Skip to main content

Public policy: Key government resources

Provinces and Ontario: General

GALLOP (APLIC)

  • full text and/or citations to electronic legislative and government publications held in libraries of the Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada.

Canadian Public Policy Collection (Scholars Portal Ebrary) 

  • select "Canadian Public Policy Collection" from the "Select Collection" drop down menu
  • enter the search terms in the search box and search
  • google the title, in quotes, for full text if it is available
Google Canadian Government Documents 
  • searches over 775 core domains at the Federal, Provincial and Municipal levels of government
Canadian Research Index (CRI), 1982+
  • indexes Canadian government publications, federal, provincial and selected municipal. Searches on abstracts as well as author, title, subject, etc.
  • Tip: search government bodies under the Company/org heading.
  • useful as a starting point or when other searches (library catalogue, web) produce disappointing results. 
  • titles found here must then be manually searched in the library catalogue and/or web in order to locate them. Items not found there can be located using the Microlog number (eg. 99-1234) in the Microlog (CRI) fiche set, held in the Government Publications Collection, 5th floor, Robarts Library. Please ask staff for assistance.
Google Advanced Search 
  • Search within a site or domain
Provinces and Territories (Parliament of Canada)
  • Provides links to legislatures, cabinets, elections, governments and vital statistics of provinces and territories of Canada.

Provinces and Territories (Government of Canada)

Provides links to the official web pages of the provinces and territories

Parliamentary

Current Canadian Legislation & Parliamentary Material (Law Library)  

  • current debates, bills, statutes, regulations, Gazette and Journal for federal and provincial governments

Provincial Parliamentary Publications

  • print and electronic access of the provincial parliamentary material including debates, bills, journals, statutes, regulations, Gazette and etc.

CanLII (The Canadian Legal Information Institute)

Courts and Court Decisions

Throne Speeches

Canadian Provinces Throne Speeches: contains the Throne Speeches of the Canadian provinces since 1960.

Auditor Generals Reports - Provinces

News Releases and Speeches

Ontario

  • provides holdings for printed parliamentary publication
  • contains links to online parliamentary materials

Legislative Assembly of Ontaio

  • Bills (Sept. 26, 1995+): full text of the bill (current and previous version), status of the bill, links to debates and background information.
  • Debates
  • Committee materials
e-Laws and Regulations (Ontario)
  • includes legislative history and period-in-time Law

Reports (Office of the Auditor General of Ontario)

  • 1997+

Green / White Papers ( Ontario Legislative Library)

    • Enter green paper or white paper in the "search for"" box
    • Select notes under the "search in" box and hit search
    • Click to the entry and click to the url if full text is available

Ontario Gazette  

Ontario Gov. Docs Portal (OurDigitalWorld) 

  • Access over 24,000 government documents from the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library, with new documents being added quarterly.

Government Finance 

Royal Commissions of Ontario (Internet Archives)

Annual Reports  

  • current only
  • Arranged by ministry of the Ontario Government
  • Check under "publications" on individual ministry website or the Gallop Portal for previous annual reports
News Releases (Office of the Premier)

Other relevant guides