Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

KPE162: Personal Health

This guide is intended primarily for undergraduate students in the Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education

Reference Resources

‘ ’

Eleaf / Flickr.com

Use these resources to get an overview or background information in your area of study. They are also useful for gathering preliminary information on your topic. Many of the encyclopedias provide suggestions for further reading. The online resources can be accessed directly by clicking on the link. Print resources are held in the reference section of the library.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Psychology 

  • With over 11,000 entries, this guide provides definitions of key terms and concepts in psychology, psychiatry, and psychoanalysis.

SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioural Sciences 

  • Designed for college and university students, the SAGE Glossary's interdisciplinary scope covers such varied fields as: anthropology, communication and media studies, criminal justice, economics, education, geography, human services, management, political science, psychology, and sociology.

Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise 

  • This dictionary covers all matters relating to diet and exercise to enable users to evaluate claims about different diets and types of exercises. Topics include: food supplements, sports injuries, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, and more.
  • Gerstein at RA784 .K397 1997X.

Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine 

  • Covering 8,000 terms, this dictionary includes major areas of sports science and medicine such as anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports injuries, and training principles.

Encyclopedias

  • Concise summaries of concepts and interrelationships between nutrient needs, dietary intake and health outcomes.
  • Provides comprehensive and accessible research and evidence-based applications in sports medicine.
  • Overview of the state of sports management and marketing.
  • Cross-referenced entries on the theory, research, and application of psychology in sports and fitness.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioural Sciences 

Handbooks

The Muscle Test Handbook 

  • This handbook describes the different types of muscles and its testing procedures.

Sport and Physical Education: The Key Concepts

  • With a fully cross-referenced A-Z guide, this title provides a reference guide on the current topics in contemporary sport for students in Sports Science and Physical Education.

Sport Psychology: A Student's Handbook 

  • With emphasis on developing critical and creative thinking, this title explores key issues, major theory, and research in the discipline of sport psychology.