• CIN211: Science Fiction Films: guides.library.utoronto.ca/CIN211
• CIN215: Fantasy Films: guides.library.utoronto.ca/CIN215

Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

 Subject Headings

for books about Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name):

• e.g., scott, ridley,  

for books about Individual films (Search as above and if the title is used in film and literature, add the names of filmmakers, actors, etc.) :

•  "star wars", "invasion of the body snatchers", etc.
• Dune AND Villeneuve

for film studios (headings vary; search as above):

• e.g., Hammer film productions

If you prefer to browse the shelves: 

• books about science fiction films are shelved within the Call Number range PN1995.9 .S26.
  • Both Innis and Robarts libraries have substantial holdings in their respective collections, but you can also request for books to be transferred from other locations
• books about film studios are shelved within the Call Number range PN1999.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO): These links will take you to annotated bibliographies that highlight key resources (books, book chapters, essays, articles, reviews) on the topic, but more are added each year). 

Look up the resources using the UofT LibrarySearch. If you need help in accessing the materials, explore this FAQ page, connect with online help through Ask a Librarian, or contact Cinema Studies Librarian, Kate Johnson

How to Find Journal Articles

• How do I find an article by title in LibrarySearch?

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• *American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog (1893-1975) contains detailed production information about specific films, as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (i.e. New York Times), trade & industry publications (i.e. Variety), popular magazines (i.e. Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay), and review publications (i.e. Monthly Film Bulletin) among others.
• FIAF international Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) 
• *Film Index International (1900-present) includes directors who a) have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration and was released between 1928 and 1965, and b) have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-present)

Some of these resources will redirect to the article held in another database or you can search for the journal title and find the article using the citation information. Learn more using the link at the top of this section. 

Want to narrow the scope of your research? Try searching one particular scholarly journal. The journal files are typically hosted in a larger database or within the publication's online archive.

Not sure how to build an effective search? Explore UofT Library Research Skills Modules for tips. 

• American science fiction film and television
• Brave new words: the Oxford dictionary of science fiction 
• Critical Terms for Science Fiction and Fantasy : A Glossary and Guide to Scholarship
• Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
• International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers 
• Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film 
• Science fiction and fantasy artists of the twentieth century : a biographical dictionary
• The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature
• The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction
• The Cambridge Companion to Utopian Literature
• The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction Movies
• The fantasy film 
• The Greenwood encyclopedia of science fiction and fantasy : themes, works, and wonders 
• Historical dictionary of science fiction cinema
• The Oxford Handbook of Science Fiction
• Reference Guide to Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror
• The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction
• The Science Fiction Handbook
• The Science Fiction Image : The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Science Fiction in Film, Television, Radio and the Theater
• Science fiction in the movies : an A-Z
• The Ultimate Star Wars and Philosophy: You must Unlearn what you have Lear