Research Guides: Black Health Pedagogy &amp; Research Guide: Journals

Searching a specific journal vs article databases

Pro tip: If you're searching for a specific known article, or doing some preliminary background research on a topic, it can be helpful to search a specific journal.

If you are working on a type of literature review, and need to do a more comprehensive search across many journals, it's recommended to conduct your search in a journal article database for a subject area or covering several disciplines, depending on your research question (e.g. MEDLINE, Embase, PsycINFO, Scopus, etc).

Education & Pedagogy

Journal Committed to Social Change on Race and Ethnicity (JCSCORE)
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that explores the status, needs, and direction of human relations studies affected by race, ethnicity, and sovereignty in higher education policy, practice, and theory.
Journal of African American Males in Education (JAAME)
An open access, peer-reviewed journal devoted to advancing scholarship and practice on African American males in education. Includes research on African American males throughout the educational pipeline (P-20), in various contexts (e.g., urban, suburban, rural), and in multiple capacities (e.g., students, teachers, faculty, staff, administrators).
Journal of African American Women and Girls in Education (JAAGWE)
An open access journal, peer-reviewed journal devoted to advancing scholarship and praxis related to African American women and girls in education. Covers the educational pipeline (P-20), in various contexts (e.g., urban, STEM, policy/law, spirituality, assessment, community partnerships, professional development, etc), and across various disciplines (e.g., Teacher Education, Educational Leadership, Educational Psychology, Counseling, and the like). Also the sister journal to the Journal of African American Males in Education (JAAME).
The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education (JBHE)
An online magazine that publishes articles, reports, and statistics on Black students and faculty in the United States.
Formerly an academic journal that covered the governance, policies, and practices in colleges and universities, and the broader intellectual issues, policies, and strategies that affect the progress of blacks in institutions of higher education.
Journal of Diversity in Higher Education
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education (NADOHE).
A multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal that includes empirical research focused on issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusion in post-secondary environments. Content covers the experiences and outcomes of individuals from underrepresented and underserved communities, focusing on institutional barriers and challenges, patterns of access and achievement, and the impact of engaging with diverse students, faculty, and administrators.
The Journal of Negro Education (JNE)
A refereed journal founded at Howard University. Includes research that seeks to identify and define the problems that characterized the education of Black people in the United States and elsewhere, provides a forum for analysis and solutions, and serves as a vehicle for sharing statistics and research on a national basis. Covers professional education as well as the areas of education in the social sciences, physical and natural sciences, and the arts and technology.
Negro Educational Review Journal (NER)
An international, peer-reviewed journal published by University of Pittsburgh School of Education.
Covers issues related to the experiences of Black people throughout the African Diaspora.
Race & Pedagogy Journal
Covers issues of teaching and race to improve education and mitigate the effects of discrimination and structural racism.
The Western Journal of Black Studies
An interdisciplinary journal that focuses mainly on the experiences of African Americans.

Behavioural & Mental Health

African Journal of Psychiatry
Publishes empirical and conceptual research articles, reviews, editorials, and scientific letters related to psychiatry.
Cultural diversity and ethnic minority psychology
(Formerly Cultural diversity and mental health)
Cultural diversity and mental health
Explores the way age, ethnicity, gender, race, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, language, religion, and political and social ideology can have an impact on clinical assessment and the treatment process.
Journal of Black Psychology
Contains scholarly contributions within the field of psychology toward the understanding of the experience and behavior of Black populations. Includes work in the areas of cognition, personality, social behavior, physiological functioning, child development, education, and clinical application, in addition to empirical research and original theoretical formulations outside traditional boundaries, all integrated by a focus on the domain of Black populations and the objective of scholarly contributions.
Journal of Child & Adolescent Mental Health
Publishes papers contributing to the improvement of mental health of children and adolescents, with an emphasis on epidemiology, mental health prevention and promotion, psychotherapy, pharmacotherapy, and policy and risk behavior.

Culture, Ethnicity, & Race

Ethnicity and Health
International journal with multidisciplinary studies that investigate the relationship between ’ethnicity’ and ’health’ (including medicine and nursing, public health, epidemiology, social sciences, population sciences, and statistics). Also covers issues of culture, religion, gender, class, migration, lifestyle and racism, in so far as they relate to health and its anthropological and social aspects.
HealthQuest: The Publication of Black Wellness
Ceased in 2002
Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities
Contains literature that seeks to understand, address, and ultimately eliminate health disparities based on race and ethnicity. Includes ongoing studies and studies with longer-term data and support best practices are accepted.
The New England Journal of Medicine - Race and Medicine
A collection of resources that aims to understand and combat racism as a public health and human rights crisis, and improve the care and lives of patients who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color.

Nursing

ABNF (Association of Black Nursing Faculty) Journal
Presents the distinct nature and health-care needs of the Black patient with original research.
Africa Journal of Nursing & Midwifery
Focuses on health-related issues related to nursing & midwifery.
Curationis
Official journal of the Democratic Nursing Organisation of South Africa exploring issues and experiences relating to, and supporting, nursing and midwifery best-practice development through research learning and problem-based knowledge sharing across the African continent.
International Journal of Africa Nursing Sciences
Provides a forum for all aspects of nursing and midwifery sciences in Africa, especially new trends and advances.
Journal of Christian Nursing
Publishes content focusing on helping nurses integrate issues of faith and nursing practice. Includes information on clinical topics, research, spiritual care, ethics, faith community nursing, healthcare missions, nursing education, and personal growth and self-care
Professional Nursing Today
Covers all nursing and midwifery disciplines.
West African Journal of Nursing

Nutrition

African journal of food, agriculture, nutrition, and development.
A peer-reviewed academic journal covering food and nutrition issues in Africa.
The North African Journal of Food and Nutrition Research
A journal with the latest laboratory and clinical findings in the fields of human nutrition and food sciences, primarliy focusing on developing countries in Africa. Includes original research, review, case reports, hypothesis formation, expert opinion, and commentaries.
The South African Journal of Clinical Nutrition
Contains articles on dietetics and human nutrition, including clinical nutrition, public health nutrition, food science, food policy, food service management, and nutrition policy. Includes articles from countries all across Africa to act as a forum for the discussion of African nutritional issues.

Obstetrics & Gynecology

South African Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
A general specialist obstetrics and gynecology journal that carries original research articles, editorials, clinical practice, personal opinion, South African health-related news, obituaries, and general correspondence.
Southern African Journal of Gynaecological Oncology
Focuses on all aspects of gynecological cancer prevention, detection, diagnosis and treatment.

Pharmacy

African Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
East and Central African Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences
A scientific journal dedicated to all aspects of Pharmaceutical Sciences research. Publishes review papers, original research papers, and short communications.

Surgery

African Journal of Paediatric Surgery
Publishes clinical and laboratory-based research manuscripts relating to all aspects of paediatric surgery. It is also a medium for publicizing meetings and news relating to advances in Paediatric Surgery and child health within Africa and the rest of the world.
Annals of African Surgery
Provides a medium for the exchange of information, including clinical research, experimental research, and surgical education, between surgeons in the African region.
Annals of Pediatric Surgery
An open-access peer-reviewed journal that offers publications of original research, meeting reports, reviews, case reports, letters to the editor and ‘how I do it article’ on topics in general pediatric surgery, pediatric urology, pediatric plastic and reconstructive surgery, and pediatric surgical training and accreditation.
East and Central African Journal of Surgery
Includes clinical research, surgical technique, surgical practice, trauma, critical care, as well as clinical reviews, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, editorials, perspectives, and letters of interest to readers in Africa and globally.
South African Journal of Surgery
A general surgical journal publishing research articles and letters, editorials, clinical practice and other surgical articles and personal opinion, South African health-related news, obituaries, general correspondence, and classified advertisements.

Additional Health Topics

African Journal of Disability
Discusses issues and experiences relating to and supporting the act of better understanding the interfaces between disability, poverty and practices of exclusion and marginalisation.
African Journal of Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation Sciences
A peer-reviewed scientific publication in the field of physiotherapy, health promotion, and rehabilitation sciences.
African Journal of Traditional, Complementary, and Alternative Medicines
A peer-reviewed open-access medical journal covering research on medicinal plants, traditional medicine, complementary alternative medicine, and food and agricultural technologies.
Caribbean Medical Journal
Reports on research in the areas of clinical medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, pharmacology and allied health specialties. Aims to showcase research within the Caribbean region publishing original articles, reviews, case reports, viewpoints, short reports and letters to the editor.
The East African Health Research Journal
Presents evidence to provide a basis for better health policy and practice in the countries of the East African Community.
South African Journal for Research in Sport, Physical Education and Recreation
Includes contributions from the fields of Sport Science, Movement Education, Recreation/Leisure Studies, Exercise Science, and Dance Studies.
South African journal of bioethics and law.
A journal dedicated issues surrounding the application of bioethics, health law, and human rights in clinical practice, health policy and regulation, and research.
South African Journal of Occupational Therapy
Publishes and disseminates research articles that contribute to the scientific knowledge of occupational therapy and its outcomes which have reference to service delivery in Africa
The South African Journal of Physiotherapy
Publishes research and scholarly work concerned with physiotherapy and its scientific basis and clinical application, education of practitioners, management of services, and policy.
South African Journal of Radiology
A general diagnostic radiological journal carrying original research and review articles, pictorial essays, case reports, letters, editorials, radiological practice and other radiological articles.
The West Indian medical journal
Focuses on clinical and epidemiological aspects of tropical and infectious diseases, new and re-emerging infections, chronic non-communicable diseases, and medical conditions prevalent in the Latin America-Caribbean region, and of significance to global health, especially in developing countries. International in scope, with author and editorial contributions from across the globe.

Research Guides

Black Health Pedagogy & Research Guide

Public Health Faculty Liaison & Instruction Librarian | Communications Librarian