Research guides: Linguistics: Resources for Graduate Students: General Reference

Encyclopedias

The following list is only a selection of linguistic encyclopedias University of Toronto Libraries has to offer. To find more:

Start at the library homepage
Select 'By Subject A-Z' below 'Databases', followed by 'Dictionaries & Encyclopedias by title A-Z'

To search for more linguistics dictionaries, try a subject search in the library catalogue using some of the following keywords:

To search for more bibliographies in the catalogue follow these steps:

Bibliography of Linguistic Literature = Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur, BLL
- Major index for linguistics & related disciplines
- Searchable in English & German
- Note: index is not connected to U of T library catalogue
- Search individual journals found in BLL in U of T's library catalogue
- If they are unavailable, try ordering through interlibrary loan
Linguistic Bibliography for the Year
- Available in print at Robarts
Oxford Bibliographies Online, Linguistics
- Written by scholars and librarians, Oxford Bibliographies Online introduces academic topics & lists their seminal works and sources
Back to the top

World Atlas of Language Structures Online
- Database of structural properties of languages displayed in atlas form
- Create maps by searching through 'features' & 'chapters' to select language properties to compare
The atlas of languages : the origin and development of languages throughout the world
- This link opens in a new window
The atlas of North American English : phonetics, phonology, and sound change : a multimedia reference tool
UNESCO Atlas of Endangered Languages
The Language Map of the United States (MLA)
The Language Map of the United States uses data from the US Census 2000 to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States. Provided by MLA (Modern Language Association), it is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States.