TTC - Transition to Clerkship - MD Program (UME) - Research Guides at University of Toronto

"Approach to..." Resources

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20e, Part 2: Cardinal Manifestations and Presentation of Diseases
The Patient History: An Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis, 2e
Access restricted to Mount Sinai Hospital, SMH, Sunnybrook, or THP users
Bates' guide to physical examination and history taking, 12e
Available in print only. 3 copies available.
Rational Clinical Examination Series (JAMA Guidelines)

Harm Reduction Guidance

Choosing Wisely
SHS-UHN Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
Antimicrobial Stewardship - Sunnybrook Hospital
Antimicrobial Stewardship – St. Michael’s Hospital
1. Access the secure intranet at St. Michael’s Hospital (type “portal/” into the search bar of any computer on site, or using a browser app accessed via the Citrix remote log-in)
2. Click on “SMH A to Z” (In the blue navigation bar at the top of the page) -> click on “A” OR Type “ASP” into the search bar (top right-hand corner of the page)
3. Choose link for “Antimicrobial Stewardship Program”

General Medicine Guidelines

Curated list of general medicine guidelines
Covering topics such as cardiac, infections, vascular, GI, musculoskeletal, geriatrics, respiratory, endocrine, liver, neurologic, etc.

Guidelines By Organizations & Associations

Canada

CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines: This Canadian Medical Association database provides access to nearly 2000 clinical practice guidelines produced or endorsed in Canada. It offers a number of search and browse capabilities, including a search by MeSH terms under the Basic Search option.
College of Family Physicians of Canada: Collection of clinical practice guidelines relevant to family physicians.
British Columbia: BCGuidelines are developed by the Guidelines and Protocols Advisory Committee (GPAC), a joint committee of the BCMA and the Ministry of Health.
Alberta: Toward Optimized Practice (TOP) helps Alberta physicians and the teams with whom they work implement evidence-based practices to enhance the care of their patients.
Cancer Care Ontario : Program in Evidence-Based Care (PEBC) produces evidence-based guidance documents in partnership with clinical experts in all major cancer disease sites and across all clinical programs and modalities.
Therapeutics Initiative - Evidence Based Drug Therapy: Provides physicians and pharmacists with up-to-date, evidence-based, practical information on prescription drug therapy.
Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH): Unbiased, evidence-based information on drugs, devices, health care systems and best practices.
Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada: Collection of Clinical Practice Guidelines.
Disease Prevention and Control Guidelines: From the Public Health Agency of Canada.
Best Practice Guidelines: From the Registered Nurses Association of Ontario.

United States

ACP Clinical Recommendations: American College of Physicians - ACP develops three different types of clinical recommendations: Clinical Practice Guidelines, Clinical Guidance Statements, and Best Practice Advice.
AIDS Info: Federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines.
American Association of Family Physicians
APA Clinical Practice Guidelines: APA practice guidelines provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Search the Prevention Guidelines Database. Link updated 01/14/2019.
Community Preventive Services Task Force: Population health interventions from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that are scientifically proven to save lives, increase lifespans, and improve quality of life.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)
Infectious Disease Society of America
Johns Hopkins Antibiotic, Diabetes and HIV Guides
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute: Systematic Evidence Reviews and Clinical Practice Guidelines.
US Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
US Preventive Services Task Force: The USPSTF conducts scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services (such as screening, counseling, and preventive medications) and develops recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems.

International

Australian Government. NHMRC Publications: From National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia. Link updated 01/14/2019.
UK - eGuidelines: eGuidelines.co.uk provides essential information and services for healthcare professionals involved or interested in the development and implementation of guidelines, formularies, clinical pathways, and commissioning services.
UK - NICE Guidance: From the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, NICE quality standards are a set of specific, concise statements that act as markers of high quality, cost effective patient care, covering the treatment and prevention of different diseases and conditions.
International Guideline Library: From Guidelines International Network. Membership is required to view full text.

Systematic Reviews

Cochrane

45000+ abstracts of high-quality systematic reviews
Access to Cochrane Clinical Answers

Epistemonikos

Multilingual database
Largest systematic review database

Synopses of Single Studies

Articles that summarize and often critically appraise evidence from original research.

BMJ Evidence Based Medicine A journal that publishes opinions, and original research on tools, methods, and concepts that are central to practicing evidence-based medicine.
ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals. Once a bimonthly stand-alone journal, ACP Journal Club is now a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine. Click on 'Journal Club"
Tools for Practice Tools for Practice consists of articles summarizing medical evidence. These are short synopses ~ 300 words and on topics that focus on primary care.
NEJM Journal Watch (account required). Contains summaries and commentaries on original research

Clinical Search Engines/ Pre-Filtered Results

PubMed Clinical Queries

Free access to search MedLine
Auto sorts result into categories so they are pre-filtered for you

Trip Medical Database

Kind of like the 'Google' of medical literature
Includes MedLine, systematic reviews, CPGs, and more

Gerstein Science Information Centre

MD Program (UME)

Your U of T Librarian

"Approach to..." Resources

Harm Reduction Guidance

General Medicine Guidelines

Guidelines By Organizations & Associations

Canada

Systematic Reviews

Cochrane

Epistemonikos

Synopses of Single Studies

Clinical Search Engines/ Pre-Filtered Results

Trip Medical Database

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us