Research Guides: Economics Resources at the UTM Library: Scholarly Journals

Scholarly Journals

For scholarly journal databases, see the Databases tab on the left.

American Economic Review
Peer-reviewed? Yes
The American Economic Review is a general-interest economics journal that contains articles on a broad range of topics.
Annual Review of Economics
Peer-reviewed? Yes
The Annual Review of Economics covers significant developments in the field of economics, including macroeconomics and money; microeconomics; economic psychology; international economics; public finance; health economics; education; economic growth and technological change; economic development; social economics; game theory, political economy, and social choice; and more.
Econometrica
Peer-reviewed? Yes
Econometrica publishes original articles in all branches of economics - theoretical and empirical, abstract and applied, providing wide-ranging coverage accross the subject area. It promotes studies that aim at the unification of the theoretical-quantitative and the empirical-quantitative approach to economic problems and explores a unique range of topics each year, from the frontier of theoretical developments in many new important areas, to research on current and applied economic problems, to methodologically innovative, theoretical, and applied studies in econometrics.
International Journal of Political Economy
Peer-reviewed? Yes
The International Journal of Political Economy is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes scholarly research in all traditions of political economy. It seeks to build bridges among various schools of political economy that stand in opposition to mainstream neoclassical economics.
Journal of Economic Literature
Peer-reviewed? Yes
The Journal of Economic Literature aims to help economists keep abreast of the vast flow of literature. Issues contain commissioned, peer-reviewed survey and review articles, book reviews, an annotated bibliography of new books classified by subject matter, and an annual index of dissertations in North American universities
The Journal of Finance
Peer-reviewed? Yes
The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.
Journal of Financial Economics
Peer-reviewed? Yes
The Journal of Financial Economics is a leading peer-reviewed academic journal covering theoretical and empirical topics in financial economics. It places primary emphasis on analytical, empirical, and clinical research in the following major areas: capital markets, financial institutions, corporate finance, corporate governance, and the economics of organizations.
Journal of Labour Economics
Peer-reviewed? Yes
Founded in 1983 as the first journal devoted specifically to labour economics, the Journal of Labour Economics presents international research on issues affecting social and private behaviour, and the economy. Contributors investigate various aspects of labour economics, including supply and demand of labour services, personnel economics, distribution of income, unions and collective bargaining, applied and policy issues in labour economics, and labour markets and demographics. It is the official journal of the Society of Labor Economists.
Journal of Monetary Economics
Peer-reviewed? Yes
The Journal of Monetary Economics publishes important research contributions to a wide range of modern macroeconomic topics. It has eight regular issues per year, with the Carnegie-Rochester Conference Series on Public Policy as the January and July issues.
The Quarterly Journal of Economics
Peer-reviewed? Yes
The Quarterly Journal of Economics is the oldest professional journal of economics in the English language. Edited at Harvard University's Department of Economics, it covers all aspects of the field.
The Review of Economic Studies
Peer-reviewed? Yes
Founded in 1933, The Review of Economic Studies is published quarterly by the Review of Economic Studies Limited, whose objective is to encourage research in theoretical and applied economics.

Peer Review

Many, but not all scholarly journals use peer review. Peer review is a process that evaluates the quality of articles submitted for a given journal. The evaluation is done by a panel of experts - or peers of the author – and the review process can be quite lengthy (articles can go through multiple rounds of review and even then, not be accepted for publication).

See the Evaluating Sources page of this subject guide and the the Understanding Peer Review guide prepared by the University of Toronto Scarborough Library for:

More information about the peer-review process
Searching for peer-reviewed journals
Recognizing scholarly articles and journals
Using Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory to identify whether a journal uses the peer-review process or not.