Research Guides: Collections and Resources on China: Newspapers

Chinese newspaper databases

Shen Bao, 1872-1949 / 申報
Shen Bao was established in Shanghai from April 30, 1872 to May 27, 1949. It was the first and the most influential commercial newspaper in modern China, and had played a pivotal role in forming and leading public opinion through late Qing dynasty and the Republican era. The Shen Bao database is full-text searchable in traditional Chinese characters.

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) This link opens in a new window
This database has contents from a number of Chinese historical newspapers published in late Qing and the Republican period.

Da Cheng Fulltext Database of Journal Journals / 大成老刊全文数据库
Da Cheng Fulltext Database of Old Journals (大成老旧期刊全文数据库) : Da Cheng Old Journal Full-text Database holds a collection of more than 6,600 periodicals, 128,000 issues and 1.3 million articles which were published between the late Qing Dynasty and 1949 in China.
Data Platform on Anti-Japanese War and Modern Sino-Japan Relationship (historical newspapers) / 抗日战争与近代中日关系文献数据平台 (历史报纸)
The newspaper collection of the Data Platform on Anti-Japanese War and Modern Sino-Japan Relationship -- a treasure trove of republican-era historical newspapers including those published by the Communist Party of China.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (of the Global Press Archive project)
The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers is an Open Access collection released under the Global Press Archive (GPA) project, which the University of Toronto Libraries has participated in and provided funding for. Available titles include newspapers such as 大公晚報, 東南日報, 立報, 實報, 中央日報, 武漢日報, etc.
The People's Daily, 1946-2012 / 人民日报, 1946 - 2012
South China morning post (1903-2001) / 香港南華早報
The South China Post is a Hong Kong-based English-language newspaper.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection
Part of the Proquest Historical Newspapers package, providing fulltext, searcheable access to 20 plus historical newspapers published in China, mainly in the late 19th and early 20th century.
Index to Periodicals Published during the Late Qing and Republican Eras / 晚清民国时期数字化报刊索引 (Open Access)
This is an online index to track and access digitized historical newspapers and magazines of the Late Qing and Republican eras. The index is created and maintained by the George Washington University Library.
Translations of the Peking Gazette Online
Translations of the Peking Gazette Online is a comprehensive database of approximately 8,500 pages of English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from the Qing dynasty that cover China’s long nineteenth century from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912.
近代臺灣報刊資料庫 (Open Access)
本資料庫收錄共收錄《臺南新報》、《臺灣民報》2種報刊

EAL newspapers & newspaper microfilms

Local Chinese Newspaper Holdings in Microfilms at the East Asian Library
Local Print Chinese Newspaper Holdings at the East Asian Library
Discover what print Chinese newspapers you can find at the East Asian Library.

Select Chinese newspaper reprints

The East Asian Library has reprint copies of historical newspapers originating in China. All information is available through the library catalogue. Below are some select titles of this type of resource:

滙報 : 1898-1910 (格致益聞匯報)
國風報
Edited by Guozhen He and Qichao Liang.
詩報 : 日治時期臺灣傳統文學大成 (1930 -1944)
時務報
中華學報
Zhonghua xin bao
匪情月報, 1960-1985
民報， 1905-1908
洪憲公報
袁世凱史料彙刊 ; 18
兩廣官報, 1911
Min li bao, 1910-1913
內閣官報, 1911-1912
清議報
Xin min cong bao
外交報彙編
Zheng zhi guan bao

Related guides for newspaper research

Users may explore English newspaper databases and web resources with the following guides:

Newspaper: Current and Historical

Chinese newspapers online - Mainland China

Many Chinese newspapers these days allow open access to the electronic version of their latest / recent issues. Below are some select Chinese e-papers:

Jie fang ri bao / 解放日报（1941-1947，延安）
Jie fang ri bao / 解放日报（1949-1950，上海）
People's Daily (1946-) (人民日报图文数据库 1946-)
An online version of the People's Daily with the coverage dated back to 1946. Contents can be searched by keywords or browsed by publication dates, but access to full-text articles is restricted to subscribed users only. In spite of that, this might be a great "discovery" tool for the People's Daily newspaper.
人民网 (people.cn)
This is the website hosted by the People's Daily. The e-newspaper of the People's Daily is available under the drop-down menu of "人民日报报系" in the upper right corner of the screen.
China Daily (中国日报)
China Daily is China's national English-language newspaper that targets Western readers.
Xinhua Net (新华网)
Xinhua Net is the website of Xinhua News Agency, the state press agency of the People's Republic of China, directly under the administration of the PRC State Council.
China News Service (中新网)
This is the website of China News Service, the Chinese national news agency whose main responsibility has been to report to overseas audiences.
Qiushi (求是)
Qiushi Journal is an influential publication of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China. Its contents cover policy-making and theoretical studies, directly related to the governing philosophy of the CPC.
Qiushi English version (求是 - 英语版)
Global Times: E-Paper (环球时报)
China Youth Daily (中国青年报)
Guangming Daily (光明日报)
also, 中华读书报 and 文摘报
The Guangming Daily is an influential national newspaper of China, mainly targeting Chinese intellectuals. The website is also the home for other e-papers, such as 中华读书报 and 文摘报, published by the Guangming Daily Group.
Legal Daily (法制日报)
The Legal Daily is a state-owned newspaper under the direct supervision of the Chinese Communist Party's Central Commission for Political and Legal Affairs (中共中央政法委员会). The newspaper primarily covers legal developments in China.
Workers' Daily (工人日报)
The Workers' Daily is a national newspaper published by the All-China Federation of Trade Unions (中华全国总工会). The e-paper is accessible through the website.
Nanfang Zhoumo (南方周末)
Caixin (财新网)
Caijing (财经网)
China Art Weekly (美术报)
時報 (Eastern Times)
時報 (Eastern Times) was a Chinese newspaper published in Shanghai between 1904 and the 1930s. The digitized version has issues of August, 1912, and those of August, October and December, 1927.

Chinese newspapers online - Overseas

Simon Fraser University - Digitized Newspapers
The SFU project inherits many of those Canadian contents originating with the Multicltural Canada digitization project. It currently includes over 130 collections, with more than 1.3 million digitized newspapers, photographs, documents, sound recordings, and other objects, including an impressive Chinese language collection.
Singtao Daily (星島日報)
World Journal (世界日報)
Mingpao (明報)
Library of Congress: U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present
The U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present, has information of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 and can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America has hisotric newspaper pages from the 1830s to the 1920s.

Chinatown News
Published by the Chinese Publicity Bureau in Vancouver, British Columbia, the Chinatown News was an English-language biweekly magazine that represented the interests of the English-speaking Chinese-Canadians in Vancouver. Topic wise, the newspaper had an international scope and was inclusive of all people of the Chinese heritage. The publicatoin was constant in its effort to construct a distinct Chinese-Canadian identity and was a principle instrument of reclaiming a culture for Chinese-Canadians. It was tarted in 1953 as "Chinatown"; the title was changed to "Chinatown News" in 1956.
Chinese Newspapers in Southeast Asia
This open digital collection is undertaken by the National University of Singapore to digitize and make available its comprehensive collectionof historical Chinese newspapers published in Singapore and Malaysia, with the earliest of them traced back to the 1800s. Some of the titles included are Lat Pau 叻报, Sing Po 星报, Thien Nan Shin Pao 天南新报, Penang Sin Poe 槟城新报, Chong Shing Yit Pao 中兴日报, Sin Kok Min Jit Pao 新国民日报, and so on.
Chung Sai Yat Po (中西日报)
Chinese News (加華時報, 1983-1998)
The Chinese News 加華時報 was founded in 1983 and distributed news and advertising to the Chinese American population in San Diego and southern California until 1998. The weekly newspaper contains local and international news articles written in Chinese. This online collection is preserved and digitizied by UC San Diego Library.

Research Guides

Collections and Resources on China

Chinese newspaper databases

EAL newspapers & newspaper microfilms

Select Chinese newspaper reprints

Related guides for newspaper research

Chinese newspapers online - Mainland China

Chinese newspapers online - Overseas

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us