Economics Resources at the UTM Library

The EIU provides in-depth country, risk, and industry analysis across 200 countries worldwide. The research and data included provides detailed coverage of political, economic, and commercial developments worldwide.

Passport provides data and insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data provides access to a range of economic time series that relates to financial stability, productivity, exchange rates, and more.

Note: the International Financial Statistics for individual countries are included in a separate product licensed by the UofT Libraries.

The International Financial Statistics (IFS) is one of the International Monetary Fund's principal statistical datasets and has been available since January 1948. IFS contains country data for most Fund members, as well as for Anguilla, Aruba, the Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC), Curacao, the currency union of Curacao and Sint Maarten, the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU), the euro area, Montserrat, the former Netherlands Antilles, Sint Maarten, the West African Economic Monetary Union (WAEMU), West Bank and Gaza, and some nonsovereign teritorial entities.

Available indicators normally include a country's exchange rates, Fund position, international liquidity, monetary statistics, interest rates, prices, production, labor, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and population. Data from 1990 to the present are in IMF eLibrary Data.

*Open access resource
The International Labour Organization (ILO) brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member states to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men. The ILO researches and publishes extensively on labour issues in an international context. Topics covered include economic and social development, labour migration and law, poverty, rural economy, and more.

*Open access resource
The OECD promotes policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. It uses its wealth of information on a broad range of topics to help governments foster prosperity and fight poverty through economic growth and financial stability. Locate information by country or by topic, including employment, trade, social and welfare issues, etc.

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. The OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find and cite tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, DATA, ePUB, READ.

Every year around 300 new titles are published via OECD iLibrary associated with themes which include economics; employment; governance; trade; urban, rural, and regional development; and more.

The World Economic Forum is an independent international organization committed to improving the state of the world by engaging business, political, academic and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas. Choose an issue to find all content related to a topic, or browse through blog posts, reports and events.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.

The ''Documents and resources" section provides access to the official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as to a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos.

*Open access resource
Doing Business is an annual publication from the World Bank which presents quantitative indicators on business regulations and the protection of property rights that can be compared across 190 economies—from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe—and over time.

*Open access resource
Doing Business offers economic data from 2003 to the present. The data are presented in a variety of ways, including economy snapshots, topics, and rankings.

*Open access resource
The Global Preferential Trade Agreements Database (GPTAD) provides information on preferential trade agreements (PTAs) around the world, including agreements that have not been notified to the World Trade Organization (WTO). It is designed to help trade policy makers, scholars, and business operators better understand and navigate the world of PTAs. The database was developed jointly by the World Bank and the Center for International Business. it is updated on a regular basis.

*Open access resource
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Users can browse for World Bank content by Collections, Authors, Release Dates, Topics, and Title. Advanced Search is available and searches metadata such as title, abstracts, keywords, etc. A variety of filters for narrowing search results are also available, such as filtering content by Author, Date, Topic, Content Type, Keyword, Region, or Country.

*Open access resource
Documents & Reports, previously known as World Development Sources (WDS) contains more than 240,000 publicly available World Bank documents that enable sharing the institution's extensive knowledge base and implementing its access to information policy.

Use the options under the search box to browse through the documents by country, type, or sector, or search via the Advanced Search page.

The World Bank eLibrary covers a broad range of global topics and issues such as climate change, public health, conflict and security, education, jobs, and migration, international economics and finance.

*Open access resource
The World Bank's Open Data initiative provides all users with open access to World Bank data. Users can search by Data Types and Regions and Countries.

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

The World Bank’s World Development Report, published annually since 1978, is a guide to the economic, social, and environmental state of the world today. Each report provides in-depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of development—from agriculture, the role of the state, transition economies, and labor to infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty.