Skip to main content

Film Genres

incl. Animation, B-movies & Cult Cinema, Documentary, Film Noir, Horror, Science Fiction, The Western, Comedy, The Musical.

Finding Books - B-Movies and Cult Cinema

Enter any of the following headings, exactly as they appear, in UTCat, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu:

  • Archetype (psychology) in motion pictures
  • Blaxploitation films
  • Cult films
  • Evil in motion pictures
  • Fantasy films
  • Frankenstein films
  • Masochism in motion pictures
  • Misogyny in motion pictures
  • Motion pictures and teenagers
  • Sadism in motion pictures
  • Sensationalism in motion pictures
  • Teenagers in motion pictures
  • Vampire films
  • Violence in motion pictures
  • Zombie films

The following videos may be helpful:

Finding Journal Articles - B-Movies and Cult Cinema

How To Find Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Bibliographies/Filmographies - B-Movies and Cult Cinema

Annotated bibliographies (from Oxford Bibliographies Online). Comprehensive, and current, coverage of all sections:

Other bibliographies/filmographies (UC-Berkeley Libraries)

  • Cult Films, Exploitation Films, and Other Cinematic Sleaze
  • Horror Films Extensive bibliographies of books and journal articles on: Zombie, Werewolf, and Slasher films; Hammer and British horror films; Italian horror films (incl. separate bibliographies on Dario Argento and Mario Bava); Asian horror films; directors Tod Browning, John  Carpenter, Wes Craven, David Cronenberg, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Val Lewton, and George Romero; and numerous bibliographies on individual films.
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Films

Reference - B-Movies and Cult Cinema

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (2007) Enter any of the following headings in the Search Box. Each of the sections provides an historical overview and bibliography:

  • cult films
  • b movies
  • fans and fandom
  • camp
  • horror films
  • parody
  • exploitation films
  • teen films
  • fantasy films
  • science fiction
  • martial arts films
  • genre

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (2001) Note: for films made before 2000-01. Enter title of film, or name of director, in Search Box. Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, etc.

SEE ALSO: