Research Guides: Public policy: key government resources: International statistics

World

There are very few national statistics publications available to the public, some countries do not have the manpower or expertise to collect certain data. International organizations fill this gap and provide statistics which are harmonized, thus making them easier to compare with the other countries.

UNdata
Single entry point to the statistical resources of the entire UN system
UNSD Statistical Databases
OECD iLibrary
Global Financial Database -UofT access
- A collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format.
- Long-term historical indices covering over 200 countries
- Includes: total return data on stocks, bonds, and bills: interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bone indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices; gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indeices; treasury bill yields; wholesale price indices; and unemployment rates
- New member will need to create a free account, make sure to select Academic under New Member Accounts
IMF Data
Provides access to a range of economic time series that relates to financial stability, productivity, exchange rates, etc. Note the International Financial Statistics for individual countries are included in a separate product licensed by the library.

The interactive Data Mapper tool allows users to select data or indicators for regions and/or countries and map or graph them. All data is available for download.
World Development Indicators
- HC59.15 .W656
- Online : 1960 + (Annual data, click to DATABANK to build your own tables)
- Provides access to more than 800 development indicators, with time series for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 onwards, where data are available
- Gini Coefficient (Table 2.7)
Eurostat
- Economic, environmental & social data from the Statistical Office of the European Union
AMECO database
- Contains data for EU-28, the euro area, EU Member States and candidate countries
- Covers OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand)
Data.gov
- public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the executive branch of the federal government
Statista
- Covers 170 industries and 50 countries
- Contains market reports, trade publications, scientific journals and government databases
Google Public Data
- Includes selected sources from UN, World Bank, IMF, OECD, EU and etc.
Statistical Yearbook
- print: 1948 - 2017
- online: 1948+
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations)
- UN2..S...30..M51....EXF
- 1947+
  Online: current
- selected previous issue: 1947+
- Covers over 200 countries and territories
- Annual figures for most table cover seven or eight years and monthly figures refer to the most recent eighteen-month period
- Includes population, industrial production, price indices, manufacturing, food, external trade, transport, finance and in later years also employment and earnings / unemployment, energy commodities, production and fuel imports, iron ore production, and construction
World Statistics in Brief
- UN2..S...22....-W57
- 1976-1992 World Statistics in Brief
- 1995+ World Statistics Pocketbook
Little Data Book
- UN9..MG........-L32
- 2000+
- Pocket edition of World Development Indicators
- Includes regional and country tables
- Provide quick data on people, environment, economy, trade, debts, communication and etc.
- 2011+ available online
Compendium of Social Statistics
- UN2..S...11..C57....ENG
- 1963, 1967, 1977, 1988
ICPSR: Find & Analyze Data
Country Rankings research guide

Africa & other developing countries

African Development Bank
Statistical Yearbook - Economic Commission for Africa
- UN5..EA......S79....EXF
- 1970 - 1993 (holding incomplete)
- Covers all 53 member countries of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
- Country names are arranged alphabetically within each region
- Includes population, national accounts, agriculture, forestry, fishing, industry, transport, communications, international tourism, foreign trade, price, finance and social statistics
- 2006+ Online
The Least Developed Countries ... report
- UN8..TR..40....-L22
- 1984 +
- Combined with Basic Data on the Least Developed Countries
- 2006+ Online

Asia-Pacific

Statistical Yearbook for Asia & the Pacific
- UN5..EB...5..S79....EXF
- 1968 - 2008 (holding incomplete)
- Originally named Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Far East
- Includes population, manpower, national accounts, agriculture, forestry, fishing, industry, energy, transport, communication, external trade, wages, price, consumption, finance and social statistics
- More recent issues available through UN ESCAP Publications page
Compendium of social statistics and indicators
- UN5..EWA.......-C58
- 4th (1977) - 7th (2005)
Asia-Pacific in figures
- UN5..EB........-A77
- 1987 - 2006
Statistical abstract of the region of the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
- UN5..EWA.......-S71
- 1977 - 1986, 1996 - 2005 (holding incomplete)
Asian Development Bank

Europe

eurostat yearbook
- ZZ...EM..10....-E79
- 1995+
- Online edition
- Covers 10 years of data
- Population, land, environment, national income, expenditure, enterprises and activities
Regions statistical yearbook (Eurostat)
- ZZ...EM..10....-R282
- 2001+
- Based on the statistics in Nomenclature of Territorial Units (NUTS) classification
- Demography, population activity and unemployment, economic aggregates, agriculture, industry, transport and living standards
Basic Statistics of the European Union
- ZZ...EM..10..B17....ENG
- Originally entitled Basic Statistics of the Community
- 1958 - 1996 (incomplete)
- Included population and social condition, economy and finance, energy and industry, agriculture/forestry/fisheries
- Statistics on population and social conditions are on regional level
- Comparison data are available for Canada, United States, Japan, and USSR
European Central Bank
The Europa world year book
- JN1 .E852
- 1989 +
Trends in Europe and North America: the statistical yearbook of the Economic Commission for Europe
- UN5..EE........-T62
- 1995 - 2005
50 years of figures on Europe: data 1952-2001
- HA37 .E93 F55 2003
International comparison of gross domestic product in europe
- UN8..ES...1....-I51

Latin America

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America & the Caribbean
- UN5..EL......S79
- 1975 - 2003 (incomplete)
- 1964 - 1972, Statistical Bulletin for Latin America
- Caribbean was added in 1985
- Part 1: Indicators of Economic and Social Development, social development, welfare, economic growth, domestic prices, capital formation and financing and external trade
- Part 2: Statistical Series includes population, national accounts, domestic prices, balance of payments, external financing, external indebtedness, external trade, natural resources, production of goods, infrastructure services, employment and social conditions
- 2002 CD-ROM
- 2003 CD-ROM
- 1997+ Online
Statistical Summary of Latin America, 1960-1980
- UN5..EL....80S77....ENG

Caribbean

Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

Inter American

Inter American Statistical Institute

OECD

OECD iLibrary
OECD in figures
- 1988+

Regions and Cities

OECD.Stat (OECDiLibrary)

Cities

World Council on City Data

Other sources

Indexes

Instat: international statistics sources: subject guide to sources of international comparative statistics
- Z7551 .I42 1995X 1-2
Index to international statistics: IIS
- HA154 .I64

Research Guides

Public policy: key government resources