Skip to main content

Canadian Studies

Maps & Atlases

Map and Data Library (Robarts Library, 5th floor)

One of the finest map collections in North America, including paper maps, geospatial (GIS) data, and air photos. Includes a strong Canadian collection, with an emphasis on maps of the Greater Toronto Area. (eospatial (GIS) data

Atlas of Canada

This online atlas provides thematic and topographic maps, facts, and data for Canada. Published by National Resources Canada.

Canadian Geographical Names

Basic locational information and downloadable maps are available for over 500,000 geographical names in Canada. This database is maintained by the Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names (CPCGN).

Historical Atlas of Canada

The 3-volume Historical Atlas of Canada explores major themes and episodes in the history of Canada using maps, text and graphics. It was published in 1993 and is available at many U of T Libraries. The Historical Atlas of Canada Online Learning Project makes many of the maps and much of the research data created for the Atlas available online.

Historical Atlas of Toronto

This atlas, published in 2008, is available at many U of T libraries.

Don Valley Historical Map Project

This project documents historical changes in the landscape of the Don River Valley. Drawing from geographical information including historical maps, geological maps, fire insurance plans, planning documents, and city directories, the project uses Geographic Information Systems software to place, compile, synthesize and interpret this information and make it more accessible as geospatial data and maps.

The Canadian County Atlas Digital Project

McGill University Library has scanned a collection of Ontario county atlases published between 1874 and 1881 and produced a searchable database of the property owners' names which appear on the township maps in the county atlases.