Research Guides: Linguistics: Resources for Graduate Students: Linguistic data

Text collections

African Language Materials Archive
- Includes digitized versions of African language materials & literature
Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America, University of Texas
- Includes audio visual material as well as grammars, dictionaries, ethnographies & field notes
- Requires registration & acceptance of terms & conditions
Endangered Languages Archive, ELAR
- Digital repository for endangered language texts & language materials
Speech & Language Data Repository
- Open access repository for linguistics data
- Includes primary sources such as sound clips, video footage, & text corpora
The Rosetta Project
- Digital archive of material from 7000 known human languages
World Loanword Database
- Search loanwords across languages

Corpora starting point

Corpora & Coprus Linguistics, Athelstan
- Links to many language corpora & corpus linguistics resources

Select corpora

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
- Contains over 200 million words from French texts from the 12th through 20th centuries

Banca Dati dell'Italiano Parlato, BADIP
- Online corpus of spoken Italian
British National Corpus
- 100 million word collection of samples of written & spoken English designed to represent a wide cross section of modern British English
- Some entries include sound samples
Child Language Data Exchange System
- Repository for first language acquisition data
Corpora & Coprus Linguistics
- Links to many language corpora & corpus linguistics resources
Corpus del Español
- 100 million words from the 1200s-1900s
Corpus of Contemporary American English, Brigham Young University
- Entries for over 450 words published between 1990-2012
Corpus of Historical American English
- Contains over 400 million words from 1810-2009
Czech National Corpus, Charles University Prague
- Searchable in English & Czech
GerManC, University of Oxford Text Archive
- German corpus of 800000 words spanning hundreds of years
Goteburg Language Bank of Swedish
International Corpus of English
- Collection of samples from English speakers worldwide
- Includes collection of Canadian English
Leiden Weibo Corpus
- 100 million indexed samples of Mandarin & Cantonese from Chinese social media
Russian National Corpus
- Contains over 300 million words
- Searchable in English & Russian
- Features a Cyrillic pop out keyboard
Scottish Corpus of Text & Speech
- Corpus of Scots & Scottish English
Univeristy of Oxford Text Archive
- Includes literary material as well as selected corpora for English, French, German, Italian, Mandarin, Polish, Scots & Welsh
Wenzhou Spoken Corpus, University of Alberta
- Searchable corpus of conversational Wenzhou dialect collected in China from 2004-present

Audio resources

World Oral Literature Project, Cambridge University
- Collections of digital audio oral literature from around the world
Speech & Language Data Repository
- Open access repository for linguistics data
- Includes primary sources such as sound clips, video footage, & text corpora

Research Guides

Linguistics: Resources for Graduate Students

Text collections

Corpora starting point

Select corpora

Audio resources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us