Skip to main content
Banner Image

Economics Resources at the UTM Library

A subject guide listing library resources for students enrolled in courses offered by the Department of Economics at UTM.

Reference Sources

What are reference sources?

  • Reference sources provide facts and background information on a subject/topic, such as definitions, history or timeline, date, and key statistics and concepts. 
  • They typically offer a broad overview of a subject/topic and usually don't provide enough in-depth, detailed information for most papers or presentations.
  • Examples of reference sources include dictionaries and encyclopedias. 

 

Why use reference sources?

  • Reference sources are a great place to start if you don't know how much about your topic.
  • They can lead you to more in-depth and recommended sources on your topic. 

Selected Reference Sources

The Encyclopedia of Political Economy is a full-refereed A-Z compendium of the main principles, concepts, problems, institutions, schools, and policies associated with political economy. Based on development in political economy since the 1960s, it is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to the field as well as being an authoritative reference work.

The Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History is a resource that offers comprehensive coverage of American economic history from the arrival of Europeans to the present. The 1000 alphabetically arranged entries range from one paragraph to several pages in length, and cover such things as company and industry profiles, biographies of important figures, key events and movements, critical issues in U.S. economic history, state and regional profiles, and the major areas in American economic development. 

The International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences is a broad and in-depth source of social and behavioural sciences reference materials. Provides authoritative, foundational, and interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioural and social sciences fields and discusses history, current trends, and future directions. The Encyclopedia comprises 4 000 articles, commissioned by 71 section editors, and includes 90 000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

Now in its third edition, The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains over 3 000 individual articles written by the world's most influential economics. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European and beyond, health economics, and the economics of the Internet.

International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history,The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than 35 countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8 000-word essays on markets, industries, and labour. The general categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labour; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies. 

The Oxford Dictionary of Economics is an essential reference work in economics which contains definitions of key economics terms. It covers all aspects of economics, including economic theory and policy; applied micro economics and macroeconomics; labour economics; public economics and public finance; monetary economics; and environmental economics.  

The Oxford Handbook of Behavioral Economics and Law provides and up-to-date and comprehensive analysis of this field of research, including its strengths and limitations as well as a forecast of its future development. The first part provides a general overview of behavioural economics; the second part criticizes the contribution of behavioural economics to legal theory; the third part discussed specific behavioural phenomena, their ramifications for legal policymaking, and their reflection in extant law; the fourt part analyzes the contribution of behavioural economics in legal spheres ranging from core doctrinal areas such as contracts, torts, and property to areas such as taxation and antitrust policy.

The Routledge Handbook of Behavioral Economics provides a comprehensive overview of behavioural economics which considers both key developments and future possibilities. Part One presents several different approaches to behavioural economics and looks at the origins and development of the subject. Part Two presents applications of behavioural economics including nudging; heuristics; emotions and morality; behavioural politica economy; education; and economic innovation.

The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of globalization, including agency structure, Americanization, anti-globalization, Bretton Woods, coca-colonization, Euro crisis, ethnic cleansing, exploitation, feminization of poverty, genocide, global warming, nation-state, liberalism, post-globalization, sex work, transnational corporations, Twitter Revolution, water crisis, and Web 2.0. It also includes a number of key documents listed as entries such as the Kyoto Protocol and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.