The following screencasts are designed to show you the mechanics of major health science databases-- where to point and where to click as you go through the comprehensive searching process. We've made them short and sweet, so you can watch the entire series or only watch the videos that pertain to your particular question. 

Clinical Tools

• VisualDx 

A clinical point-of-care tool that aims to improve diagnostic accuracy and patient safety in medical decisions made by healthcare professionals. Its diverse image collection is the largest visual atlas for skin of colour, and covers 46,000+ skin types, ages, disease presentation variations, and 3400+ diseases. Searches of its disease visualizations can also be filtered to view skin of colour only.

Note about PubMed vs OVID Medline

PubMed = Public Medline

MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed (http://pubmed.gov/), the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM®). In addition to MEDLINE citations, PubMed also contains, among other items, in-process citations which provide a record for an article before it is indexed with MeSH and added to MEDLINE or converted to out-of-scope status. More information here. 

The Black Life in America Collection

This collection documents significant contributions African Americans have had on American history while offering an expansive window into centuries of African American history and culture. Content in the database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

• Series 1: 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction

• Series 2: 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement