Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

 Subject Headings

for Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name):

• e.g., mann anthony, or eastwood clint, etc.

If you prefer to browse the shelves: 

• books about western films  are shelved within the Call Number range PN1995.9 .W4.
  • Both Innis and Robarts libraries have substantial holdings in their respective collections;
• books about film studios are shelved within the Call Number range PN1999.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO): These links will take you to annotated bibliographies that highlight key resources (books, book chapters, essays, articles, reviews) on the topic. Look up the resources using the UofT LIbraries system or contact Cinema Studies Librarian, Kate Johnson if you need help in accessing the materials.

​​​​​

Senses of Cinema

• Great Directors 

Film Studies for Free

• Dreaming of Westerns... More video essays including Tag Gallagher's classic on STAGECOACH

How to Find Journal Articles

• How do I find an article by title in LibrarySearch?

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• *American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog (1893-1975) contains detailed production information about specific films, as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (i.e. New York Times), trade & industry publications (i.e. Variety), popular magazines (i.e. Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay), and review publications (i.e. Monthly Film Bulletin) among others.
• FIAF international Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) 
• *Film Index International (1900-present) includes directors who a) have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration and was released between 1928 and 1965, and b) have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-present)

*There are no direct links to online content from these sources. See How to Find Journal Articles above for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.

• Kino: The Western Undergraduate Journal of Film Studies is "a student-run publication that serves to exhibit the best of film theory and critique as written by undergraduate students at The University of Western Ontario"

Reference

• Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
• International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers 
• Buscombe, Edward, ed. The BFI companion to the western. 
  • (Print only, Innis, Reference resource - use in library)
• Lamar, Howard R., ed. The new encyclopedia of the American West.
  • (Print only, Robarts)
• Phillips, Charles, et al. editors. Encyclopedia of the American West.
  • (Print only, Robarts, Reference resource - use in library)
• White. John. Westerns.
• Witschi, Nicolas S., ed. A companion to the literature and culture of the American west.

Selected bibliography

• Bandy, Mary Lea, et al. Ride, boldly ride: the evolution of the American western. 
• Goral, Pawel. Cold War Rivalry and the Perception of the American West.
• Kalinak, Kathryn. Music in the Western: notes from the frontier.
• Matheson, Sue, ed. Love in western film and television: lonely hearts and happy trails. 
• McGillis, Roderick. He was some kind of a man: masculinities in the B western. 
• McVeigh, Stephen. The American western.
  • (print only - Innis College or Robarts)
• Needham, Gary. Brokeback Mountain. 
• Nelson, Andrew Patrick, ed. Contemporary westerns: film and television since 1990. 
  • (print only -  Robarts)
• Pippin, Robert B. Hollywood westerns and American myth: the importance of Howard Hawks and John Ford for political philosophy
• Simmon, Scott. The invention of the western film: a cultural history of the genre's first half-century.
  • (Print only - Innis, Robarts, Pratt) 
• Tompkins, Jane P. West of everything: the inner life of westerns. 
• Verhoeff, Nanna. The West in early cinema: after the beginning.