Research Guides: Black Health Pedagogy &amp; Research Guide: Films & Videos

The Film Platform Collection

The Film Platform Collection is a global collection of award-winning documentary films. The collection of several hundred documentary films such as Managing Therapeutic Issues With African-American Clients (1992); Black is... Black Ain't (1995); Black Feminist (2019). Of interest to scholars of American studies, race studies, political science, religion, history, and legal studies.

Alexander Street - Black Studies Collection
The collection includes documentaries on leading artists, writers, musicians, playwrights, and performers, such as Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, Huey P. Newton, Frantz Fanon, Zora Neale Hurston, Richard Wright, Eldridge Cleaver, August Wilson, Bobby Seale, Ethel Waters, Amiri Baraka, and Robert F. Williams.
NFB’s Black Communities in Canada Collection
The National Film Board of Canada's award-winning online Screening Room, featuring over 5,000 productions.

Popular Films

Black Panther
After the death of his father, T'Challa returns home to the African nation of Wakanda to take his rightful place as king. When a powerful enemy suddenly reappears, T'Challa's mettle as king -- and as Black Panther -- gets tested when he's drawn into a conflict that puts the fate of Wakanda and the entire world at risk.
Hidden Figures
As the United States raced against Russia to put a man in space, NASA found untapped talent in a group of African-American female mathematicians that served as the brains behind one of the greatest operations in U.S. history. Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, and Katherine Johnson crossed all gender, race, and professional lines while their brilliance and desire to dream big, beyond anything ever accomplished before by the human race, firmly cemented them in U.S. history as true American heroes.
The Woman King
In the 1800s, a group of all-female warriors protects the African kingdom of Dahomey with skills and fierceness, unlike anything the world has ever seen.

Historical Dramas

Roots
Kunta Kinte is sold into the slave trade after being abducted from his African village, and is taken to the United States. Kinte and his family observe notable events in American history, such as the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, slave uprisings and emancipation.
Sankofa
Sankofa captures the emotional texture of life under — and against — slavery.

Research Guides

Black Health Pedagogy & Research Guide

Popular Films

Historical Dramas

Black Health Matters Lab

Black Research Network

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us