Here is a list of comprehensive sources for citing Chinese sources in English papers. You may consult any of the following sources for citing Chinese sources when writing in English.
The guide by Yale University Library provides examples of how to cite Chinese sources in bibliography and footnotes (with transliteration and translation) in Chicago, MLA and APA styles.
The types of sources include books, book chapters, journal articles, databases, DVDs/films, newspapers, and websites.
University of California Berkeley Library
The University of California Berkeley Library’s citation guides for Chinese resources provides citation examples for Chicago, MLA and APA styles in bibliography and footnotes (with transliteration and translation).
Hong Kong Baptist University Library
This research guide page also covers APA, MLA and Chicago styles.
It especially notes the capitalization rules in pinyin romanization, and particularly points out the use of Chinese characters following the Chinese romanization in Chicago style.
A comprehensive list of how to cite Asian-language sources with examples by the UBC Asian Library and the departments of Asian Studies. Source documents available in PDF and Word formats.
Additionally, some style guides of journal article publishing are also listed here (Brill and HJAS) for reference.
Brill Chinese Citation Style Guide
Brill’s template and guide on Chinese citation is generally based on the Chicago style with extra information on Chinese names, repeated reference and transliteration.
Recommend to consult the current issues of journal articles from these publishers on Asian Studies and History subject is also recommended.
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
The style sheet of Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies includes romanization and use of Chinese characters, citation guide and sample citations.
Recommend to consult the recent HJAS published works.
For those who are used to the citation management software, here are some resources:
Zotero/Mendeley especially for citing Chinese sources
CEAL workshop on Managing Citations in Chinese Languages by Tang Li and Susan Xue, 2014.
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.