Skip to main content

Research Guides

Chemistry

A guide to chemistry resources and the A.D. Allen Chemistry Library.

A.D. Allen Chemistry Library Information

Hours and Location

Location on Campus Map

Rm 480, 80 St George Street (4th floor in Davenport Research Wing)

HOURS:

Sep - Apr
Mon - Thurs: 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Fri: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
May - Jun
Mon - Fri: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Summer hours (Jul-Aug)
Mon - Fri: 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

 

There are 5 study rooms that can be booked during our open hours. All have electrical outlets and blackboards

The rooms are 

  • Caffeine - largest room - can seat 6 people 
  • Theobromine - holds 4-6 people
  • Seratonin - holds 3-4 people
  • Acetylcholine - holds 1-2 people
  • Dopamine - holds 2-4 people

The Library closes on Fridays at 5 pm. Only key holders may book a room after 5pm on Fridays - all others will be asked to leave.

Booking Policies:

  • Occupancy Minimum: 2 persons per room. If you are using a study room by yourself during peak hours, you may be asked to leave and after repeated infractions, your booking privileges may be revoked.
  • Group bookings are restricted to U of T students, staff, and faculty with a valid UTORid.
  • Rooms can be booked for up to 3 hours per session and a maximum of 5 hours per day.
  • Rooms can be booked up to 2 weeks in advance.
  • If you are unable to use your booking, please delete it!
  • Those who have booked a room have priority for use of the room with the following exceptions:
    • The first hour of a booking will be forfeited if you arrive later than 15 minutes UNLESS library staff is notified or it is changed online.
    • A group vacating a group study room for breaks longer than 20 minutes will forfeit the room.

Code of Conduct:

  • Rooms are for studying and academic group work.
  • Individuals or groups using a bookable group study room should be prepared to move to accommodate those who have booked the room.
  • Please keep the study rooms clean. If there is a mess, please notify front desk.
  • Study rooms are not sound-proof; please be respectful of others in the area while using the rooms.
  • Everyone using the study rooms is expected to honour the Library Conduct Regulations.

Disclaimer: The University of Toronto Libraries are not responsible for loss or damage of items left unattended in the room.

 

BORROWING PRIVILEGES/RESTRICTIONS:

Loans are available to patrons holding valid U of T library cards; non-U of T patrons may use the collection within the library during open hours. 

Regular books circulate for 2 weeks to undergraduates (with 5 renewals) and 8 weeks (with 3 renewals) to grad students, staff and faculty.

Journals and reference materials do not circulate.


Some course-related material is for in-library use or on overnight reserve (available after 4 pm for loan and MUST be returned by 10 am the next open day). You can reserve overnight material at the circulation desk up to a week in advance.  Note: if you borrow a book on Friday at 4 pm, it is due Monday at 10 am.

If U of T does not have a book or journal article you need, we can get it for you from another university library in Canada, the US or the world. This service is free.

Please check with a librarian first before ordering as we may have the item just under a different name or from a different source.

We use a system called RACER to order and track requests.

Create your RACER login using your Library barcode number (found under the barcode on your TCard) and PIN (usually the last four digits of your student number). Then you can either search for your item in the RACER combined catalogue or just enter all the info you know in the "Blank Request" form in the left hand column.

If ordering a book, you will get an email telling you to pick it up at Robarts (for the St George Campus) or at your campus library. If it is a journal article, they will email you a link to retrieve the article electronically.

PRINTING/PHOTOCOPYING:

Printing or photocopying is possible by purchasing a Dept. of Chemistry Copy Card at the circulation desk (cash only). Copy cards cost $5.00 (50 copies) or $1.00 (10 copies) at 10 cents per copy. There is also a $1.00 deposit on both denominations of cards that will be refunded with the return of the empty card. Copy cards from other departments and libraries are not compatible with our machines. We cannot accept T-Cards. we can print for cash as well - ask at the circulation desk.

We have wireless printing (from your laptop) - follow instructions at printhere.utoronto.ca (the printer name is "Chemistry Library Printer" and the queue is "CL-BW") the print will go to the print station and need a copy card to release.

SCANNING:

The photocopier can also scan documents and books to a PDF file that is saved on a USB key or emailed to you. Scanning is FREE. Photocopying uses the same copy card as printing at the same rate.

PUBLIC COMPUTERS:

We have 7 workstations (5 PC, 2 Mac) and a printer.

 

SIZE AND SCOPE OF COLLECTION:

>10,000 volumes including bound journals in the A.D.Allen Library (many other volumes have been sent to Downsview offsite storage).
The collection serves the research and information needs of the faculty and graduate students in the Department of Chemistry. It is primarily composed of chemistry books and journals, some of which are duplicated in the Gerstein Science Information Centre or elsewhere.
There are currently no print journals still being received. 

The library has access to most of the key journals online (>400 titles) - see the UTL catalogue. If you are unable to find an online copy of a journal, please check the catalogue since we may have a print copy only (usually for older journals) and, if unsuccesful - ASK A LIBRARIAN!

We also have access to 10 of thousands of books online via Scholars Portal, RSC, Wiley, Elsevier, CRC, and Springer - see the UTL catalogue.

The collection also contains Chemistry MSc and PhD theses from 1986 on (most also available online since 2000).

The print reference collection includes a full set of Beilstein, Gmeilin, Houben-Weyl and Science of Synthesis in addition to Chemical Abstracts from 1907-1966.

The library has 5 loanable PC laptops for use within the library only. 

The library also has headphones, Android and Mac phone chargers for loan.

Use your TCard to borrow these items.

LIBRARIAN:

Patricia Meindl

Room 480, Lash Miller Chemical Laboratories
80 St. George Street
Toronto, Ontario M5S 3H6
E-MAIL: patricia.meindl@utoronto.ca

PHONE:

(416) 978-3587

FAX:

416-978-8775

Loading ...