Skip to Main Content

Linguistics: Resources for Graduate Students

Theoretical linguistics: Series from major publishers

Theoretical linguistics: key journals

General:

Linguistic Analysis
- Print coverage from 1975+
Linguistic Review
- Online coverage from 1997+
Studia Linguistica
- Online coverage from 1947+

Phonetics:

Clinical Linguistics & Phonetics
- Online coverage from 1987+
Journal of Phonetics
- Online coverage from 1995+
Journal of the International Phonetic Association
- Online coverage from 1971+
Phonetica
- Online coverage from 1998+

Phonology:

Phonology
- Online coverage from 1988+
Phonology Yearbook
- Online coverage from 1984-1987

Morphology

Morphology
- Online coverage from 1997+

Syntax

Natural Language Semantics
- Online coverage from 1992+
Syntax
- Online coverage from 1998+

Phonetics: reference resources

Phonology: reference resources

Morphology: reference resources

Syntax: reference resources

Historical linguistics: Series from major publishers

Historical linguistics: key journals

Diachronica
- Online coverage from 1984+
Folia Linguistica Historica
- Print coverage from 1980-2008
Interaction Studies
- Online coverage from 1997+

Historical linguistics: reference resources

Language variation: Series from major publishers

Language variation: Key journals

Journal of Pidgin & Creole Languages
- Online coverage from 1986+
Language in Society
- Online coverage from 1972+
Language Variation & Change
- Online coverage from 1989+

Language variation: reference resources

Linguistic typology: Series from major publishers

Linguistic typology: Key journals

Language Dynamics & Change
- Online coverage from 2011+
Linguistic Typology
- Online coverage 1997+
Sprachtypologie und Universalienforschung
- Online coverage from 2005+
- 1993+

Linguistic typology: reference resources

Introduction to Typology by Lindsay J. Whaley
Available online
Language Typology and Language Universals/Sprachtypologie und Sprachliche Universalien/La Typologie des Langues et les Universaux Linguistiques by Martin Haspelmath (Editor); Ekkehard Koenig (Editor); Wulf Oesterreicher (Editor); Wolfgang Raible (Editor)
Language Universals and Linguistic Typology by Bernard Comrie
Typology and Universals by William Croft; S. R. Anderson (Contribution by); J. Bresnan (Contribution by); B. Comrie (Contribution by); C. J. Ewen (Contribution by); W. Dressler (Contribution by)
World Atlas of Language Structures
- Database of structural properties of languages displayed in atlas form
- Create maps by searching through 'features' & 'chapters' to select language properties to compare

Language families: Series from major publishers

Language families: Key journals

Indo-Iranian Journal
- Online coverage from 1997+
- Available in print from 1957+
Journal of African Languages and Linguistics
- Online coverage from 2009+
- Print coverage from 1979-2008
Journal of East Asian Linguistics
- Online coverage from 1992+
Journal of Germanic Linguistics
- Online coverage from 1989+
Probus: International Journal of Latin and Romance Linguistics
- Online coverage 1997+
- Print coverage 1988-2008

Language families: reference resources

Sociolinguistics: Series from major publishers

Sociolinguistics: Key journals

Journal of Sociolinguistics
- Online coverage from 1997+
Language in Society
- Online coverage from 1972+
Language Variation & Change
- Online coverage from 1989+

Sociolinguistics: reference resources