Skip to main content

Public policy: Key government resources

United States - General

FDsys: Federal Digital System  

  • 1994+. Some older documents
  • US Government Printing Office's official website for online government information
  • Congress (bills, hearings, laws, etc.).
  • Presidential documents
  • Federal Register
  • GAO reports
  • Supreme Court decisions
  • Education Reports from ERIC (1995-2004)
USA.gov 
  • first stop to find any government information on the Internet
  • portal for the U.S. federal government
  • Indexes individual reports and bills

Metalib

  • "Simultaneously searches more than 50 federal government publication catalogs, federal library catalogs, and specialized indexes."
  • "Pulls in non-government publications, such as the medical literature indexed in the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed and the millions of items described in the Library of Congress Catalog."

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (GPO)  

  • covers from July 1976
  • primary index to both electronic and print government publications
  • links to full text if available
  • Search for government information from the United States of America
  • searches sites including: *.gov, *.mil

LexisNexis Academic

  • U.S. and World news
  • U.S. federal and state cases
  • World company information

Congress

Congress.gov

  • replacement of THOMAS (retired on July 5, 2016)
  • official website for U.S. federal legislative information
    • Legislation (Bills and Resolutions)
    • Congressional Record
    • Committees (Hearings and Reports)
    • Congressional Members
    • Treaty Documents

ProQuest Congressional

  • U.S Serial Set Digital Collection (1789-2014)
  • Congressional Hearings Parts A-G (1821-2014)
  • Congressional Research Service Reports and Prints Parts A-F (1830-2014)
  •  Congressional Record Parts A-C (1789-2005)

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 -1994  

  • contains the congressional reports and documents.
  • see 1995+

Congressional Research Service Reports website

  • public policy research section of the United States congress
  • also called "the nation's think tank"
  • produces hundreds of in-depth reports for congress

Budget

Budget of the United States Government  

  • annual documents that describes of the president's budget plans for the coming fiscal year

Budget and Economic Outlook 

Economic Report of the President  

Assessment

GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions  

  • 1991 - 2008
  • current
  • is frequently referred to as a "watchdog" or auditing agency for the entire federal government
  • contains reports ("blue books") on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of Federal programs conducted by the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
  • includes all published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications
  • restricted or classified products are not included

Cost Estimates (Congressional Budget Office)

  • are required for proposed new law, so that the Congress will know the economic consequences of the proposed law
  • considered as "a standard for nonpartisan assessments"

President

  • from Turuman to current
  • some Review Directives included

Policy

Public Policy: (Congress Collection: CQ Press)

Public Affairs Collection (CQ Press)

Policy Issues (US. Department of State)  

Statements of Administration Policy  

PolicyFile  

  • U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature

American Policy Directory (University of Oregon)

Foreign Relations

Foreign Relations: Declassified documents, Department of State documents and more

Public Opinion

iPOLL Databank (Roper Center): question-level database of US public opinion. (Restricted to UT IP addresses, individual user registration required)

Grey Literature

Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest online)

  • 1878 - current

Related research guides