Research Guides: BIOC70 An Introduction to Bias in the Sciences : Articles

Article Databases

History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scientific material, research, reports, and journals documenting the development of Western scientific knowledge in the 19th century.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books, reviews, and chapters in the fields of anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.

IBSS Sidecar Tutorial
Need extra help with searching? Then try this tutorial that has you actively using IBSS alongside instructions of how to use it, with an example topic.

Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citation information and abstracts for communication and mass media related publications.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, ebooks, theses, and government publications, with a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, research and conference reports, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed scientific research, including journals, books, and conference papers.

Scopus Sidecar Tutorial
Need more help with Scopus searching? This tutorial will guide you with searching in Scopus, using the search form effectively, search strategies like keywords, and helping to find relevant articles.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in nursing and health professions. The Ebsco platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.

ERIC (web) This link opens in a new window
Education Source This link opens in a new window
In addition to scholarly journals, also provides access to ebooks and conference papers across all levels of education.

CBCA Reference & Current Events This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to English language Canadian Newspapers.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Articles, newspapers, and magazines from politically left international journals after 1991.

Ethnic newsWatch
Access full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
The Conversation