Research Guides: Economics Resources at the UTM Library: U.S. Government Records

Archives Unbound: American Presidents

The following collections contains memoranda, talking points, correspondence, news summaries, draft legislation, and new clippings, among other materials, that cover a broad range of issues during the administration of twentieth century American presidents. These collections are available through the Archives Unbound primary sources platform.

See also the George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs collection below for more materials on this American president.

The collections listed below are only available online. To access these collections, simply click on the link.

The Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation
Period covered: 1981-1991
This collection contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president. Contents of this collection includes memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, news summaries, draft legislation, statements of administration policy (SAP’s), case histories, legislative histories and news-clippings covering a broad range of civil rights issues.
Carter Administration and Foreign Affairs
Period covered: 1972-1981
This archive treats U.S. foreign affairs during the presidency of Jimmy Carter. Notable subjects include the Arab-Israeli Conflict; the Camp David Accords; China; Panama Canal treaties; Strategic Arms Limitations Talks (SALT); the Soviet intervention in Afghanistan and U.S. responses to the intervention; the Iran Hostage Crisis; human rights; among other topics.
JFK's Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
Period covered: 1961-1963
This collection provides insights into President Kennedy’s views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. In addition to covering the Bay of Pigs, Berlin, and Cuba, documents contained in this collection highlight American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and relations with Latin America, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, foreign aid and military assistance, and the international space race.
Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President’s Confidential and Subject Special Files
Period covered: 1969-1974
This collection consists of documents of an administratively-sensitive nature, arranged according to subject from President Nixon’s Special Files collection, comprising the Confidential and Subject Files. These documents provide an in-depth look into the activities of the President, his closest advisors, and the administration. These records support the behind-the-scenes historical inquiry into an administration that may well be the most significant one since World War II and one of the most important in the 20th century.

George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs

The following collections are available through the Archives Unbound primary sources platform.

The collections listed below are only available online. To access these collections, simply click on the link.

George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs : Bosnia and the Situation in the Former Yugoslavia
Period covered: 1988-1999
This collection consists of comprehensive materials related to the former Yugoslavia, particularly Bosnia, and U.S. presidential decision-making.
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs : Fall of the Berlin Wall and the Reunification of Germany
Period covered: 1981-1993
This collection provides an in-depth analysis of the events leading up to the fall of the Berlin Wall and its implications for U.S.-German relations. Documents include the records of Memcons and Telcons between President Bush and Helmut Kohl concerning the Fall of the Berlin Wall and the Reunification of Germany; and the records on the Fall of the Berlin Wall and German Unification.
George H. W. Bush and foreign affairs : the Middle East peace conference in Madrid
Period covered: 1981-1993
This collection comprises materials related to the planning and organization of the October 1991 Middle East Peace Conference in Madrid. It consists of correspondence, memoranda, cables, diplomatic dispatches, reports, studies, maps, and printed material which document all aspects of staging the conference as well as the conference itself. The materials detail the role of the United States in convening the peace conference and the interactions and positions of the various parties involved.
Topics covered include: the Persian Gulf War; Operation Desert Shield; Intifada; U.N. Security Council Resolutions; Land for Peace concept; and the Palestine Liberation Organization.
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs: The Moscow Summit and the Dissolution of the USSR
Period covered: 1987-1992
This collection contains materials related to the Moscow summit and the coup in August 1991 against Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev, including cables sent to the White House situation room concerning day-by-day developments, as well as conversations between President Bush and other foreign leaders. Also included are materials concerning the dissolution of the Soviet Union which highlight the Bush administration's response to the dissolution and the formation of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Topics covered include economic and humanitarian support, diplomatic recognition of the republics, aiding the transition to democratic governments and market economies, and defense issues, particularly the fate and control over the former Soviet Union's nuclear arsenal.

Records from the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidency

The following records are available through the Archives Unbound primary sources platform.

The records listed below are only available online. To access these records, simply click on the link.

The Johnson Presidency Administrative Histories consist of agency and department records from the Johnson administration. They are subdivided by topic.

Economy, Finance and Trade
Period covered: 1963-1969
This collection provides extensive documentation on a variety of presidential programs and initiatives. Agency and departmental records include: Bureau of the Budget; Council of Economic Advisers; Department of Commerce; Department of Treasury; Federal Deposit Corporation; Federal Home Loan Bank Board; Federal Reserve System; Federal Trade Commission; Interstate Commerce Commission; and Securities Exchange Commission. The archive is based on the film title Administrative Histories of the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidency, The Economy, Finance and Trade.
Foreign Affairs and National Security
Period covered: 1963-1969
This collection provides extensive documentation on a variety of presidential programs and initiatives. Agency and departmental records include: Administrative History of the Department of State; Agency for International Development; Panama Canal Company and the Canal Zone Government; U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency; and U.S. Information Agency. The archive is based on the film title Administrative Histories of the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidency, Foreign Affairs and National Security.
Health, Education and Welfare
Period covered: 1963-1969
This collection provides extensive documentation on a variety of presidential programs and initiatives. Agency and departmental records include: Department of Agriculture; Department of Health, Education, and Welfare; Department of Housing and Urban Development; Endowment for the Arts; Office of Economic Opportunity; Office of Education; and Veteran's Administration. The archive is based on the film title Administrative Histories of the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidency, Health, Education and Welfare.
Labor and Employment
Period covered: 1963-1969
This collection provides extensive documentation on a variety of presidential programs and initiatives. Agency and departmental records include: Civil Service Commission; Department of Labor; Equal Employment Opportunity Commission; Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service; General Services Administration; Post Office Department; and National Labor Relations Board. The archive is based on the film title Administrative Histories of the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidency, Labor and Employment.
Science and Technology
Period covered: 1963-1969
This collection provides extensive documentation on a variety of presidential programs and initiatives. Agency and departmental records include: Atomic Energy Commission; Federal Power Commission; National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA); and Office of Science and Technology. The archive is based on the film title Administrative Histories of the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidency, Science and Technology.

The War on Poverty Collection provides an insight to President Lyndon B. Johnson's Great Society, which was predicated on two goals: elimination of poverty and racial injustice. Johnson's "unconditional war on poverty" created the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 which created the Office of Economic Opportunity

Records of the U.S. Department of State

The records are available through the Archives Unbound primary sources platform.

The records listed below are only available online. To access these records, simply click on the link.

Albania : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
Period covered: 1945-1963
Albania established a Communist regime and a one-party system under Yugoslav and Soviet guidance. The People’s Republic of Albania, declared in January 1946, was led by Enver Hoxha (1908-1985), Stalin’s disciple, who served as party general secretary, prime minister, and commander in chief. The documents are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Argentina : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
Period covered: 1960-1963
This archive focuses on Argentina after the era of Juan Perón. In this period civilian administrations traded power, trying, with limited success, to deal with diminished economic growth and continued social and labor demands. The documents offer insight into various aspects of the Argentine economy. Examples include: the minister of public works discussing a program in “highways, railroads, and water transport” (June 1960); and a report on the newly appointed undersecretary of mines requesting that the embassy’s economic counselor have the U.S. government “examine the possibilities of procurement of tungsten” (June 1961).
Bolivia : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
Period covered: 1960-1963
The backstory to this archive revolves around the rise of the Nationalist Revolutionary Movement (MNR), which emerged as a broadly-based party. Under President Victor Paz Estenssoro (1907-2001), the MNR “introduced universal adult suffrage, carried out a sweeping land reform, promoted rural education, and nationalized the country’s largest tin mines. Twelve years of tumultuous rule left the MNR divided.” In 1964, a military junta overthrew President Paz Estenssoro at the outset of his third term. Documents in this collection offer insight into the U.S. state department during the Cold War. Examples include analysis of labor union leadership and its relationship to Communists “united in opposition” and attempting to impose a “Fascist regime in Bolivia.”
Brazil : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
Period covered: 1960-1963
This archive focuses on Brazil in the early 1960s. The collection covers the period following the resignation from the presidency of Janio Quadros in 1961 and the succession of Vice President Joao Goulart, whose years in office were marked by high inflation, economic stagnation, and the increasing influence of radical political elements. The armed forces, alarmed by these developments, staged a coup on March 31, 1964, during the administration of U.S. President Lyndon B. Johnson.
Bulgaria: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs
Records for the years: 1945-1949
This collection primarily consists of instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff concerning political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Bulgaria. Documents include U.S. State Department reports and memoranda, communications between the State Department and foreign governments and other U.S. departments
Bulgaria: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs
Records for the years: 1950-1954
This collection primarily consists of instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff concerning political, economic, military, social, and other internal correspondences and events in Bulgaria. Documents include U.S. State Department reports and memoranda, communications between the State Department and foreign governments and other U.S. departments
Cambodia : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
Period covered: 1960-1963
This collection provides a window into the political, social, and economic development of Cambodia, the rapidly maturing “modern” state in the heart of Southeast Asia. Traced here is the critical legacy of Prince Norodom Sihanouk (1922-2012), the nation’s controversial and paradoxical leader. Khmer nationalism, loyalty to the monarch, struggle against injustice and corruption, and protection of the Buddhist religion were in the forefront of developments in this period. The archive is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam.
Chile : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963
Period covered: 1930-1963
The records in this massive archive range from the era of the Great Depression to the height of the Cold War. The period of Radical Party dominance (1932-1952) saw the emergence of a strong middle-class party and its role as the key force in coalition governments. In this era the state steadily increased its participation in the Chilean economy. Documents include: negotiations with British nitrate interests (March 1934); and U.S. state department concern of a possible “crisis in Chilean copper production” (October 1940).
The Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955
Period covered: 1945-1955
This primary source collection covers virtually all aspects of life immediately before, during, and after the Chinese Communist Revolution (1945-1950). Items were collected by the US State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs as part of their operational control of American policy toward China. Topics covered include domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, US containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-WWII period.
Colombia : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
Period covered: 1960-1963
The documents in this collection offer a snapshot of Colombia at the height of the Cold War. Numerous records track the impact of the Castro revolution in Cuba.
Ecuador : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
Period covered: 1960-1963
The documents in this archive trace developments primarily during the administration of John F. Kennedy. Included here are plans by the U.S. Air Force, under an existing understanding between Quito and Washington, to commence photograph mapping operations in Central and Western Ecuador. Documents on commercial affairs include a report on the robust market of U.S. ophthalmic goods in Ecuador.
Egypt : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1853-1962
Period covered: 1853-1962
This archive covers Egypt from the years before the opening of the Suez Canal through the era of British domination, Egyptian nationalism, and independence. The documents are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Finland: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs
Records for the years 1955-1959
This collection primarily consists of instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, and social events in Finland. Documents included in the collection span from reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, to correspondence with private firms and individuals.
Finland: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs
Records for the years 1950-1954
This collection primarily consists of instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, and social events in Finland. Documents included in the collection span from reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, to correspondence with private firms and individuals.
Finland: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs
Records for the years 1960-Jan. 1963
This collection primarily consists of instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, and social events in Finland. Documents included in the collection span from reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, to correspondence with private firms and individuals.
Finland: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs
Records for the years 1945-1949
This collection primarily consists of instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, and social events in Finland. Documents included in the collection span from reports and memoranda prepared by the U.S. State Department staff, to correspondence with private firms and individuals.
Greece : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963
Period covered: 1950-1963
This archive focuses on Greece in the Cold War era in the aftermath of the Greek Civil War, which took a heavy toll, in the late 1940s. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Hungary : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
Period covered: 1945-1963
Hungary from the end of the Second World War to 1963 is the focus of this collection. Covered here is the critical period of the Hungarian Uprising of 1956 against the Soviet-backed government, and one of the most dramatic events of the Cold War, The flow of tens of thousands of refugees out of Hungary is tracked in many records. The documents are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the US State Department, February 1963-1966
Period covered: 1963-1966
This collection covers the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia. Items include special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; and translations of high-level foreign government documents. Topics covered include political parties and elections; unrest and revolution; human rights; government administration; fiscal and monetary issues; national defence; foreign policy-making; wars and alliances; trade; industry; and natural resources.
Iran (Persia) : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1883-1959
Period covered: 1883-1959
Iran’s geopolitical importance at the end of the nineteenth century made it a central focus in the "great game" of diplomatic rivalry between the major imperial powers, Great Britain and Russia. Popular protest against the Qajar government was revived in 1905 and forced the shah to order the election of a Majlis (parliament) and grant Iran a constitution in 1906. There followed five years of political struggle, known as the Constitutional Revolution, 1905-1911, which aimed without success at the elimination of foreign interests. After a coup in 1921, Reza Khan became commander-in-chief of the armed forces and quickly consolidated his power. In 1925, the Majlis deposed the last Qajar shah and elevated Reza Khan to the throne. He established a centralized civil service and a national educational system. By tracing events in the nineteenth century this archive places more recent events, such as the coup that toppled the Mossadegh government in 1953, in vital historical context.
Iraq : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944
Period covered: 1888-1944
Iraq, from Ottoman rule through British colonial occupation and independence, is treated here from the perspective of the United States. The documents are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Laos : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1963-1966
Period covered: 1963-1966
This archive treats the political affairs of Laos in the 1960s, when the United States supported the government of Souvanna Phouma in the face of North Vietnamese aggression. The collection is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam. It offers a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; conference proceedings and international legal documents; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; and translations of high-level foreign government documents.
Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944
Period covered: 1836-1944
This timely collection covers U.S. perspectives on Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and Trans-Jordan, from Ottoman rule to the era of British and French mandates following the First World War. The archive is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Libya : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885
Period covered: 1796-1885
This archive documents the American consulate in Tripoli. Included here are correspondences of Secretary of State James Madison during the Tripolitan War, 1801-1805, between the United States and the piratical North African Barbary States. Handwritten correspondences from Secretary of State William H. Seward in the Lincoln Administration, relating to the opening of the port of New Orleans in 1862, and exchanges from Secretary of State James G. Blaine, in the Garfield Administration, make this a rich resource in U.S. diplomatic history. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Morocco : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929
Period covered: 1797-1929
This archive reveals more than a century of U.S.-Morocco relations and includes, among various documents, correspondences from U.S. ministers in Tangier and Tetuan. It is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Nicaragua : political instability and U.S. intervention, 1910-1933
Period covered: 1910-1933
The United States kept a contingent force in Nicaragua almost continually from 1912 until 1933. Although reduced to 100 in 1913, the contingent served as a reminder of the willingness of the United States to use force and its desire to keep conservative governments in power. This collection provides documentation on the almost continual political instability in Nicaragua.
Pakistan from crown rule to republic : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949
This collection of diplomatic records and materials from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan and include documents such as the 1949 "Economic Survey" issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry; July 1949 "Dacca Newsletter"; and files relating to internal affairs such as economics, education, military affairs, government, and more.
Panama : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963
Period covered: 1950-1963
Documents in this collection trace U.S.-Panamanian relations during the Truman, Eisenhower, and Kennedy administrations. Issues relating to shipping and the significance of the Panama Canal during the Cold War are covered. Other documents chart day-to-day aspects of the economy.
Peru : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
Period covered: 1960-1963
Documents in this collection describe U.S.-Peruvian relations during the Cold War. Examples include: “Both Prensa Latina and Agence France Presse in Lima are staffed by Communists and Pro-Communists”; “Yugoslav ship calls in Peru”; memoranda on U.S. military interest in obtaining permission for essential air transportation traffic transit in Peru; and a letter from Texas Petroleum Company to the Assistant Secretary of State for Inter-American Affairs regarding litigation between the Peruvian Government and the Company. Other records include: “Change in Method of Tax Payment for Foreign Mining Companies in Peru” (January 1960); and “Peruvian ‘Rights’ in Antarctica” (May 1962).
Poland : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
Period covered: 1945-1963
After the Second World War Stalin’s highest priority in Eastern Europe was the domination of Poland. The rigged elections in January 1947 followed by the merger of the Communist and Socialist parties in December 1948 assured the complete Communist takeover of the country. The new regime exercised near total control over society and established a command economy. Hence, for example, documents on internal security force activities in 1949 note “intensified attacks by Anglo-American imperialism.” The documents here are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Political relations between China, the U.S. and other countries, 1910-1929
Period covered: 1910-1929
A collection of microfilm from the U.S. State Department related to the political relations between the United States and China and relations between China and other states, notably Japan, between 1910-1922. Among the items included are instructions to and dispatches from diplomatic and consular officials, correspondence, reports, and journals of the commissions concerned with extraterritoriality in China.
Romania : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1963
Period covered: 1945-1963
Romania in the postwar Stalinist era is the subject of this archive. The documents here are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.

Archives Unbound: Japan (Records of the U.S. Department of State)

Period covered: 1930-1981

The US State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan is a collection of special reports, interviews, statistics, court proceedings, letters, translations of documents, and other diplomatic records on a period of expansionism, militarization, and the post-WWII Allied Occupation in Japan.

The records are available through the Archives Unbound primary sources platform.

The records listed below are only available online. To access these records, simply click on the link.

All Other U.S. Government Records

The Amerasia Affair, China, and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor
Period covered: 1945-1973
This collection uncovers one of the great spy cases in the postwar era, which concluded in the growing atmosphere of McCarythism where many saw the affair as an indication of Communist espionage on the government. The case was the first public drama featuring charges that American citizens had spied for the Communists. The affair began with an article printed in the magazine Amerasia in January 26, 1945 which was almost identical to the report Kenneth Wells, of the Office of Strategic Services, wrote on Thailand. This discovery led to FBI illegal seizures of documents, and investigations into reporters and State Department employees, resulting in arrests that anti-climatically resulted in fines. The documents in the collection shed light on the debate over who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarythism, and the loyalty program -- and also the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.
Economic Cooperation Administration’s Relief Mission in Post-War China, 1946-1948
Period covered: 1946-1948
This primary source collection documents how officials of the Economic Cooperation Administration (ECA) looked for economic and cultural opportunities to promote US-China relations, despite the anti-Communist sentiments of the early Cold War era. Items include records of foreign service officer and later director of the China Relief Mission Donald S. Gilpatric; regional offices correspondences; chronological files and cables; interoffice memos; subject files of the office of the director; and others.
Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals
Period Covered: 1941-1961
This collection provides a unique look into the creation and activities of the temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, which was established by the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942. The function of the court was to determine the validity of price control regulations occurring after America's entry into WWII. Specifically, the collection includes documents from the Supreme Court's decision that the EPCA and Emergency Court of Appeals were necessary to the effective prosecution of the war as it stabilized the economy and protect people with fixed incomes, and other disruptive market conditions.
Records of the Far Eastern Commission, 1945-1952
This primary source collection fully documents all its activities as representative of the Allied Powers producing policies, principles, and criteria on the post-WWII governing and reconstruction of Japan according to the terms of surrender stipulated by the Potsdam Declaration. Items originate from records of the Far Eastern Commission (FEC), records from other sources found in FEC files, and subject files used by the FEC. They include meeting minutes, agenda sheets, verbatim meeting transcripts, policy documents, attendance lists, reports, government memoranda, newspaper clippings, and statistical studies. Topics covered include reparations and transfers of industrial equipment; atomic energy; democratic elections; education; and issues and arguments over the administration of Japan, both on an international level as well as within the US government.
Records of the National Council for United States-China Trade, 1973-1983
Period covered: 1973-1983
This collection documents the formation of the National Council for United States-China Trade and its role in the development of U.S.-China trade, and the Council’s library holdings relating to China’s trade and economy. Formed in 1973, the Council is an association of U.S. business firms interested in trade with the People’s Republic of China. The collection consists of two sub-groups of records: administrative files and Business Advisory Services Department files. In addition to being a source of information about the history of the Council and development of trade, the files have research value in aspects of trade such as shipping, packaging, contract negotiations, banking, inspection, and trademarks. Also, included are files related to U.S.-China relations, China's trade with other countries, and China's history in culture and business practices.
Revolution in Honduras and American Business : the Quintessential "Banana Republic"
Period covered: 1910-1930
This collection details both the political and financial machinations of the fruit companies, but also the graft and corruption of the national government, the American banking community’s loans, the U.S. government’s response and the various aborted popular/revolutionary uprisings. It represents the largest single group of records relates to Honduran political affairs, pertaining chiefly to the turbulent political situation and almost continuous revolutionary activity in Honduras.
The Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993
Period covered: 1989-1993
The Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993 is a collection of correspondence, memoranda, studies, analyses, testimony, talking points and news clippings from the White House and various staff offices and agencies on the origins of the savings and loan (S&L) crisis and solutions to the growing crisis in the late 1980s and early 1990s.
Topics covered include: deregulation; implementation of the Finance Institutions Reform; recovery, and enforcement Act of 1989; federal seizure and liquidation of insolvent thrifts; and prosecution of savings & loans management for fraudulent practices.
Subject Files of US State Department’s Office of the Republic of China Affairs, 1951-1978
Period covered: 1951-1978
This collection consists of briefing books, correspondence, memoranda, policy papers, reports, statistics, and other miscellaneous records from the Office of the Country Director for the Republic of China. Also included are records relating to major figures such as President of the Republic of China Chiang Ching-kuo, as well as various visits by American political leaders to Taiwan, East Asia, and the Senkaku/Diaoyu Islands.
Topics covered include international aid, education and cultural exchange; financial and economic affairs (including international trade, petroleum, nuclear development, and atomic energy); and legal, military, and political affairs.
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
Period Covered: 1989-1993
This collection documents the pro-democracy demonstrations in Beijing from April 14 to June 4th, 1989, and responses from the Chinese government, the American people, and the Bush White House. Items include public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, and news clippings. Topics covered include U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, the significance of the Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China’s human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990.