Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Library Reading List

A user's guide to the Library Reading List app in Quercus.

Fall 2024 User Interface Change

Please note that the instructions below are for the "Classic" user interface of the Library Reading List, used from September 2021-August 2024. This portion of the guide will no longer be available as of September 2024. Please consult our updated pages on using the New User Interface for courses beginning in September 2024.

Reading List Information

 

Screenshot of readling list information section, with the number 1 pointing at publication status and number 2 pointing at the course code.

Details about your reading list are in the Reading List Information section, which includes:

  1. Publication status: this status indicates whether the list is available to students. When set to “Draft”, it is not visible to students. When set to “Published”, it is visible to students in your course.
  2. Course Association: this field outlines which course the reading list is associated to, including the course code, lecture session, and academic term

Click on the “More Info” link below your course title to open additional details about your reading list.

Screenshot of a reading list in the Library Reading List tool, with attention being drawn to the More info link.

The top section of Leganto features key information about the status and progress of your reading list.

Screenshot of the reading list information section in the Library Reading List tool. Items in the status bar are labeled 1 to 4 in order from left to right.

This includes:

  1. Processing status: this field indicates the processing status of the reading list. The status “ready for processing” or “being prepared” indicates that library staff are still working on gathering the readings. The status “Complete” indicates that library staff have completed processing the reading list.
  2. Last Updated: this field indates when the reading list was last updated
  3. Items and Sections: this field indicates the number of citations and sections in the list
  4. Items in process: this field provides a brief overview of the number of readings that are still being processed by library staff. Hover your mouse over this field for additional information.

Screenshot of items in process message which includes: 30 requests were sent to the library staff, no requests are being processed by the library, no requests were declined by the library, 20 requests are available.

Collaborators

Your reading list may have a few individuals collaborating to process the list. The “Collaborators” section provides a list of instructors associated with the course and library staff working on processing the reading list.

Screenshot of the Collaborators menu expanded, which includes Instructor name and Kwak, Aneta

Action Menu

Screenshot of Actions menu buttons

This menu includes tools to help you view your list. In order from left to right:

  1. Toggle Section View: this option allows you to toggle the section view between collapsed (citations are hidden) or expanded (citations are visible)
  2. Edit Multiple Items:  this option is reserved for library staff
  3. Refresh: this option will refresh your reading list to provide the most up to date information
  4. Filter: this option allows you to filter your reading list by section, tags, resource type, or subject (has a due date, marked as done, or marked as incomplete)
  5. Compact view: this option changes the size of the section boxes and text
  6. Search: this option allows you to search for items in the list

Sections

Your course readings can be grouped into sections. The sections available for courses will vary depending on the structure of individual courses. The number of citations available in each section is provided after the section title.  

Screenshot of three sections, attention being draw to the number of citations at the end of the section title.

To open a section and view the citations, click on the section name or the “Toggle Section View” arrow.

Screenshot of a section, including a section description and a citation.

Readings added to your reading list are called “citations” in the Library Reading List tool.

Each citation indicates the resource type.

Screenshot of a list of 4 citations, attention being drawn to citation types located before the title of the citation, including Book chapterm article, and book.

You can see the progress of each citation with “Citation status” below each citation. Citations set to “Complete” are available and will be visible to students if the list is published.

Screenshot of of 4 citations with attention being drawn to the citation progress status located below the citation information, including complete and being prepared.

Each citation will contain a way to access the reading, which will vary depending on the type of resources.

Screenshot of 3 citations with attention being drawn to access points, including download, available at, and view online.

  • Download: A file is available for students to view in the Library Reading List tool or download
  • Available at: provides a list of print copies available in the University of Toronto Libraries
  • View online: provides a link to the citation

For additional information about a citation, click on the citation box or title to open the detailed citation window.

Screenshot of a detailed citation view.

You can leave Public or Private notes for each citation. Public notes are visible to all students and collaborators for the reading list. Private notes are only visible to the author of the note.

Screenshot of the notes section. Public note states: Full text is available in the Hathi Trust for a 1 hour loan. Private note states Possibly change this reading because a license is not available for both chapters from this book.

You can use the “Library Discussion” feature to communicate with library staff about specific citations.

Screenshot of Library discussion feature, includes comments made my instructor and library staff reply.