Research guides: Entrepreneurship: Indigenous Entrepreneurship

Indigenous Entrepreneurship

Indigenous entrepreneurs are the fastest growing demographic of entrepreneurs in Canada, according to Startup Canada. This page is designed to provide easy access to a selection of resources designed for Indigenous entrepreneurs in the U of T community.

Best Bets - Start here

Indigenous Entrepreneurship Workshops @ U of T
This weekly workshop series brings an Indigenous and non-Indigenous lens to entrepreneurship. Led by Redbird Circle in partnership with The BRIDGE @ UTSC, ICUBE UTM and University of Toronto Libraries, these workshops aim to build traditional knowledge, build community, facilitate partnerships and mentorships, and build pathways to success for Indigenous entrepreneurs.
First Nations House @ U of T
First Nations House (FNH) is a culturally relevant hub for Indigenous students at the University of Toronto. Meet with an Indigenous Career Coordinator at FNH to plan how entrepreneurship can fit into your career plans.
Resources for Indigenous Entrepreneurs - Startup Canada
A curated list of resources created in partnership with the Business Development Bank of Canada. In downloadable PDF format.

Education and Training

Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Training - Canadian Centre for Aboriginal Entrepreneurship
The Canadian Centre for Aboriginal Entrepreneurship (CCAE) Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Training Program helps First Nations, Métis, and Inuit people who are interested in becoming self-employed or starting their own business. It is for both those who have a solid idea and want to see it happen, and for those who have an interest in business but have no specific idea yet.
First Peoples Enterprise Accelerator Program
Based at RADIUS, a social innovation hub based out of the Beedie School of Business at Simon Fraser University, FPEAP’s process is to work in partnership with Indigenous led organizations to co-create entrepreneurship programs that will best serve their communities. This includes cohort and peer-based learning that centres Indigenous wisdom, the strengths of the entrepreneur, and community impact.
Indigenous Advancement of Cultural Entrepreneurship (ACE)
During the ACE Program, students engage in 5 interactive courses tailored to their individual needs and interests in preparation of owning and operating a business.
Indigenous Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship - City of Toronto
The City of Toronto is working with the local Indigenous community to develop the Indigenous Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (ICIE). The ICIE is a space designed to give the Indigenous community an opportunity to explore their entrepreneurial aspirations by providing space, business programming, advisory services, mentorship supports, shared co-workspace, community event space and connections to business networks.
Kwe-Biz
Kwe-Biz provides Indigenous-led online and in-person business training and mentorship for Indigenous women entrepreneurs. Whether you are in the startup phase or have an existing business you would like to grow, Kwe-Biz provides ongoing support through unique programming.
Mizewe Biik
Miziwe Biik offers employment support and training services to the Indigenous community in the GTA. Their career specialists can help you develop a business plan and find and apply for business grants.

Funding

Inclusion on this page is not an endorsement by U of T Libraries. Text below is adapted from the site descriptions.

For more funding sources for U of T entrepreneurs, please visit the U of T Entrepreneurship site.

Futurpreneur Indigenous Program
Futurpreneur Canada supports Indigenous entrepreneurs aged 18-39, helping them launch or buy their own business with up to $60,000 in financing, an expert mentor for up to two years, and access to resources.
Indigenous Banking - Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC)
BDC offers loans and advisory services by account managers dedicated exclusively to Indigenous entrepreneurs.
Indigenous Business Development - Indigenous Services Canada
Government of Canada programs that support Indigenous entrepreneurs and business owners in Canada. Includes link to Indigenous Business Registry, procurement strategies, access to capital and business opportunities, among other resources.
Indigenous Innovation Initiative - Grand Challenges Canada
An Indigenous innovation platform with a goal to empower Indigenous innovators and communities to identify and solve their own challenges, transforming lives and driving inclusive growth and health through innovation.
National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association (NACCA)
NACCA, the National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association, is a network of over 50 Aboriginal Financial Institutions (AFIs) dedicated to stimulating economic growth for all Indigenous people in Canada. NACCA supports the network by building AFI capacity and fostering Indigenous business development. The site contains links to resources on starting a business, events, programs and more.
Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund
NADF delivers programs and services to First Nation communities and wholly-owned or majority-owned Aboriginal businesses and entities located on or off-reserve in Northern Ontario. Support includes advisory services, funding opportunities, workshops, tools and resources.
Pow Wow Pitch
Pow Wow Pitch is about Supporting Indigenous Entrepreneurship. To provide a safe, supportive, collaborative, empowering and culturally supportive environment that addresses the unique challenges of Indigenous entrepreneurs and aspiring Indigenous entrepreneurs. To enhance, develop and accelerate growth for current and aspiring Indigenous entrepreneurs in a sustainable way through programs and resources. Community leadership through volunteerism will be promoted as a reflection of respect and reciprocity and will be paramount to the foundation of the Pow Wow Pitch. Creating opportunities for Indigenous entrepreneurs to shine.
Raven Indigenous Capital Partners
Raven is a venture capital investment firm that works with Indigenous communities and enterprises to develop innovative financial tools that address critical social, financing, and policy barriers. It builds relationships with Indigenous entrepreneurs to drive sustainable change and address pressing social, economic, and environmental challenges.
Technology and Entrepreneurship Scholarships For Indigenous Youth - Animikii
This scholarship provides Indigenous youth in a post-secondary setting with a $500 scholarship for books, tuition, supplies or any other cost-of-living expenses related to their time in a post-secondary program with a focus on either technology or entrepreneurship.
Tools and Financing for Aboriginal Business - Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB)
Start or scale your business with resources created by your peers and by industry leading institutions. Find templates, worksheets and guides as well as CCAB members committed to Aboriginal entrepreneurship.
Waubetek
Waubetek Business Development Corporation is an Aboriginal-owned and controlled organization that delivers business financing and economic development services to First Nations and Aboriginal entrepreneurs in North-Eastern Ontario.

Mentorship and Networking

BeTheDrum Entrepreneur Outreach Navigation Program - Native Women's Association of Canada
#BeTheDrum is an Entrepreneurial Outreach and Navigation Program developed by the Native Women’s Association of Canada designed to build the skills of Indigenous women entering the sphere of Business, Management, and Entrepreneurship.
Events - Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business
Each year, the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB) hosts approximately 15 events throughout the country. CCAB events like the annual Aboriginal Economic Development Corporation Conference and awards galas provide attendees with opportunities to share ideas, network, and interact with peers, colleagues and Aboriginal business leaders.
Indigenous Business Directory - Indigenous Services Canada
An online directory produced by the Government of Canada that allows procurement officers and the private sector to identify Indigenous businesses.
Indigenous Organizations - Indigenous Works
Indigenous Works, formerly the Aboriginal Human Resource Council, is a national social enterprise that works with companies and organizations to strengthen their performance and results in Indigenous employment, workplace engagement and inclusion.
Inuit Women in Business Network
Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada welcomes your participation as a mentor or mentee in the business mentorship program.
National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association (NACCA)
NACCA, the National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association, is a network of over 50 Aboriginal Financial Institutions (AFIs) dedicated to stimulating economic growth for all Indigenous people in Canada. NACCA supports the network by building AFI capacity and fostering Indigenous business development. The site contains links to resources on starting a business, events, programs and more.
Okwaho Equal Source
We are an Indigenous social purpose enterprise on a mission to fuel social impact through human-centred design, innovation, and Indigenous-led research.
Shine Network
The Shine Network is a direct response to the chronic underrepresentation of Indigenous women on screen and behind the camera in Canada’s media production sector. The platform offers a digital cinema space for content created by Indigenous women and a professional development incubator for Indigenous women pursuing a career in the film, television and media industry.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship Librarian

Indigenous Entrepreneurship

On this page:

See also:

Best Bets - Start here

Education and Training

Funding

Mentorship and Networking

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us