynamic and thermophysical properties.

Guides to Finding Property Data

Can't find the data points you were looking for in the usual places? Check these guides to see if they're in a free online resource or a print book.

University of Texas Thermodex
ThermoDex contains ~300 annotated bibliographic records that describe printed (hardcopy) compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances. ThermoDex is a "finding aid" designed to save you time in searching through numerous handbooks you might have in your library. (Description from University of Texas Libraries).
Finding Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Find suggested sources for physical and chemical propertie data. Especially helpful when starting literature research, or when looking for obscure property data. Links on this page are for Vanderbilt University, please use UofT LibrarySearch to check for UofT access.

Spectral Data

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Search using the "Explore Substances" tab to find spectral data for a particular structure.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Use the "Substances and Properties" tab to find spectral data on a particular substance.

The Aldrich library of infrared spectra by Pouchert, Charles J.
Call Number: QC457 .A43 1975
This resource presents a large number of spectra on each of the important organic functional groups along with a short written description and graphic representation of their spectral features for the purpose of review by the average chemist who is not a specialist in infrared spectroscopy. (Description adapted from preface).
UV-VIS Atlas of Organic Compounds by Heinz-Helmut Perkampus
Call Number: QC462.85 .P47 1992
This is an invaluable source of information: 1175 critically selected and evaluated UV-VIS spectra of organic and inorganic compounds. This critical, comprehensive yet compact collection of absorption spectra will be of lasting value to both the specialist and non-specialist.
The Sadtler Handbook of Infrared Spectra by Sadtler Research Labs, Inc., Staff
Call Number: QC453 .S35 1978
This is an abridged edition of the Sadtler Standard Spectra, IR Grating intended to be a convenient collection of infrared spectra of organic compounds relevant to college introductory courses and a reference for those in industry. It contains approximately 3000 spectra organised in chemical class order. (Description adapted from preface).
Aldrich Library of FTIR Spectra by Sigma Aldrich; Wiley
Call Number: QD96 .I5 P66 1985
Library of FT-IR spectra that contains spectra for nearly 18,500 compounds arranged by functionality.
Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-NMR Spectra by Charles Pouchert
Call Number: QC462.85 .A44 1993
This three volume set of 12,000 high-resolution 75MHz 13C and 300MHz 1H FT-NMR spectra is arranged according to functionality. The Library contains CNMR and HNMR spectra of 11,828 organic compounds as well as information about their physico-chemical properties. (Description adapted from preface).
The Sadtler Handbook of Proton NMR Spectra by Sadtler Research Labs, Inc., Staff
Call Number: QC454 .N8 S2
This second volume of the Sadtler Handbook of NMR Spectra contains the indices for the spectra appearing in the first volume. In addition to the book order index (functional group order) and the alphabetical index, this volume contains the Sadtler Chemical Shift Index. Both the Infrared Spec-Finder and the NMR Chemical Shift Indices, are useful means of locating a matching reference spectrum. (Description adapted from preface).
The Sadtler Handbook of Ultraviolet Spectra by Sadtler Research Labs, Inc., Staff; William Simons (Editor)
Call Number: QC459 .S25 1979
This resource is intended to be a convenient collection of infrared spectra of organic compounds relevant to college introductory courses and a reference for those in industry. It contains over 2000 spectra representing the neutral, base and acid scans for 1600 compounds. (Description adapted from preface).
Atlas of mass spectra data by Stenhagen, E., Abrahamsson S., McLafferty F. W.
Call Number: QC453 .S75
This Atlas contains low resolution mass spectra that have been contributed by a large number of organizations or individual research workers. The have all been produced by electron-bombardment ionization. (Description adapted from preface).
The Infrared Spectra Atlas of Monomers and Polymers by Sadtler Research Laboratories Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: QC463 .P5 I53 1980
Sadtler has compiled a desk reference collection of monomers, polymers and precursors commonly encountered in both industry and academia. This Atlas contains 2000 infrared spectra selected to help satisfy a high percentage of analytical applications for this area of technology. (Description adapted from introduction).
Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts, Four-Volume Set by Richard A. Nyquist; Ronald O. Kagel; Curtis L. Putzig; M. Anne Leugers
Call Number: QC457 .N927 1997X
This four-volume handbook presents unique data of infrared and Raman spectra that are extremely useful for the analysis of inorganic compounds and organic salts. The spectra charts as presented in the volumes may be used to facilitate spectra-structure identification of most compounds, while cross-indexing of data allows for easy comparison of infrared and Raman spectra of the same compound.
Handbook of Spectroscopy by James W. Robinson
Call Number: QD95 .H27
The principle objective of this handbook is to provide a readily accessible source of information on the major fields of spectroscopy. Specifically, these fields are NMR, IR, Raman, UV (absorption and fluorescence), ESCA, X-Ray (absorption diffraction fluorescence), mass spectrometry, atomic absorption, flame photometry, emission spectrography, and flame spectroscopy. It will be of particular use to analytical, organic, inorganic chemists or spectroscopists wishing to identify materials or compounds.
Tabulation of Infrared Spectral Data by David Dolphin, Alexander Wick
Call Number: QC457 .D64
This is a tabulation of infrared spectral data that is intended to simplify the collection of sufficient examples to solve a problem. The beginning of each chapter provides a brief description of the teric, electronic and solvent-solvent interactions which bring about changes to characteristic group frequencies. (Description adapted from preface).
Proton and Carbon NMR Spectra of Polymers by Pham/Petisud/wa
Call Number: QC463 .P5 P43 1991
This work contains 458 NMR spectra with associated analytical notes covering acrylics, amides, dienes, ethers, olefins, siloxins, styrenes and derivatives, urethanes, vinyls, vinylidenes, and others. The spectra obtained are either 1H or 13C. Each entry provides details of the chemical structure of the analyzed sample, in addition to analytical conditions including nucleus, frequency, spectrometer, detection technique, solvent, temperature, reference, lock and, where appropriate, flip angle.
Compilation of mass spectral data = Index de spectres de masse by Cornu, A., Massot R.
Call Number: QC453 .C66 1975
This work presents several classification of the principle parameters of 10,000 mass spectra and facilitates the identification and analysis of organic compounds by mass spectroscopy. (Description from summary).

Synthesis

Inorganic Syntheses
The Inorganic Syntheses series is published to provide all users of inorganic substances with detailed and foolproof procedures for the preparation of important and timely compounds. (Description from Inorganic Synthesis).
Organic Syntheses
Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction with its characterization data has been repeated several times and carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors. (Description from Organic Syntheses).

Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry. It combines the information in Houben-Weyl (literature from 1800+) and the newer reviews of the literature from 2000+ in the Science of Synthesis series.

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry by R. Bruce King et al.
Call Number: QD148 .E53 1994
Examines the six major areas of inorganic chemistry: physical and theoretical methods, organometallic chemistry, main group elements, solid state chemistry, transition metals and bioinorganic chemistry. Contains comprehensive cross-referencing as well as lists of related articles for further reading. Extensively illustrated, it provides an introduction to each article, making the encyclopedia easy to use.

Organic Chemistry

Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry. (Description from Science of Synthesis).
Pharmaceutical Substances This link opens in a new window
Pharmaceutical Substances is designed to be a complete reference guide to every pharmaceutical compound of significance. It provides a compendium of more than 2,800 active pharmaceutical ingredients (API's) of interest to the chemical and pharmaceutical industries. (Description from Pharmaceutical Substances).

Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry
Heterocyclic compounds include all nucleic acids, many vitamins, sugars, hormones, antibiotics and other synthetic pharmaceuticals, most dyes, pesticides and weedkillers. (Description from ScienceDirect).
Handbook of Porphyrin Science
Resource on Porphyrin science. Porphyrins, phthalocyanines and their numerous analogues and derivatives are materials of tremendous importance in chemistry, materials science, physics, biology and medicine.
Handbook of Heterogenous Catalysis
This handbook collects the available knowledge on heterogeneous catalysis and provides the reader with easy-to-find yet comprehensive information. With contributions from more than 200 leading experts from all over the world it covers all aspects of the subject, from physico-chemical foundations to large-scale industrial applications. (Description from Wiley).
Organic Synthesis
Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction with its characterization data has been repeated several times and carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors. (Description from Organic Syntheses).
Organic Reactions
Organic Reactions is a comprehensive online resource for synthetic organic chemists. It focuses on ca. 300 of the most important and useful synthetic reaction types. Individual examples of each reaction type are cataloged and reviewed by trained chemists (rather than machine selected), resulting in a high quality critical discussion of the scope, selectivity, practicality, and reproducibility of a given reaction. (Description from WIley).
Organic Reaction Mechanisms
A complete survey of organic reaction literature by leading experts in the field drawing on key developments during the year. Mechanisms for the synthesis of all types of organic compounds are included as well as such mechanisms as addition and elimination reactions, nucleophilic and electrophilic aromatic substitutions, oxidation/reduction and molecular rearrangements. (Description from Wiley).

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis, 14 Volume Set by Philip L. Fuchs et al.
Call Number: QD77 .E53 2009
This work contains 50,000 reactions and 4,111 reagents. Each entry contains, where available: CAS numbers InChI and InChIKeys Alternative names and structures. Details on availability and physical properties, including solubility, form in which it's supplied, purification methods, form obtainable in purification and preparation methods.
Comprehensive Organic Transformations by Richard C. Larock
This guide offers an encyclopedic and systematic collection of useful synthetic methodology, including tens of thousands of reactions and synthetic transformations.
Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis, Volume 16 by Mary Fieser, Louis F. Fieser
Call Number: QD262 .F5
The series on reagents for organic synthesis provides concise descriptions, good structural formulas and selected examples of applications. Thousands of entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more Reagents are considered in alphabetical order by common usage names.
Theilheimer's synthetic methods of organic chemistry by Theilheimer, William
Call Number: QD262 .S9532
Each volume provides the organic chemist with an indispensable educational tool both for researching and browsing recent literature highlights in a way that is entirely complementary with searching electronic reaction databases. (description from Karger Publications).
Comprehensive Biological Catalysis by Michael Sinnott (Editor)
Call Number: QP601 .C738 1998X
Comprehensive Biological Catalysis: A Mechanistic Reference offers a comprehensive review of enzyme catalysis from a chemical perspective. The first volume concentrates on reactions of electrophilic carbon, phosphorous and sulfur. Volume Two provides reactions of nucleophilic/carbanoid carbon. Volume Three highlights radical reactions and oxidation/reduction. The final volume, or the chemical lexicon, consists of clear explanations of alphabetically-arranged specialized terms and concepts.
Named Organic Reactions by Thomas Laue; Andreas Plagens
Call Number: QD291 .L3513 2005
This Second edition contains information on 134 named organic reactions - the standard set of undergraduate and graduate synthetic organic chemistry courses. Each reaction is detailed with clearly drawn mechanisms, references from the primary literature, and accounts covering the mechanical aspects of the reactions, and the details of side reactions and substrate limitations. For the 2nd edition the text has been revised and updated, and four new reactions have been added: Baylis-Hillmann Reaction, Sonogashira Reaction, Pummerer Reaction, and the Swern Oxidation und Cyclopropanation.

Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry

Spectroscopic Properties of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
Divided into sections mainly according to the particular spectroscopic technique used, coverage in each volume includes: NMR (with reference to stereochemistry, dynamic systems, paramagnetic complexes, solid state NMR and Groups 13-18); nuclear quadrupole resonance spectroscopy; vibrational spectroscopy of main group and transition element compounds and coordinated ligands; and electron diffraction. (Description from Royal Society of Chemistry).
Comprehensive nanoscience and technology
Comprehensive Nanoscience and Technology, Second Edition, Five Volume Set allows researchers to navigate a very diverse, interdisciplinary and rapidly-changing field with up-to-date, comprehensive and authoritative coverage of every aspect of modern nanoscience and nanotechnology.
Comprehensive coordination chemistry II
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II (CCC II) is the sequel to what has become a classic in the field, Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry, published in 1987. CCC II builds on the first and surveys new developments authoritatively in over 200 newly commissioned chapters, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest. (Description from Science Direct).
Handbook of heterogeneous catalysis
This handbook collects the available knowledge on heterogeneous catalysis and provides the reader with easy-to-find yet comprehensive information. With contributions from more than 200 leading experts from all over the world it covers all aspects of the subject, from physico-chemical foundations to large-scale industrial applications. (Description from Wiley Online Library).

Comprehensive inorganic chemistry (vols 1, 2, 4, 5) by J. C. Bailar et al.
Call Number: QD151.2 .C64
This treatise was made to fill a gap in the literature and be of service to a wide range of readers many of whom are would not be professional chemists. (Description adapted from preface).
Comprehensive inorganic chemistry (vols 4-8) by Sneed, Mayce, Cannon
Call Number: QD151 .S68 1953
This treatise was made to fill a gap in the literature and be of service to a wide range of readers many of whom are would not be professional chemists. (Description adapted from preface).
A comprehensive treatise on inorganic and theoretical chemistry
Call Number: QD31 .M52
This work aims at giving a complete description of all the compounds known in Inorganic Chemistry, and where possible, these are discussed in the light of the so-called Physical Chemistry. (Description adapted from preface).

Analytical Chemistry

ACS Reagent Chemicals
Standard-grade reference materials are suitable for preparation of analytical standards used for a variety of applications, including instrument calibration, quality control, analyte identification, method performance, and other applications requiring high-purity materials. (Description from ACS Publications).
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science
This work includes comprehensive coverage of techniques used for the determination of specific elements, compounds and groups of compounds, in physical or biological matrices. It addresses applications of chemical analysis in all areas, ranging from such topics as medicine to environmental science, and geology to food science. (Description from SienceDirect).

Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry by Robert A. Meyers
Call Number: QD71.5 .E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques. The level of detail of the chemistry and techniques is similar to that of a lab protocol and together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers.
Vogel's Quantitative Chemical Analysis by J. Mendham et al.
Call Number: QD101 .V6 2000
Analysts need to understand the concepts behind methods and Vogel's Quantitative Chemical Analysis provides clear introductions to all the key analytical methods including those involving advanced computerised equipment available in many analytical laboratories.
Vogel's Textbook of Quantitative Inorganic Analysis, Including Elementary Instrumental Analysis by A. I. Vogel; J. Bassett
Call Number: QD101 .V6 1978
This book aims to be a complete up-to-date textbook of quantitative inorganic analysis, both theory and practice. It is believed that the material contained therein is sufficiently comprehensive to cover the syllabuses of all examinations in which quantitative inorganic analysis plays a part. (Description from First Edition preface).
Vogel's Qualitative Inorganic Analysis by G. Svehla
Call Number: QD81 .V6 1996
Vogel's Qualitative Inorganic Analysis includes many new features as well as details on the preparation of reagents, which are consolidated in the Appendix to assist laboratory staff. All tests are explained by chemical equations and, where necessary, with comments on the equilibrium and kinetics. The detailed descriptions of techniques allows the use of the book outside organised classes.
Vogel's Textbook of Practical Organic Chemistry by A. I. Vogel et al.
Call Number: QD261 .V63 1989
The prepresent volume is an attempt to give to students of practical organic chemistry the benefit of some twenty years' experience in research and teaching the subject. In compiling this book, the author has drawn freely from all sources of information available to him - research notes, original memoirs in scientific journals, reference works on organic chemistry, the numerous textbooks on practical organic chemistry and pamphlets of the manufacturers of specialized apparatus. (Description from First Edition preface).

Polymer Chemistry

Polymer handbook
This one-stop reference, brings together all the data needed in theoretical and experimental polymer research. It is designed so the scientist doesn't have to search through multitudes of literature for information on polymers. Available online and in print.
Polymer Blends Handbook
The Polymer Blends Handbook is a fundamental reference work on polymer blends, covering all aspects: science, engineering, technology and application. It will appeal to anyone working in the field of blends, researchers as well as engineers. The Handbook is designed to be the source of information on all aspects of polymer blends. (Description from Springer)

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering by Herman F. Mark et al.
Call Number: TP1087 .E46 1985
Descriptions and discussions of topics relating to polymer science and engineering.
Comprehensive Polymer Science Series by Geoffrey Allen; J. C. Bevington
Call Number: QD381 .C66 1989
The seven volumes of this reference work provide a clear and systematic treatment of all aspects of the subject from synthetic chemistry, characterization, physical properties and chemical reactions to processing and applications. Each volume reflects the truly important facets of modern polymer science, with the information presented in a concise and logical manner.

Solubilities

Solubility data can be found in a number of different formats. Some reference sources list solubilities of a chemical as Slightly, Very, and Insoluble for various solvents. Other sources will list solubility in g/kg, g/L, weight%, etc at different temperatures.

Some reference books will have both types of data in different parts of the book: for example, the CRC Handbook has basic solubility data in the properties sections at the front of the book but also has more detailed tables further on.

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
This famous handbook continues to provide current, critically evaluated chemical and physical data in a one-volume format. A goldmine of information, this reference work has grown over the years from 113 pages in the first edition, published in 1913, to the 2712 pages in the current edition, which includes a foreword by the well-known neurologist Oliver Sacks. (Description from ACS Publications).
Handbook of aqueous solubility data
Until the first publication of the Handbook of Aqueous Solubility Data, solubility information from different fields been scattered throughout numerous sources. Now newly revised, the second edition of this volume provides an extensive compilation of published aqueous solubility data for a wide variety of organic nonelectrolytes and unionized weak electrolytes.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by John A. Dean
Call Number: TP151 .L3 1999
A comprehensive handbook of chemistry, this text provides a compilation of facts, data, tabular material and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. This edition of the book includes a new section on separation methods and analytical chemistry as well as many other revisions.
Solubilities of inorganic and organic compounds by H. Stephen, T. Stephen
Call Number: QD543 .M7213
This manual containing approximately 5500 pages is a selection from the International Chemical Literature on the Solubilities of Elements, Inorganic Compounds, Metallo-organic and Organic Compounds in Binary, Ternary and Multi-compenent Systems. A careful survey of the Literature in all languages by the U.S.S.R. Academy of Science, Moscow has made the compilation of this work possible (Description from introduction).
Solubilities, inorganic and metal-organic compounds; a compilation of solubility data from periodical literature by William F Link
Call Number: QD66 .L55 1958
In the present edition of this series, Chemical Abstracts has been used as the starting point for locating all of the new data. The Abstracts were searched column by column, for articles containing solubility data, and copies of the original publications were then obtained. This edition has a complete compound index, which permits the location of any data without searching the alphabetical tables. (Description adapted from preface).

General Topics

Purification of laboratory chemicals
Purification of Laboratory Chemicals, Eighth Edition, tabulates methods taken from literature for purifying thousands of individual commercially available chemicals. Features empirical formulae inserted for every entry, references all important applications of each substance, provides increased coverage of the latest commercial chemical products, including pharmaceutical chemicals, updated safety and hazard material, and expanded coverage of laboratory and work practices and purification methods

Techniques of Chemistry by Royce W. Murray
Call Number: QD61 .T4
A large and detailed volume on the design and control of the molecular character of electrode surfaces. Leading research scholars have contributed material dealing with the development and understanding of molecularly designed electrodes. Topics include: catalysis at coated electrodes, clay and zeolite layers, adsorption on electrode surfaces, electronically conducting polymers and more.

Crystallography

International Tables for Crystallography by H. Fuess et al.
Call Number: QD908 .I56 2005
Each volume in the series contains articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals.
Handbook of Crystal Growth Vol I by Tatau Nishinaga
Call Number: QD921 .H32 2015Y
Volume IA highlights thermodynamics and kinetics. After historical introduction of the crystal growth, phase equilibria, defect thermodynamics, stoichiometry, and shape of crystal and structure of melt are described. Then, the most fundamental and basic aspects of crystal growth are presented, along with the theories of nucleation and growth kinetics.
Handbook of Crystal Growth vol II by Peter Rudolph (Editor)
Call Number: H325 2014Y
Vol 2A: Basic Technologies Handbook of Crystal Growth, Second Edition Volume IIA (Basic Technologies) presents basic growth technologies and modern crystal cutting methods. Particularly, the methodical fundamentals and development of technology in the field of bulk crystallization on both industrial and research scales are explored.
Numerical Data and Functional Relationships in Science and Technology by C. Bauhofer et al.
Call Number: QC 61 .L332 Index 1999
This volume is High Frequency Properties of Dielectric Crystals. It contains piezooptic and elastooptic constants, linear and quadratic electrooptic constants and their temperature coefficients and relevant refractive indices. (Description from preface).

Encyclopedia

Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Call Number: QD5 .V36 2005
Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics.

Dictionaries

Scientifically Speaking
Call Number: Q173 .S428 2000 REF
In these days of ever-increasing specialization, it is important to gain a broad appreciation of science. Entertaining and informative, Scientifically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations, Second Edition contains the words and wisdom of several hundred scientists, writers, philosophers, poets, and academics.
Russian-English Dictionary of Chemistry and Chemical Technology
Call Number: QD5 .H6 REF
Russian-English dictionary focused on theoretical and applied chemistry, chemical technology, metallurgy, ceramics, fermentation and light industry. The user is assumed to have a modicum of familiarity with Russian grammar and vocabulary. (Description adapted from preface).
Elsevier's Dictionary of Chemistry. Russian English
Call Number: QD5 .M262 1993 REF
This dictionary offers a wide variety of terms occurring in agricultural chemistry, applied chemistry, analytical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, biochemistry, petrochemistry, polymer chemistry, plastics, minerals, and related fields. In addition to chemical terms, the dictionary contains terms covering laboratory equipment and instruments, most frequently used general-purpose vocabulary, as well as abbreviations found in Russian-language literature dealing with chemistry in the broadest sense.
Patterson's German-English Dictionary for Chemists
Call Number: QD5 .P3 1992 REF
With expanded coverage and new terms, this work captures the wealth of scientific discoveries made in the last four decades, including the DNA double helix, practical computers and microelectronic devices, plate tectonics and man in space. Once again German and English-speaking scientists and engineers have an up-to-date and authoritative resource for understanding each other's language.
A French-English Dictionary for Chemists
Call Number: QD5 .P25 1954 REF
French-English dictionary for chemists, originally intended to be a companion to the author's German-English dictionary for chemists. The second edition contains 42,000 terms about chemistry and related fields. (Description adapted from preface).
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Call Number: QD251 .D49 1965 INDEX
The Dictionary of Organic Compounds contains concise chemical, structural, and bibliographic information on the most important organic compounds. These cover a wide range of commonly used chemicals, synthetic reagents, pesticides, starting materials, and simple fundamental compounds, plus a selection of natural products, pharmaceuticals, and analytical reagents. (Description from the University of Alberta).
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds
Call Number: QD411 .D53 1984 REF
The aim of this publication is to review the whole field of organometallic chemistry, to select those compounds which are in the opinion of the specialist Editors most typical, representative, interesting and useful or potentially useful, and to present their properties and selected biographies. (Description from preface).
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: QD415 .A25 O94 2000 REF
This book provides a survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology in the form of a dictionary. It gives the meanings of many terms used in molecular biology and describes the essential features of over approximately 2,000 enzymes and proteins, describing the reactions they catalyse or functions they perform, and includes filenames that facilitate the location of entries in databases of sequences.
Chemical and Technological Dictionary of Biological Sciences English-French
Call Number: QP512 .D87 1996 REF
French-English dictionary with an emphasis on pharmacy, pharmacology, biochemistry, toxicology, genetics, bioengineering and other life science related fields. The second edition contains 11,800 terms as well as many chemical, biochemical or technical acronyms. (Description adapted from preface).
Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology
Call Number: R121 .J86 2002 REF
Updated to include new terminology and accurate characterizations of previously existing terms, the Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology, Second Edition provides easy access to the most commonly used drugs, antibiotics, and bio-chemically important compounds.

Finding the full text or Table of Contents

To browse a journal's Table of Contents, search for the journal name and limit to online. To find an article, try searching by title or searching by DOI using LibrarySearch. If you're using Chrome, Microsoft Edge or Firefox, install an extension called LibKey Nomad to quickly and easily link to the PDF of articles that you have access to through U of T or that are openly accessible.

Change your settings on Google Scholar so that "Get it! UTL" link appears next to articles in your search results. Clicking this link should now direct you tp the full-text PDF if you have access to it through U of T.

Have a citation and can't decipher the journal abbreviation? Try these links:

UBC Journal Abbreviations - enter abbreviation to expand to full title
- periods are important e.g., use J. Chem. Ed. not J Chem Ed
CAS Source Index (CASSI) - search by title or abbreviation

If you still can't find the article, it doesn't necessarily mean we don't have it! Ask your librarian for help.

If U of T does not have the article you are looking for in either the print or electronic version, request the article by logging into LibrarySearch.

Once you are logged in, there are two ways to request an article:

If you already know what you need, place a request using the blank interlibrary loan request form.
Alternatively, expand you LibrarySearch results beyond library collections and place a request on any listed item not held by the U of T Libraries.

Interested in exploring what other libraries beyond the University of Toronto may have to offer? Try searching WorldCat, the world's largest library catalogue, to find books and more available in libraries around the world.

DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier, and it looks something like this: 10.1002/anie.201003214. DOIs are used to uniquely identify and locate a particular publication. You can bring up the full text of a particular article by entering the DOI in LibrarySearch.

You can also use a DOI to create a permanent link. Click here to read more about DOIs.

LibrarySearch is the best place to determine if we own a specific book or journal. Almost all libraries at U of T include their materials in the main catalogue. Searching for chemistry specific information such as chemical names, molecular formulas or properties is not very effective in the catalogue since the key words are limited.(SciFinder and Reaxys are much better at this).

If you are unable to find a book or journal in the catalogue, please check with library staff as if may be part of a collection or series. If we do not have what you need, we can request it on your behalf from another institution through interlibrary loan (ILL).

If what you need is at another U of T campus, it can be delivered within 48 hours to the main library at your campus for pickup by submitting a pickup request.

See a list of books available online in the UTL catalogue.

Or, try searching the following ebook collections:

Research Guides

Chemistry

Contact

Chemistry Properties and Reactions Handbooks and Resources

Chemical Properties & Toxicities

Encyclopedia

Finding the full text or Table of Contents

Books & eBooks

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us