SSM1070H5: Sustainability Law and Policy (Winter 2022)

A commercial legal database that includes 'secondary' Canadian legal literature, i.e. law review and journal articles and other commentary, in addition to the legislation and case law discussed in other parts of this guide.

To find articles, use the pull-down menu just to the right the search box and select 'CA Secondary Materials' from the menu. Enter your keyword(s) in the search box and click on the red 'Search' button. Use the 'Content Type' filter on the left-hand side of the results list to further limit your search results to law review or journal articles, or other legal commentary.

Another commercial legal database that includes secondary Canadian legal literature, as well as primary sources such as legislation and case law.

Click on 'LawSource' in the right-hand menu and then 'LawSource Journals and Law Reviews' under 'Commentary' to view a list of available titles. Click on individual titles to search within these OR click on the 'Advanced' link beside the orange 'Search' button to search across all titles using a keyword search. Articles, annotations and case commentary published in the 'Canadian Environmental Law Reports' are also found here.

WestlawNext also contains the 'Index to Canadian Legal Literature' which indexes Canadian journal articles, book reviews, monographs, government publications, case commentary and other texts. To search this index, click on the 'Index to Canadian Legal Literature' link under 'Finding Tools'. Enter your keywords into one or more of the search boxes listed and select the orange 'Search' button at the top. Use the 'Term frequency' option to increase the relevance of results if your initial search returns a large number of results. Use the 'Document Fields' options, e.g. 'Date', 'Subject' (use the 'Table of Subject Headings') to also limit or filter your results.

Indexes articles & book reviews from legal periodicals from 1985 to the present. Covers international law (public and private), comparative law, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, UK, and Commonwealth countries.

A database of journal articles, book chapters and policy and research reports related to sustainability. Covers more than 100 journals from 20+ disciplines and 5000+ research reports.

Another major multidisciplinary database. Covers 21,000+ sources from science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.