Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections

This digital collection contains a complete run of Academy Awards ceremony programs, posters, and rules books, as well as selected photographs and ephemera from the library's extensive holdings.

Browse by MHL Digital Collections

• MHL staff have curated selections of digital collections relevant to topics
• Examine the description of the collection to learn more about the topic and materials. Use this info to identify keywords or themes for your assignment (e.g., Janus Barfoed collection contains clippings and ephemera, lobby cards, press sheets, and photographs related to the films of more than 200 Western stars) 

Search Interface for Margaret Herrick Library's Digital Collections  

• Academy of Arts & Sciences Documents 
  • Academy Awards Collection, Academy History Archive
• Industry Publications 
  • Spotlight on Lobby Cards, Spotlight on Movie Star Ephemera
• Industry Records & Documents
  • Motion Picture Association of America. Production Code Administration records
    • Please note this content is also available through the Gale - Archives Unbound which can be easier to navigate. 
  • Spotlight on Casting Directories, Spotlight on Hollywood During World War II
• Personal Papers of Filmmakers, Actors and more: 
  • Alfred Hitchcock Papers, Mary Pickford Papers
  • Victor Fleming scrapbooks, Costume Designer Irene Scrapbooks

• Correspondences
• Photographs
• Scrapbooks
• Film magazines
• Industry Publications

Building a search with Margaret Herrick Library's Advanced Search 

• Target your Searches by Collection(s)
  • The default is to search all collections. Instead try limit searches to particular collections -  uncheck 'Select All Collections' and choose  collections that interest you the most
  • Be sure to limit your search result to the time period for your topic. Click on Search by Date under the advance search window and enter a start and end time. 

BOOLEAN OPERATORS:

• Use the dropdown menus instead of operators
• Under "Enter Search Term" use the following dropdown menu options on the right side
  • All the words (similar to AND) 
  • Any of the words (similar to OR)
  • Exact words (similar to Quotation Marks)
  • None of the words (similar to NOT which excludes keyword)
• AVOID using Asterisk * as a wildcard option for truncation

Sort in different ways or limiting by filters on the left side (e.g., scrapbooks).

To find the citation information for a source, scroll to the bottom of the page and look for Object Description. 

Look over the Title and Description fields for the relevant info to include in your bibliography, but you may need to pull additional details from the scan (e.g., Name of Author, pages numbers). If you are unsure, contact the Cinema Studies Librarian or take advantage of Ask a Librarian Chat Service. 

Searching within a Record

When you view a record, your original search will automatically be in the search bar which will likely produce no results.

To search the record, delete extra keywords and date filtering from the search bar to get results within the record.