Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OISE's Ontario Historical Education Collections (OHEC)

Circular 14 Textbook Collection (C14) 1970-1996

The Circular 14 Textbook Collection is a continuation of the Ontario Textbook Collection. This collection includes texts approved from 1970-1996 that are listed in Circular 14. Circular 14 was discontinued in 1996.

Catalogue records for the books in the C14 Collection note the subject and grade for which the text was approved, and often books were approved for more than one level or subject. When available, accompanying materials such as workbooks and teacher's guides are also included in the collection.

 

 

Locating Books in the Circular 14 Textbook Collection

Find specific titles in this collection by searching the library catalogue

  1. Enter your title or keywords into the library search box. Using a subject keyword (ie. biology), or the grade level keyword (primary, junior, intermediate, and honours or OAC) along with the word "approved" is a good search strategy for the C14 collection.
  2. Select OISE in the Library drop-down menu.
  3. Press search.
  4. In the results page, select Ontario Historical Ed. under "Library Location."

For a list of the texts in the Circular 14 Textbook Collection, start with a catalogue search with the search field defined by call number, and the key term "C14;" then use the filters on the left side menu to limit to OISE (under "Library") and Ontario Historical Ed. (under "Library Location"). 

 

Other Interesting Facts about the Circular 14 Textbook Collection

  • Many of the texts in the C14 textbook collection are marked as "File Copies." This means that they were the copies used by the Ministry or Department of Education during review and approval process for inclusion on the textbook list. In some cases, they include marginalia regarding this process: this may include the name and location of the reviewer, their commentary during review, the years and subjects for which these texts were approved, as well as other relevant notes. Occasionally, these copies may also have ephemeral materials tucked in to their pages which originate from their original use. These items include correspondence from publishers, teachers and school boards.
  • The historical collections at OISE also contains a small number of "File Copies" that were deemed "ineligible" for inclusion, with notes on the reasons for their rejection.These are currently uncatalogued.
  • Not all of the materials in the C14 collection have catalogue records. If you are looking for a certain textbook used in Ontario between 1970 and 1996, and cannot find a record for it, please contact the OHEC reference librarian.