Research guides: Public policy: key government resources: IGOs, NGOs & International Resources

Most popular resources

OECDiLibrary (UofT access)
Columbia International Affairs online
- Includes working papers, policy brief, and analysis and commentary, scholarly articles and books on international politics and related fields
Policy Commons
- An online discovery service for documents from world’s leading think tanks, policy experts, NGOs and more
Parliamentary research service publications (Information@Work)
- Includes the main parliamentary research services of the European Union, the United States of America, United Kingdom, Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Ghana
- Click to "Topical search engines" to search sources in English or German
Inter-Government Organizations (WorldLII)
Yearbook of International Organizations (UofT access)
- Reference encyclopedia containing international non-governmental (NGOs) and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) except for-profit enterprises.
- Contains civil society organizations in 300 countries and territories.
- Browse Organization, geography, subject, statistics, or personal name.
- Links to websites of many organizations.
Global Financial Database (UofT access)
- A collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format.
- Long-term historical indices covering over 200 countries
- Includes: total return data on stocks, bonds, and bills: interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bone indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices; gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indeices; treasury bill yields; wholesale price indices; and unemployment rates
- New member will need to create a free account, make sure to select Academic under New Member Accounts
Government Finance Statistics Yearbook
- online: 1990 +
- UN9..MF......G52
- 1977+
- includes data on transactions in revenue, expense, net acquisition of assets and liabilities, other economic flows and blances of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors

United Nations

United Nations Homepage
Global issues
Digital Library
- UN's new digital repository for documents, speeches, resolutions and voting records.
UNiLibrary
- Provides access to UN publications
- Full text of the publications can be read online but download is limited to subscription only.
UNdata
- UN statistical database
- developed by the Statistics Division of DESA
World Investment Report
- 1991 +
- Current
- Search the UNiLibrary for 1991+, read only
- "Focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels"
- Each issue contains:
  - "Analysis of the trends in FDI during the previous year
  - Ranking of the largest transnational corporations in the world
  - In-depth analysis of a selected topic related to FDI
  - Policy analysis and recommendations
  - Statistical annex with data on FDI flows and stocks for 196 economies"
UN Document Centre
UN Treaty Collection
- Certified True Copies (CTCs) of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General by topic
Resolutions
- General Assembly
- Security Council
Index to Proceedings (1945+)
The Yearbook of the United Nations (1946/47+)
UN System Directory
UN and Civil Society
United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
Official Document system of the United Nations (ODS)
- Advanced search interface
- full-text access to most UN parliamentary documents
- coverage from 1993 on with selected older documents added daily
- full-text of resolutions from 1946 on and selected General Assembly and Security Council documents 1985 on
- does not include UN sales publications, UN Treaty Series, press releases and documents not publicly released
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
- Foreign Direct Investment database
  - FDI flows and stocks, 1970+
  - Mergers and Acquisitions, 1987+
- UNCTAD handbook of statistics, 2000+
  - Online version
Commission on Sustainable Development (CSD)
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
- Publications and Fast Facts
- Human Development Report, 1990+: search report by keyword, country, theme and more
United Nations: Development Policy and Analysis Division
WorldLII Databases
- United Nations General Assembly Resolutions, 1946+
- United Nations Security Council Resolutions, 1946+
United Nations Archives

European Union

Europa
- The official website of the European Union
European Parliament
- Legislative Observatory
- Think Tank: the documents that help shape new EU legislation
- European Parliamentary Research Service
  - Policy briefs & research papers
EUR-Lex: Access to European law
- Includes legislation in force, treaties, international agreements, preparatory acts, parliamentary questions and case-laws
- Official Journal (OJ), 1998+
- EU treaties
- Regulations, Directives and other acts
- Find legislation
- Find case-law
Statistics
- Eurostat
- Browse statistics by theme
Documents and publications
- Official documents
- Publications Office of the European Union
Public opinion
- Eurobarometer
- European Social Survey
Policy areas
- includes overview, legislation, institutions responsible, statistics and press releases on the topic
- Factsheets on EU policies
- Enlargement Policy
European Commission
- EU's executive body
- Green Papers, 1993+
- White Papers, 1993+
- CORDIS: Research & Innovation, EU-funded projects
- Register of Documents
- European commission Archives
European Sources Online (Cardiff EDC)
- Advanced search: filter results by content types, countries/regions, subjects or international organizations
Open Grey (System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe)
Arquivo.pt
- preserved websites about Research & Development projects funded by the EU
- search by term and address (URL)
Historical Archives of the European Union

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

OECD Home Page
- Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA)
OECDiLibrary
- OECD Economic Outlook: Statistics and Projections
- OECD Economic Surveys: provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, along with individual chapters covering key economic challenges being faced and recommendations for dealing with the challenges.
- Urban, Rural and Regional Development
- Podcasts

FAO

FAO
- State of Food and Agriculture
- Governing and Statutory Bodies

Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

PARLINE database on national parliaments
- contains information on the structure and working methods of 266 parliamentary chambers in 190 countries.
Election results
- contains a complete record including a summary and statistics is available for all parliamentary elections around the world
- some countries have data back from 1940s+
Women in Politics (bibliographic database)
Monthly ranking of women in national parliaments
- Statistical archive (1997+)

International Labour Organization

Compendium of Labour Market Policies
NATLEX: Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation
Labordoc: ILO Digital Repository
- Another interface for Labordoc: LabourDiscovery
ILO Meetings and Documents
ILOSTAT

International Atomic Energy Agency

International Monetary Fund

International Monetary Fund Homepage
International Financial Statistics (IFS)
- annual, quarterly and monthly data from 1940+
Balance of Payments and Internatinal Investment Position Statistics (BOP/IIP)
- annual, quarterly and monthly data from 1940+
IMF eLibrary
- archive to 1946
- Macroprudential policy survey

WHO

WHO
- Documentation of WHO for Executive Board sessions and Health Assemblies

World Bank

World Bank Homepage
World Data Bank
- Data Catalog
- World Development Indicators (WDI)
- covers over 200 countries, 1157 series and from 1960 to latest
- Quarterly External Debt Statistics/SDDS
World development report
- HC59.7 .W645
- provides a wide international readership with an extraordinary window on development economics
- focuses on a specific aspect of development each year
- Online version, 1978+
International Debt Statistics
- formerly World Debt Table, Global development finance
- combines a diagnosis of recent trends and prospects for capital flows to developing countries with an analysis of important policy issues
- published in the spring of each year

WTO & Trade

World Trade Organization
GATT Digital Library: 1947 - 1994 (Stanford University Libraries)

UNICEF

UNICEF
- The State of the World's Children

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

UNCTAD
- World Investment Report

UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR)

UNHCR
- Global Report

Council of Europe

Council of Europe

G7 & G20

G7 Information Centre
- Forum for governments of seven of the world's largest national economies
- Focus on major economic & political issues
- This site provided by G7 Research Group at Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto
G20 Information Centre
- Group of nineteen countries and the EU, with representation from the International Monetary Fund and World Bank
- Established in response to global financial crisis of 1997-99
- This site provided by G20 Research Group at Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto
- Official G20 website

Nordic Council

Norden website
- Nordic co-operation involves Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Aland

NATO

NGOs

Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) have become increasing influentials in global issues such as environmental protection, human rights, women's rights, health care and many other topics.

Others international sources

Google Custom Search (IGOs)
- Search for government information from Intergovernmental Organizations.
- Searches sites including: *.uncitral.org, *.unicef.org, *.uncdf.org, *.oceansatlas.org, *.uniraq.org
Google Custom search (NGOs)
International Organizations (Europa World Plus)
- International Organizations listed by topic
List of IGOs (Northwestern University Library)
Civil Society Database (UN)
Political Database of the Americas
Union of International Associations (UIA)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
- Working papers, journals, books, policy briefs, case studies, videos and more.
Foreign Affairs Online
International Relations (Oxford Bibliographies)
- University of Toronto only

Climate change & Environment

Education

UNESCO
- UNESDOC Digital Library
- World Inequality Database on Education

Freedom of information

freedominfo.org

Health policy

Human rights

General

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
- includes country reports, links to other UN bodies involved in human rights, Human rights law
UN Human Rights Documentation
Amnesty International
- Annual reports
- Library
- Human Rights Database: contains information on the human rights situation in more than 150 countries and on Amnesty International’s other key areas of work.
Human rights watch
- World Report
Country reports on human rights practices (U.S. Dept. of State)
Human Rights (WorldLII)
Fundamental Rights Agency (European Union)
- Case Law Database
The Council of Europe
NATLEX (International Labour Organization)
- Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation
- International labour migration
Refworld country reports (UNHCR, UN High Commissioner for Refugees)
National Documentation Packages (Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada)
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
Minority Rights Group International
- World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples
Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research (Columbia University Libraries)
Human Rights Library (University of Minnesota)

Forced labour, modern slavery & human trafficking

Ethnic, Racial, Linguistic, and Religious Minorities

War Crimes & Mass Violence

Terrorism

UN Office of Counter-Terrorism
Terrorism Prevention Branch (UN Office on Drugs and Crime)
- Databases
Terrorism: commentary on security documents
Cyber terrorism and information warfare
Global Terrorism Database
- Includes information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 to 2020, with annual updates planned for the future
Terrorist Organization Profiles (TOPs)
- 1960s - 2008

Transportation

TRID
- 1960 - present
- Covers all modes of transportation
- Combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database

Related guides

UN & Intergovernmental organizations (IGOs)
by Nicholas Worby Last Updated Mar 18, 2024 328 views this year
International Relations
by Heather Buchansky Last Updated Jan 9, 2024 160 views this year
League of Nations Documents & Publications
by John Bolan Last Updated Nov 9, 2023 29 views this year
International Human Rights
by John Bolan Last Updated Oct 2, 2023 977 views this year
Public International Law
by John Bolan Last Updated Nov 8, 2023 791 views this year

Research Guides

Public policy: key government resources