Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

What is Zotero Citation Management Software?

Zotero is a citation management tool that will help you collect, organize, share, and cite your sources when researching and writing. With Zotero, creating in-text citations and bibliographies for all kinds of content formats becomes fast and easy! Citations can also be customized for different citation styles such as, MLA, APA, and Chicago.

 

Instructional Videos

For guided, step by step instructions the following videos will help you install and use the basic Zotero functions for collecting bibliographic information and creating citations in your word processor application.

Zotero "How To" Videos 

The following videos were crafted by New College Library and hosted on MS Stream. 

 

1) Setting-up Zotero 

This video provides instructions and a demonstration for setting up a Zotero account; creating a group library; downloading and setting-up the Zotero application; adding the Zotero web-browser connectors; and installing Zotfile add-on.provides an overview of the Zotero application, including My Library and collections; tags selector; the item list; and item information.

2) Overview of Zotero Application

This video provides an overview of the Zotero application, including My Library and collections; tags selector; the item list; and item information.

3) Collecting and Organizing Sources

This video provides instructions and a demonstration on how to create a collection in the Zotero application; add items to Zotero using the web-browser connectors; find available PDFs; add items manually; add items with identifiers; add items by dropping PDFs into Zotero; how to use Zotero tags; and how to use Zotfile to extract annotations.

4) Citing Sources

This video provides instructions and a demonstration for adding in-text citations and a bibliography using the Zotero add-on for Microsoft Word; editing and removing in-text citations; changing citation styles; exporting a bibliography from the Zotero application; and adding and removing citation styles.

Additional Zotero Guides & Resources

For more in-depth instructions, videos, and troubleshooting documentation, the following links will lead you to external sites and Zotero guides published by other universities.