Skip to main content

Research Guides

Resource Collections on China

Introduction

Within the University of Toronto Library system, the Cheng Yu Tung East Asian Library specializes in collecting and preserving research materials in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean, with an emphasis on humanities and social sciences. This guide aims to provide users with a general introduction to print and electronic research resources related to Chinese Studies at U of T and on the open Internet. 

Research help

For consultation on Chinese Studies resources,  class visits, general/subject library tours, or other inquries, please contact:

 

 

Stephen Qiao 乔晓勤

Chinese Studies Librarian

Cheng Yu Tung East Asian Library

(416) 946-7522 or 978-6716

e-mail:stephen.qiao@utoronto.ca 
 

Lucy Gan 甘露

East Asian Information Service Librarian 

Cheng Yu Tung East Asian Library

(416) 978-1025

e-mail: lucy.gan@utoronto.ca 

 

EAL Announcements

Temporary Access to Chinese E-Collections during the COVID-19 Crisis

During the COVID-19 Crisis, the East Asian Library has contacted our Chinese vendors to temporarily make available access to the following databases. Access to many of them is mediated by the UofT IP range, and will hence require the UTORvpn.  Please find related information at https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/ic-faq-categories/utorvpn , with installation instruction at https://isea.utoronto.ca/services/vpn/utorvpn/users/ 

Please contact ref.eal@utoronto.ca for questions and further information about the temporary e-resources.

Database Name Content Scope How to Access Expiry Date
additional e-contents suites in Da Cheng Old Journals

Republican books 民国图书, historical newspapers 近代报纸, local gazetteers 古代方志, CCP documents 党史, historical photographs 老照片, etc. 

through the Da Cheng Old Journals platform

UofT login required

June 30, 2020
additional e-contents suites in Chinese Periodical Full-text Database

Many more suites in this archival database of Shanghai Library is now temporarily accessible by the UofT community. Please note that access to the database is subject to a concurrent user limit at UofT. If you cannot login, wait later to try again. 

through the Chinese Periodical Full-text Database

UofT login required

July 9, 2020
大公报全文检索数据库 the full-text database of Ta Kung Pao / Da Gong Bao 大公報  

http://tk.dhcdb.com.tw/tknewsc/tknewskm 

UofT VPN required 

June 30, 2020

Early Twentieth Century Books in China (1912-1949) / 民国图书数据库

- a collection of Chinese publications of the Republican era

- files are in full-text images; no full-text search available at present 

http://mg.nlcpress.com/library/publish/default/IndexBook.jsp

​UofT VPN required 

Sept. 30, 2020
Epitaph of Song Dynasty /
宋代墓志铭数据库
a database that collects digitized epitaph texts of Song dynasty

http://inscription.ancientbooks.cn/
docShike/shikeSublibIndex.jspx?libId=1
 

​UofT VPN required 

June 30, 2020
Epitaph of Tang Dynasty /
唐代墓志铭数据库
a database that collects digitized epitaph texts of Tang dynasty

http://inscription.ancientbooks.cn/
docShike/shikeSublibIndex.jspx?libId=5

​UofT VPN required 

June 30, 2020
San Jin Stone Inscription /
三晋石刻大全数据库
a database that collects digitized epitaph texts of
the Sanjin area that is mainly contemporary Shanxi province

http://inscription.ancientbooks.cn/
docShike/shikeSublibIndex.jspx?libId=3

​UofT VPN required 

June 30, 2020
Inscription of Han Wei
and Six Dynasties Period / 
汉魏六朝碑刻数据库
a database that collects digitized epitaph texts of Han dynasty and the Six Dynasty era

http://inscription.ancientbooks.cn/
docShike/shikeSublibIndex.jspx?libId=4

​UofT VPN required 

June 30, 2020
Jinshi Database /
历代进士登科数据库
a primary source e-collection on historical documents
and literature related to the Jinshi (进士) examination

http://examination.ancientbooks.cn/
docDengke/

​UofT VPN required 

June 30, 2020
Chinese Calligraphy Database/
中华书法数据库
a database on Chinese calligraphy

http://calligraphy.ancientbooks.cn/ 

​UofT VPN required 

June 30, 2020
       
       
CNPeReading Overseas Platform / 中国电子书库平台

a e-library of Chinese books with highlights of the contents:

 1.中国学术书库(4100多种中文电子书)China E-book Hub-Chinese Academic E-book Library4000 Chinese academic e-books

 2.民国区域及行业经济专题库(500多种民国图书)Provincial and Sub-industry Economic Thematic Collection of the Republican China 1912-1949

 3.云冈石窟全集第1The Complete Works of Yungang GrottoesAccording to the requirements of the publishing house only the first volume's trial access of this set has been established

http://www.chinaebook.com

​UofT VPN required 

June 30, 2020
Scripta Sinica database / 漢籍全文資料庫計畫 Scripta Sinica, undertaken by Academia Sinica, is a large fulltext database that covers  almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.  The breadth of its coverage makes it a great tool for scholars in the field of traditional Sinology. 

http://hanchi.ihp.sinica.edu.tw/ihp/hanji.htm

​UofT VPN required 

September 30, 2020
Archives of the Grand Secretariat / 中研院史語所內閣大庫檔案資料庫

The Archives of the Grand Secretariat, currently housed at Academia Sinica (Taiwan), were originally kept at the Grand Secretariat Storehouse of the Ch’ing imperial palace. This collection contains over 4,000 documents of Ming (1368 - 1644)  and 300,000 volumes of archival materials of Ch’ing (1644 -1911), ranging from imperial decrees, edicts, memorials and tribute files, to examination papers, documents of the Grand Secretariat and old documents from Mukden. Among these, court memorials make up the bulk these documents.

備註:內閣大庫檔案瀏覽權限以三個月為一期,團體用戶每期瀏覽上限為1500頁,期滿頁數重新計算,未用完張數不累計至下一期。本期瀏覽權限計算至6月底止,2020年7月份起重新起算。

http://archive.ihp.sinica.edu.tw/mctkm2c/ttsweb?@0:0:1:mctkm2@@0.30376778024743256

UofT VPN required, in addition:

  • 群組:LIB (此欄務必輸入)
  • 帳號:uoft
  • 密碼:uoft

First-time users need to download and install the following reader program:

September 30, 2020
       
       
       
       


 

Temporary Access to Several Historical E-Collections through Da Cheng Old Journals during the COVID-19 Crisis

Superstar, the Chinese company that creates and maintains the e-collections of Duxiu Knowledge Search and Da Cheng Old Journals, is now offering the UofT community temporary access to several more of its electronic suites, covering e-contents ranging from Republican books, historical newspapers and local gazetteers, to CCP documents and historical photographs. The UofT access to these new suites is mediated through the database of Da Cheng Old Journals, and will last until June 30, 2020. 

da cheng

Temporary Access to Chinese E-Collections during COVID-19 Crisis -- Shanghai Library Suites

Shanghai Library is opening up many more suites of its impressive archival e-collections for temporary access by the UofT community:

(please note: access to the database is subject a concurrent user limit at UofT. If you cannot log in, wait later to try again. )

Shanghai Library

Explore CHINESE STUDIES - OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies is a multi- and inter-disciplinary enterprise covering the study of China across all disciplines. Explore this great e-resource on Chinese Studies at http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com.myaccess.library.utoronto.ca/browse?module_0=obo-9780199920082