Research Guides: SSM1070H5: Sustainability Law and Policy (Winter 2022): CITATION TOOLS

WHICH STYLE SHOULD I USE?

Sustainability management is considered a social science, and the most popular citation style used in the social sciences is the American Psychological Association style, or APA.

Use APA to cite all sources, including government and legal, used in your assignments unless your professor advises otherwise.

Below are some resources to help you:

find resources to help you cite in APA style
avoid plagiarism

Check out this guide to learn more about citation. And remember some databases and the UofT catalogue will automatically generate APA style citations for your search results!

APA STYLE: GUIDANCE & EXAMPLES

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)'s APA Formatting and Style Guide provides comprehensive guidance (with examples) in using the APA Style. Selected links to Purdue OWL guidance are listed below, together with resources that focus specifically on referencing policy or government documents.

Two alternatives to Purdue OWL are:

Excelsior Online Writing Lab's guide for APA Style - for more basic, straight-forward referencing
University College London Institute of Education's Referencing with APA guide - for hundreds of templates and examples for virtually any kind of online and print work you might cite

Purdue OWL: APA Style: In-Text Citations: The Basics
Purdue OWL: APA Style: In-Text Citations: Author/Authors
Purdue OWL: APA Style: Reference List: Books
Good examples of book citations using APA style.
Purdue OWL: APA Style: Reference List: Electronic Sources (Web Publications)
Guidance on how cite an article with an assigned Digital Object Identifier (DOI) - and without - in APA style. Includes examples.
Purdue OWL: APA Style: Reference List: Other Print Sources
Includes examples of APA style citations for an encyclopedia entry, a government document, a conference proceeding and a report from a non-profit organization.
Douglas College Library: Citing Government Documents in APA
Provides sample APA style citations for a broad range of documents produced by federal, provincial and municipal Canadian government bodies.
University of Alberta Libraries: APA Citation Style: Tough Stuff
Provides good examples for Canadian case law, laws & statutes, government reports & statistics, non-profit organizations, and other materials that can be challenging to cite.
Simon Fraser University Library: Citing Canadian Government Documents in APA (From Simon Fraser University)
Another excellent guide to citing Canadian government documents in APA style. Includes examples for bills, regulations, case law, and acts/statutes.
Cornell Library: How to Cite US Government Documents in MLA, APA Citation Style
Click on the 'APA' tab to see examples of APA style citations for congressional bills, laws/statutes, executive documents, rules/regulations and more.

AVOIDING PLAGIARISM

UTM: Academic Integrity: Students
Outlines a plagiarism scenario, the potential consequence(s) involved, and identifies strategies and resources available at UTM that students can use to avoid plagiarism.
UTM: Robert Gillespie Academic Skills Centre: Academic Integrity Resources
Links to Quercus modules and an online assessment to build and test your understanding of academic integrity.
University of Toronto: Writing: How Not to Plagiarize
Not sure what counts as plagiarism? Use this resource to educate yourself.