Skip to main content

Public International Law

A guide to resources for public international law research, created by John Bolan, Bora Laskin Law Library

Remember

International court cases do not make law but rather are, like ‘scholarly teachings’, considered as evidence and clarification of international law.

Introduction - Judicial Decisions and Scholarly Teachings - Article 38(1)(d)

The Permanent Court of International Justice was established as an organ of the League of Nations in 1919, and was replaced by the International Court of Justice after World War II.  International court systems have proliferated since that time in the form of both subject specific bodies and regional institutions.  Often the rulings of such bodies are available on their official website. However, the authority of the opinions and decisions issued by such bodies varies, so it is important to have an understanding of a given body’s structure and procedure. For a text on this topic see Manual on international courts and tribunals.

Court websites

Often the official websites of courts/tribunals will provide full-text of judgements they have rendered. However, the authority of the opinions and decisions issued by such bodies varies, so it is important to have an understanding of a given body’s structure and procedure. For a text on this topic see Manual on international courts and tribunals.

Below are some prominent international bodies:

 

Reporters and Journals

Reporters and Journals
                   Title
                Description
Print/Online Sources
   Call Number
Available Online

 

American Journal of International Law

 

 

Contains summaries of significant official decisions

K1 .M484

 

Hein

Quicklaw

Westlaw Canada

 

International Law Reports

International decisions as well as national court rulings that deal with international law

 
International Legal Materials Contains significan international decisions and national decisions touching on international law

 

K9 .N7448 (Bora Laskin)

JX68 .I52(Robarts)

 ILM Online resources

Quicklaw  (subscription required)

Westlaw Canada  (subscription required)

JustCite

A legal search engine and citator that cross-references case law, legislation and journal articles from UK, Irish, EU and international sources. Access via computers at the Bora Laskin library.

 

Access resource via 'Electornic Library' at Bora Laskin library home page, from a comuter in the law library.

Oxford Reports on International Law

 

 

Includes modules for the Oxford Reports on international criminal law, international courts of general jurisdiction, international human rights law, and international law in domestic courts. Access via UofT electronic resources.

 

 

Oxford Reports on International Law

International Court of Justice (World Court)

Introductory Works on the ICJ
                   Title
                Description
Print/Online Sources
   Call Number
Available Online

 

The advisory function of the International Court of Justice 1946-2005 / Mahasen M. Aljaghoub

 


KZ6275 .A45 2006 Stacks

ebrary

Scholars Portal

The law and practice of the International Court, 1920-2005 / Shabtai Rosenne & Yael Ronen


 
Decisions, advisory opinions & orders of the ICJ
                   Title
                Description
Print/Online Sources
   Call Number
Available Online

International Court of Justice Website

 Presents cases in reverse chronological order and also in alphabetical order by country.  However, the site does not offer an index for cases by subject. Also contains I.C.J. advisory opinions.



ICJ website

Westlaw Canada's INT-ICJ database

Includes the full text of documents from the International Court of Justice since 1947.

  

 INT-ICJ

(subscription required)

The World Court reference guide : judgements, advisory opinions and orders of the Permanent Court of International Justice and the International Court of Justice (1922-2000)

KZ200.5 .W67 Stacks 

Quicklaw & Westlaw

Lexis Nexis Quicklaw and Westlaw both contain international case law, however neither source is comprehensive. Use the tribunal or court name to search.