Encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, etc. are excellent resources when you are beginning your research or when you need further clarification of terms used in your reading. They provide background information, explain concepts, and often contain a bibliography that can lead you to useful resources.

For additional encyclopedias etc. (besides those listed in this research guide) please see Subjects A-Z... Canada.

Canada, in Europa World Plus

A useful collection of essays and statistics, regularly updated, on Canada's public affairs, the economy, and society. Includes topical bibliographies.

Canada's diverse peoples : a reference sourcebook

A chronological look at immigration to Canada. Each chapter ends with a timeline, glossary, several primary documents, and bibliography. This 2003 book is available in print or online.

Canadian Encyclopedia

An essential source for background information on Canadian topics. Now also includes the excellent Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia

An online encyclopedia of Canadian actors, playwrights, directors, producers, designers, theatre organizations and institutions, composers and plays. Provided by Athabaska University.

Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples

"This encylopedia provides an overview of people within the geographical and social framework of Canada." At the bottom of each article you will find a list of additional resources in the Further reading section. Available in print.

Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada

This useful resource, published in 2002, is available online and in print.

Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan

This encyclopedia "provides a comprehensive synthesis of the people, places and events that have helped to shape the province" [Concept Plan, 1997]. Produced for Saskatchewan's centenary in 2005 by the Canadian Plains Research Centre.

The Oxford Companion to Canadian History

Useful, brief introductions to a wide range of issues, events, and individuals in Canada's history. Available both in print and online.

The Canadian Oxford Dictionary

Combines coverage of international English with information on English as it is particularly used in Canada. Also both online and in print.

Guide to Canadian English usage

Art and architecture in Canada: a bibliography and guide to the literature to 1981 (1991)

Introducing Canada : an annotated bibliography of Canadian history in English (1998)

Bibliography of Canadian Religious History

Canada : a reader's guide (2000)

Canadian reference sources: an annotated bibliography: general reference works, history, humanities (1996)

Digging deeper : a Canadian reporter's research guide

Peel's Prairie Provinces

This site contains an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies. It also contains the full texts of many of these items.

Associations Canada

Details on over 19,000 Canadian and international associations that represent industry, commercial and professional groups, registered charities and special interest groups.